We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Memory Forever”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Perfect Memory Forever”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

I wish I had done this review sooner after our stay in April this year, but was stopped by my browser breaking last time! Me and my boyfriend will never forget the Highfield as it was the base of our first, and such a perfect holiday. The manager Nick was an absolute dream when booking, and was so nice about me annoyingly wanting to change the date of our stay, and then changing back! We stayed in room 16 which was lovely, with it's balcony, view of the mountains and lake, and luxurious decor. Nick somehow carried both our heavy luggage bags up with him at once. Everything was clean, comfy and perfect in my eyes.

After each great day in the stunningly beautiful location - taking the launch to different stops all around the lake, going on walks and climbing Catbells - returning to the Highfield was the best thing ever. Going to dinner was such a lovely ritual that we'd dress up for, and we'd love sitting in the cosy lounge with our tasty canopies and drinks to sit with while deciding what courses to order. The dining room was lovely and and the food was the best we've both ever had! This is taking into account the amazing warm, fresh bread made every day in different flavours, and the sorbet between courses! The service was perfect and we were made to feel like royalty!

Breakfast every morning was of course, amazing too and they served everything you could want for the perfect posh breakfast. Every day the staff did all they could for us and nothing was too much trouble. And aside from this.. IT WAS THE BEST BARGAIN EVER!! I still can't believe how good the deal was - maybe because it was in winter.

Thank you again for such a perfect time ^_^ we still reminisce about this holiday!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tammy-Christina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    263
    91
    24
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
262
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
South Lincolnshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed in the East Turret room, the only shame was the outside had scaffolding around, so it stopped the view a little. I do appreciate places of this size need updating and it did not spoil our enjoyment. The room was very homely and the bed very comfortable. Nice stay and the breakfast was fantastic.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenChris_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

stayed here 13/7 had room 21 beautiful views from window verey clean hotel staff all first class the owners can be verey proud of the job they are doing with their hotel will definitley return and would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob1812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

This delightful hotel is in great location in Kesick,is in close walking to all amenties i.e shops, Booths supermarket,restaurants, theatre at Derwent Lake,boating and golf.Of course close by are excellent walking to Walla crag or more adventourous Blen Cathra.The Manager/staff very friendly and always helpful. Meals were heavenly, room clean and lvoley lake view.

Room Tip: lake view front of hotel is excellent.Vista is to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Keswick is one of the loveliest towns in the Lake District. It is full of activity, restaurants, a bustling market on Fridays, and home to the acclaimed Theatre By The Lake. There are numerous choices for lodging in the area, but Highfield Hotel stands out for its location and its cuisine. Situated amidst a group of beautiful Victorian buildings, Highfield Hotel looks out over Hope Park and Derwentwater. Rooms are nicely appointed, comfortable beds, down pillows and comforters. Rooms are not particularly large, but certainly adequate. We stayed in one of the balcony rooms with delightful views overlooking the park. The cuisine at Highfield is memorable for its quality and its presentation. The menu has numerous choices, and the food is expertly prepared. Dinner begins with the chef's choice of dainty hors d'oevres followed by a starter, sorbet, main and dessert. Among the food we chose was a magnificent Stilton and spinach quiche, tomato and green chili soup, wild mushroom ragout and saffron linguini with a fabulous cheese course to finish. The lemon sorbet served as a palate cleanser is outstanding! A full English breakfast in included in the rate. Having previously stayed in a number of places in Keswick we definitely would return to HIghfield.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony overlooking the park and the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank circe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

My husband and I stayed here 3 nights during our honeymoon. What an amazing place! Our room was luxurious and had a beautiful view of the lake and mountains. This hotel is in a great location too; away from the bustle of downtown Keswick, but an easy five-minute walk to all the bars and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and we enjoyed every moment of our stay.

The food is also excellent and probably the best meal you will find in Keswick, especially for you foodies out there. The menu changes daily. They also have a really nice wine list and great single malts to choose from. The hotel manager knew it was our honeymoon, and the night we dined in the restaurant, he had our dessert brought out on plates that said "congratulations"; very sweet and a nice touch. After dinner, they give you the option to retire to the sitting room for tea or an after dinner drink. Very cozy and romantic.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 16 on the first floor, it was lovely and had a balcony. We also peeked into the Wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francine958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed at the Highfield with great expectations. We were disappointed with our room as we felt it to be a little on the shabby side. Firstly, there was Bly a shower, not a bath in the bathroom, and the shower was a 'Mira' shower with water that came through either boiling hot or freezing cold. The radiator in the bedroom would not turn off so we were very hot the whole stay. There was black mildew around the windows. Having said all of that the customer care was excellent and the food I the evening was excellent. However, breakfast was a little disappointing in that the plates were so hot that if touched we would have had a bad burn and this heat carried on cooking the food long after it had left the pan! The bacon(smoked only) had been cooked and reheated (in our opinion) but the fresh fruit was delicious. Would we stay again- probably not.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoboPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
699 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing