We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caring staff and fantastic food”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

An unexpected one night stay turned into a delight; lovely staff, wonderful food, and stunning views, combined with a private car park and a two miute walk into town made this hotel a gem. A return visit is already planned!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hotelraterScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2012

Thanks to a wonderful present from the Grandparents my Wife and I spent a few fantastic days in the Lakes with a couple of lovely walks up Walla Crag and Latrigg. The Highfield Hotel is really well placed within easy reach of the centre of Keswick and with ample off-road parking to the rear of the Hotel.
My wife is Coeliac and they catered for her brilliantly. They prepared gluten-free hors d'oeuvres and provided detailed guidance on what was OK to eat.
The 4-course evening meals were of high quality and certainly didn't help with the summer diet.
We're now working on the grandparents to arrange our next stay.

Room Tip: Room 2 has a lovely bay window with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

This was our third visit in recent years and the Highfield is a very pleasant place to stay. As before, the location and the views are great, with the bonus of a good-sized car park.

Dinners are always an event with very, very good dishes served by attentive staff. Good wines by the glass. Breakfast equally good.

Reasonable prices on their Spring special offer.

Can't really fault it as we keep going back. I'm just amazed it is so far down the ratings. This must be in the top 10 hotels in Keswick, but I suppose the vagiaries of Trip Advisor scoring come in to play. If you read the 2 terrible reviews, one of them doesn't even make sense - and it's from 5 years ago!

Room Tip: Pick your room off the website. All the rooms at the front have great views over the park to Derwent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JT53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Last weekend was our third stay at Highfield, it is a top end Lake District hotel with a consistently high standard of accommodation and food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

we stayed at this lovely hotel staff were so helpful and nice the food is out of this world,we have eaten at some of the best places in the uk this is very much on par with them.the hotel is great friendly and will be coming back soon.we had the weekend here in november 2011.

Room Tip: the chapel room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colinandbernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

First impressions of the Highfield are superb, with uninterupted views of Derwent Water. We received a warm and friendly welcome from the hotel staff who were very proficient and most helpfull throughout our weekend stay. The hotel is very clean and comfortable with a warm and friendly country house feel. The dining room is well laid out with superb views of the lake and the food is excellent, as is the service. Dinner at the Highfield is not to be missed with a mouthwatering selection to choose from. Likewise the breakfast is one of the best we have enjoyed with a menu to match. To summarise, a great location, excellent food and service in a very comfortable and relaxing hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessandme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

...and by pure chance found this superb hotel.
First impressions were of a spotlessly clean, cared for property, nicely decorated, fresh, warm and welcoming.
We stayed in the East Turret which was compact and cosy but enhanced by access to a window seat in the turret which offered glorious views down Derwentwater.
We thoroughly enjoyed every meal - served on stinging hot plates. A good appetite is required but none of it was too rich and use of sauces/dressings was subtle not overpowering. Canapes and a variety of different flavoured breads, together with the sorbets (although sometimes a bit ice-creamy) added a nice touch. Meat/fish was all cooked to perfection and attractively served. The vegetables were also perfectly cooked but a little predictable by the end of the week.
Breakfast had a great choice - both hot and buffet - and the freshly cooked pastries were delicious.
Staff were extremely well trained and friendly.
The setting is perfect - away from the bustle of the town but easy walking distance.
Off now to book again for next year!

Room Tip: East Turrett was very quirky but next time I would choose a larger room on the first floor at the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £104 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing