We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, welcoming & great location”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed in the West Turret room on the 2nd floor, which gave us lovely views and a peaceful place to relax & read. Our 2 night stay was to celebrate a birthday, so we opted to have dinner at the hotel on the first night, which was excellent. Beautiful food, well presented, with attentive service. A lovely surprise touch was the 'Happy Birthday' message written in chocolate on the dessert plate. The hotel is very well located close to the lake, boat trips, lovely walks and the fantastic theatre. (approx 5 mins walk). Also handy that there is a good-sized car park at the back of the hotel. Free wifi was a bonus - remember to ask for the access code when you check in. The only thing I could suggest as an improvement (and it's a minor point) would be to extend the breakfast service time, which is currently 8.30am - 9.30am, including Sundays. Our personal preference would be to have a later option at the weekend. Overall, a lovely hotel, nicely appointed with helpful, friendly staff.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sunset20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (398)
There are newer reviews for Highfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

298 - 304 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our 10 month old baby and had dinner in the hotel twice. Having struggled to find hotels that were baby-friendly we were very relieved to find one that welcomed us so warmly. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - warming baby food, providing baby listening services and giving helpful advice when it came to which room would suit us best. The room was beautiful and clean and the views sublime, also plenty of room for a cot (Room 2). Dinner was fantastic and, as any new parent knows, a real treat to be able to have a meal while knowing a baby is safe upstairs! Thank you to all that made our stay truly memorable at the Highfield, I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Antonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I had a one night stay in the hotel and had dinner. The food was superb, I couldn't fault anything. Staff were friendly and attentive and the room was spotlessly clean. I had a turret room and the view from the little seating area was fantastic. My only issue was that I had to leave early before any breakfast was available, but I think I may have faced the same problem with any hotel in the area. I look forward to coming back again when I don't have a meeting to rush to!

Room Tip: The turret rooms are quirky and have great views.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank truffraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2012

This is the second time we have stayed here. Its a good hotel, conveniently located within 5 mins of Keswick centre. The staff are friendly, efficient and the service is excellent.

The food in the restaurant is first class, however, we ate there two consecutive nights and there was only one vegetarian option on the main course, which was the same both nights... Fortunately it was excellent!

The only downside to our stay was the room... (Room18) which was not the best, and certainly not the standard of the room we had last time! It was long and thin, the bathroom was very small, and the view over the lake interrupted as the window is set back from the main building. The plumbing in the above/adjacent room is also noisy!

Room Tip: Room 18 is not a good room!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buzzer1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stayed at the Highfield Hotel in Keswick for a long weekend at the end of May. It was excellent!!! The staff were friendly and very attentive to our every need. We stayed in one of the Turret rooms which had a quirky seating area in the tower, very special with amazing views.
The food was superb - we ate in the hotel restaurant both nights and also for breakfast and could not fault anything.
Would return to this hotel again and recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: East Turret - Views from West Turret slightly impeded by a monkey puzzle tree.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Just returned from 2nd visit to Highfield Hotel in Keswick. So often, return visit fails to live up to first stay - am very happy to report standards still top notch. We stayed in Woodford Room, absolutely lovely. Food and service still same high standard - did not enter our heads to eat anywhere else during our 4 night stay. One thing I noticed - in an industry notorious for high levels of staff turnover - all of the faces from previous years visit were still there (and still very focused on giving the guests a good experience). Will keep coming back.

If I could add one thing that would improve the facilities - Keswick is always going to attract walkers, and being the lakes - rain is not unusual - if the hotel could provide a drying room for kit - feel sure it would be used. Would also stop this guest worrying about making a mess of his immaculate room!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RovingPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

We went for a second stay at the highfield towards the end of April. Previously we had been before for New Year which was fabulous. We weren't disappointed on our second trip. We love it, it is just like going back 20 years in that the staff are so attentive, polite and professional, it's so nice to go somewhere where people have manners. Dinner is a treat, having time to select your food while enjoying a drink in the lounge with canapes and then you are shown to your table it all makes every stay so special. The views are amazing, both visits we have looked out at the lake and the surrounds and been speechless. Everywhere in the Highfield is spotless and the bedrooms we have stayed in spacious and inviting. Keswick is a great place to base yourself with good pubs and a range of shops but not too big a town. We always recommend the Highfield and look forward to returning again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank msT18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#13 of 17 in Keswick
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £104 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing