We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent food and excellent service”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We only ate here but found the service to be excellent as well as the food. Highly recommended.

The quality of the local ingredients was high and food was well prepared. If you can, book early in the evening as the table choice is on a first come first served basis and there are a few tables by the windows with stunning views.

We would certainly consider eating here again on future visits to Keswick.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Loopylou1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    85
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
253
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Greater Manchester
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We have just returned from another trip to Keswick and the only place to stay is the Highfield. Standards are still very high, room was excellant and the food outstanding. As previous reveiwers have said the hotel is perfectly placed as it is close to the town as well as opposite Hope park and Derwentwater. Every time we go to Keswick we try not to use the car. This time the car sat in their very large car park and did not move until today. The staff are still very pleasant and helpful and it was nice to see some new faces. This was our 5th stay here and things never change. There is always something different on the dinner menu. This hotel also allows you to eat even if not staying there and like others I would recommend a visit for a meal. Might be a bit more expensive than normal but fully worth the price. The Lavender bread is to die for.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul_richards32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
349 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

our last visit was Setember 2012, its not changed, its still great service, unbelievable food and beautiful rooms. When you consider this hotel has free parking and is a 5 minute walk from the town centre, its the best in Keswick in our opinion.Try the restaurant even if you are not staying at the hotel.

Room Tip: A first floor room with a view is the best, nos 16 and 17 would not disappoint.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013

When we arrived at the Highfield in Keswick we were immediately impressed with the location but more so with the hotel. The lounge, bar and restaurant were very clean and airy with fantastic views of Cat Bells and the mountains in the distance. We were greeted by the receptionist who we learned later was the manager.Our room was on the top floor but that wasn't a problem, a King size bed and ample furniture for clothes storage and it it gave us commanding views of the mountains and Derwentwater. Dinner was four courses with some changes each dayand worthy of the 2 rossetes and wine choices were varied. The staff were attentive but not obtrusive and were always polite and smiling. We had a minor problem with our door, the latch on the back of the door had dropped into the locked position so we were unable to open the door, but the manager immediately contacted a local locksmith who quickly arrived despite it been 9.30 on a Sunday evening. We were there on a special offer which was exceptional value for money. We will most certainely be returning in the future. Thankyou to every one there.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevJ361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2013

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights and I can say that all the excellent reviews are correct. The four course evening meal was one of the best we've ever had and nothing was too much trouble. We chatted to several other couples were all regular visitors and we'll certainly be returning. We were recommended room 2 or the former chapel( room 2 for best views) we stayed in the east turret which was fine but a bit on the small side.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ACallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

We booked a night accomadation as we live locally ( well £40 taxi )
We arrived at 4 ish dumped our bags and put to explore, unfortunately we had to use the £40 taxi to go home due to personal circumstances . So I paid my £120 bill for my 5 minutes in the room .
The hotel offered no goodwill , I even paid for the breakfast we didn't eat .... Mmmmmmmmm lovely not ?????

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Hoddy8770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2013

We recently spent a two-night break at this hotel. Our room was lovely with a balcony looking out across to Derwentwater, nice en-suite with, very importantly, BIG bathtowels and a very efficient heated towelrail.
The food was exceptional, a wonderful choice of menu and a very sensible wine list.
I would point out that there is no lift, not a problem for us but may be a consideration for some people.
We took advantage of an offer from the hotel's website which was extremely good value for money.

Room Tip: The rooms are shown on the website with very good description so look at these. Rooms facing front h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortbreakers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing