We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 October 2012

We stayed for six nights mid-September 2012. Our room was on the first floor, looking directly across Hope Park/Crow Park to Derwentwater and Borrowdale - lovely! Very comfortable room and bed with nearly all the amenities one could wish for and nice touches (great towels, good bath with powerful shower, fluffy bathrobes, coffee/tea & biscuits renewed each day etc). Service was outstanding. Nothing was too much trouble; and the staff always managed to be courteous and helpful, as well as interested in what you did day by day, without being either too formal or too familiar. Perhaps the strongest quality was in the food. First class menus with plenty of choice, all presented beautifully and so tasty! We so looked forward to the evening meal each day. In four courses each evening for six nights there was only one dish that I would have criticised - and that may be a matter of taste.

No wonder that all the people we talked to during our stay were repeat visitors to this lovely hotel. We hope to be so ourselves!

Room Tip: Get an upper floor room with a view of Derwentwater. Those with the bay windows are quite spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Skivacance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

294 - 300 of 420 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Highfield. We stayed in the chapel that has been converted into a vast bedroom. The huge ornate bed would bring restful sleep to the worst insomniac and the roll top bath was an irristable invitation after a days trecking. The hotel was spotless and the staff polite with out being intrusive.

We dined on the saturday evening and had the most delicious steak ever cooked by mankind. The meat was so finely cooked it was almost as delicate as a dessert. Beautiful. The dessert itself was appe pie which again was completely gorgeous. All this plus another two courses for the ridiculously cheap price of £25.00.

Breakfast was a perfectly cooked smoked haddock with crumbly flakes of fishmeat smoked to perfection.

the telly didnt work but if you want to watch the goggle boxy in a place like this then there is obviously something not quite right with your relationship

Tremendous value will definately visit again

I cannot recommend this hotel too highly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1tomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Following great comments onTripadvisor we were looking forward to our stay at the Highfield,especially as we had booked the well reviewed Woodford room. We were shown to our room with the comment that the windows had been left open to air the room. Unfortunately, the musty smell did not disappear during the 3 days of our stay,even though we left the windows open all day.The television was very old & not able to show a complete picture! The remote control was broken & had to be handled very carefully or it fell apart. The bed was big but the mattress lumpy. Some of the public areas are rather shabby, especially the entrance from the car park.
The service is charming, the breakfast delicious & the hotel is very well situated.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KateCTunbridgeWells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

The Highfield Hotel had been recommended to me by a friend who stays at least once a year. Unfortunately we had already booked our accomodation.
Dinner is available to non residents so we booked for dinner. The manager and staff were so friendly, eating there was a real treat. Canapes were served with our drinks in the lounge and then we were led through to the dining room. Unfortunately as it was dark we were unabe to take in the lovely view but the food was delightful. I was shown a couple of rooms they both looked comfortable and one had a brilliant view of Derwentwater. Next time we visit the Lake District we will not hesitate to book in at the Highfield Hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 788moaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Top marks for this great hotel. Fantastic views of Derwent water and Catbells from our lovely and spacious bedroom.To wake up with that fantastic view is just fab. The staff are all friendly and well trained. Evening dinner is an experience not to be missed, top quality and beautifully presented, an excellent cooked to order breakfast and a good selection of fresh fruit. Situated on a quiet street with private parking to the rear, within 2 minutes walk of the town centre just makes this hotel our favourite in Keswick.

Room Tip: A large tree can obscure the view from some rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grahamtaitsporting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Stayed here for our wedding anniversary, my wife and I had a lovely stay. The hotel was easy to find, very well located for Keswick centre and had a brilliant view from our room to the lake.

We had dinner in the hotel first night and the food was very good. Very rich and a nice choice of meals, can recommend this hotel and the breakfast was equally nice!

The staff were very helpful and always pleasant, will happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I stayed for 3 nights bed and breakfast in the East Turret room (and one night with dinner). I enjoyed my stay here and the room was lovely. It had a little extra upstairs room with a window seat and the most fantastic view across Derwentwater! The room had a queen bed with basic coffee facilities, small bathroom and a lovely big cupboard that fitted my large suitcase. I was a bit worried when I booked that, given it was an older building, it would have that 'old people's home' smell - but it wasn't at all!!

I'm vegetarian and I found the single item offered for each course on the menu focused too much on cheese! Only ate here one night because of the limited offers; the food was delicious and the chef accommodated my request to change listed menu items. Breakfast was not particularly exciting (a better selection of cereal and fresh fruit would rate higher) but covered off good basics and the hot food was cooked freshly.

The access to the main street in Keswick was by a short walk (max 2 minutes) and it was also a short walk to the launch across the water. The location was perfect and having a car park meant we could either drive to other areas or just walk out from the hotel. There is no lift but my bag was carried up the stairs!

Service was fantastic and very helpful!
I will definitely stay here again when I return to the Lake District.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyInAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
809 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
574 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £101 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing