We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
North East England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2008

Enjoyed a 1 night treat at this hotel in one of the "Feature" rooms, room 4. The room was well equipped and pleasant, with a large double bed created by putting 2 twins together. A typical hospitality tray in the room included lots of UHT milks as well as a full range of drinks and 2 "hand made" (not home made) biscuits. As the weather was beautiful we felt we got value for money in paying extra for the balcony with such heavenly views.
An aperitif with canapés in the garden was a lovely prelude to dinner. The evening meal was by far the nicest food we have enjoyed in Keswick (in the past we have enjoyed the food at the Borrowdale Gates, Swinside Lodge, not too far away, but this is the first time we have stayed somewhere in the town itself with good food).
Staff were all courteous, the young Polish man looking after reception was highly professional throughout our stay.
One small suggestion for improvement would be to offer the option of toast AFTER the cooked breakfast - but so few places do so. The cooked breakfast was very nice and freshly prepared and I enjoyed the range of fresh fruit, red fruit compote and prunes which was available as well as the standard cereal and juices.

  • Liked — views from room and hotel garden, food
  • Stayed May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieV83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    91
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
262
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2008

Me & the wife spent the easter break at this lovely hotel with great views of Derwent Water from the front.We stayed in room 17 which is on the top floor.The room was clean and well laid out if a little on the small side but still comfortable.
Made to feel welcome on first arrival even if it's a bit of a climb up the flight of stairs as there's no lift,still it keeps you fit.
What set's this hotel from the many other's is the quality of the food.It's a cut above the usual standard dished out by so many.
The service was a little lesurely at times but this is a small price to pay for the quality of the dishes not a wiff of a microwave in sight.
The menu changed daily with a large amount of local produce been used.
Have spoken to other guests many are repeat customers which I think speaks voulmes of the overall experience.
I'm looking forward to visting the Highfield again hopefully soon.

  • Liked — Food quality & menus
  • Disliked — No king size bed so felt slighty cramped
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vodaboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wrexham, n.wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2008

This is the best hotel we've ever stayed in! The food was superb, I have a severe wheat allergy so it is always with trepedation we eat anywhere but I was overwhelmed not only with the amount of choice I was given, but with the care taken to prepare and serve my food. There was a different menu every night and plenty of food itself. It was beautifully presented. It was the little things like the waiting on staff brushing any crumbs away between courses that make this hotel stand out. The staff were all friendly without being obtrusive. The room was immaculate and tastefully decorated. It was lovely and warm! The rest of the hotel reflected the high standards in the food and our bedroom.The views were stunning. A fantastic place to base any holiday from, definitely highly recommended

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank littletaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2008

Having stayed at a number of hotels in the Lake District over the years, we found this hotel to be disappointing. The rooms we had booked (5 and 6) were comfortable if a bit on the small side.

The evening meals were nicely presented although a few more vegetables would have been appreciated. The bread however was delicious!

The breakfasts were poor. The full English were the worst we had been served anywhere and to be charged an extra £2.50 for smoked salmon and scrambled egg on a crumpet was rather mean. The vegetarian breakfasts weren't much better and our request for some baked beans was politely refused.

The service was mixed with the coffee, and toast going cold before the cooked breakfast arrived. A polite request for replacements was not greeted with much enthusiasm.

With one exception we found the staff, who were all quite young, not very friendly and uncommunicative. The hotel seemed to shut down after dinner and was lacking in the warmth and atmosphere we had experienced elsewhere. In our opinion not worthy of it's award winning status.

  • Liked — Location , the views and the bread rolls.
  • Disliked — The breakfasts and lack of atmosphere
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonnaccio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2008

I stayed at the Highfield with my mother and accomodation was perfect. A ground floor room was suggested and access from the rear car park is easy. Food was fantastic and staff frriendly and obliging. Views from the rooms are stunning and location cannot be bettered for Derwent Water and keswick who needs a car.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — nothing to report
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank lesliebutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2007

stayed at the highfield hotel overnight for our anniversary in october. i have stayed at this hotel many times. i like to stay in room 5 that has views to the rear to the mountains of skiddaw and to the front the lake derwent. the hotel is excellent with good sized rooms,spotless,and good off road parking. we had booked to go to the theatre and the hotel does early theatre meals. the hotel has excellent food with a rosette award. the staff are all helpful and polite. i little bit more expensive than other nearby hotels but for a special occasion is worth the money.

  • Liked — large size room with fantastic views-great power shower
  • Disliked — scollaps
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank garage3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marple
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2007

Stayed there for 3 nights in one of the Turret rooms. These rooms are a little small but pleasant and the views front and back are spectactular. The private Turret room at the top makes up for the size.
Parking to the rear of the hotel means you are close to the town centre and the Keswick launch.
The staff were all polite and helpful and the food is very good value - the menu is limited but this helps to ensure the quality is high and occassionally adventurous (a salmon and black pudding terrine which works well).

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Marpleboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
607 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
699 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
609 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing