We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great find, Try It.”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham Harbour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Great find, Try It.”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

My wife and I booked for one night on wim to see a fire work display on the nearby Lake.
The hotel manager took us to seee two rooms; one in which we stayed was the west turret, with a large clean ben and small bathroom, shower no bath, but a door in the corner of the room, with a small staircase leading to a small room with large windows giving breath-taking views of the local hills and Lake. It seemed unfare to leave this wonderful space. We did not have a main meal in the hotel, but walked the 10 minutes into the town centre.
Breakfast had a large list to choose from, the staff where very helpful and made sure everyone's coffee and tea was topped up.
I would, and will, return for a longer stay in future.If £50 per head, is to much of a price for you, then "you have missed out on the pure pleasure", of staying in a "room with a view" with staff who all seem to care, that your stay is warm welcome and enjoyable. I look forward to my next visit.

Room Tip: Try one of the turret rooms, fantistic views of the fells and lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    87
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
257
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Have just returned from our second visit and are delighted to report that our stay was every bit as memorable as the last, if not even better! Suberb views from all the rooms and to dine with such an enchanting vista is a rare experience. The staff are all delightful and very helpful. The food (dinner and breakfast) is outstanding with plenty of choice and there are some modest priced wines. Without doubt this restarant deserves it's reputation! Excellent location with easy access to the town and lake and no parking problems.

Room Tip: It's well worth climbing the stairs to the second floor for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosalind E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexleyheath, Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 August 2012

My wife booked this restaurant after reading rave reviews and we hoped it would be the perfect evening after a day of walking round the beautiful Keswick countryside. We were not disappointed. As soon as we arrived we were taken by the amazing views and peaceful surroundings. The lounge waiting area is beautifully decorated. Once we had made our selections we were then taken into the main restaurant. The food was amazing and the service was perfect. We didn't want the evening to end. After the meal we were then taken through to a comfortable lounge area where we finished the meal with a coffee and took in the amazing view. The whole experience was first class from the moment we stepped through the door to the moment we left. This restaurant deserves it's high reputation no question and deserves 10/10. We cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: We were not guests at the hotel only using the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2012

Good welcome as we arrived.

Beautiful views from both windows in east turret room.

Lovely evening meals.

Only point for breakfast was we didn't like smoked bacon and had no other choice.

A little pricey but paid it for our pearl wedding anniversary break.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dp9413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
714 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2012

Quick summary: Our large, lake-view room was very comfortable and an exellent base for exploring the Lake District. Superb restaurant. On-site parking.

We stayed 5 nights in Room 21, a spacious 2-nd floor room with a king bed (two twins put together.) Nice linens, good closet and drawer space, coffee/tea set-up, wifi, etc., it was a comfortable stay. This room had a nice lake view, except for the fact that a specimen monkey pod tree blocked some of it.

They readily accomodated our request to change the too-warm duvets for regular sheets and blankets.

Excellent housekeeping.

The restaurant, where we dined every night, was outstanding. There was a range of perfectly prepared appetizers and mains, and real talent inthe kitchen. I have to admit that the rolls served here may be my favorite in the world (and I've traveled quite a bit.) Every night was a different combo of very tasty, interesting selesctions. This is the kind of restaurant where you sit in the lounge beforehand, having drinks and looking over the menu, as the staff served complimentary amuses goules, and you order there. Yes, it's on the pricey side, but worth the tariff.

Good bar and wine list. This is the kind of place where, if you are a guest, they will set aside any bottle(s) of wine you don't finish for the next meal (or whenever.) My husband and I appreciate this as we often have one wine with appetizers,a nd another for the mains, or two different wines depending on what we are ordering.

Must admit that I was less impressed with breakfast. No doubt it was pretty good, with full cooked breakfast, and a buffet of cereals, fruit, and bread/pastries. However, they could not get my request for scrambled eggs very firm and dry right. The eggs came out very soft and mushy. Either they overlooked my request, or they use a prepared egg mix for the scrambled eggs, which never seems to come out right. Also, they serve 8-9:30, but very promptly clear away the buffet table at 9:30 -- no dawdling. The coffee in the morning was not as good as in the evening.

Service staff at the restaurants at all meals were excellent -- friendly, professional, helpful and polished.

Great location: short walk to town, the Theater-by-the-Lake, boat rides, etc. While Keswick can be touristy, it felt much more comfortable than the packed throngs of Ambleside.

My suggestions for improvement are relatively minor, as I'd be happy to stay here again:

The bathroom is about as basic as it gets, and should be a priority for an upgrade at the next renovation. While spacious enough, the shower was very small and could have been larger. Really basic sink area, with very limited shelf space for your own toiletries. Almost nowhere to hand a towel or robe. Toiletries supplied by the hotel were limited and unimpressive. In sum, it was clean and served the purpose, but you expect better of a hotel of this calibre.

The breakfast was good, up could be upgraded, knowing what the evening kitchen can accomplish.

Some things lacking, but such is an older hotel: no in-room safe; iron/board availble by request. I can deal with no lift, but there as also no one to help with bags when we checked in.

So again, this is a very nice place to stay, save some small disappointments.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mme_X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012 via mobile

We stayed in the West Turret room on the 2nd floor, which gave us lovely views and a peaceful place to relax & read. Our 2 night stay was to celebrate a birthday, so we opted to have dinner at the hotel on the first night, which was excellent. Beautiful food, well presented, with attentive service. A lovely surprise touch was the 'Happy Birthday' message written in chocolate on the dessert plate. The hotel is very well located close to the lake, boat trips, lovely walks and the fantastic theatre. (approx 5 mins walk). Also handy that there is a good-sized car park at the back of the hotel. Free wifi was a bonus - remember to ask for the access code when you check in. The only thing I could suggest as an improvement (and it's a minor point) would be to extend the breakfast service time, which is currently 8.30am - 9.30am, including Sundays. Our personal preference would be to have a later option at the weekend. Overall, a lovely hotel, nicely appointed with helpful, friendly staff.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sunset20000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed for 3 nights with our 10 month old baby and had dinner in the hotel twice. Having struggled to find hotels that were baby-friendly we were very relieved to find one that welcomed us so warmly. The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble - warming baby food, providing baby listening services and giving helpful advice when it came to which room would suit us best. The room was beautiful and clean and the views sublime, also plenty of room for a cot (Room 2). Dinner was fantastic and, as any new parent knows, a real treat to be able to have a meal while knowing a baby is safe upstairs! Thank you to all that made our stay truly memorable at the Highfield, I'm sure we'll be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
591 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
734 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing