We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Highfield Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ravenstone Manor Hotel(Bassenthwaite)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Pheasant Inn(Bassenthwaite)
US$215
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$86
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodore Falls Hotel(Borrowdale)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Scafell Hotel(Rosthwaite)
US$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (430)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveller rating
296
100
25
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
296
100
25
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoodford roomeast turretturret roomthe hotel's websitebreakfast and dinnercar park at the rearno lifthope parksuperb foodpitch and putttown centrelovely hotelfirst floorfirst classstunning viewscourse dinnerbooked this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
255 - 260 of 431 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Spectacular scenery and gracious staff. We particularly enjoyed cocktails in the front garden and breakfast and dinner were very good. Our room, on the third floor, was a little too warm. This was probably due to the fact that the weather was unseasonably hot for the Lake Country. We were given a fan for the room and the staff did their best to make us as comfortable as possible. Keswick is a wonderful base from which to explore the Lake Country. The boat ride around the lake was fun.

Room Tip: Avoid the upper floors in warm weather,
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ET-PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Have just taken my elderly father to Highfield for 1 night after a recommendation from friends and wish we had booked for longer. The staff could not have been more helpful and attentive without being intrusive and overpowering.
The food was absolutely exquisite, the chef is truly deserving of 2 Rosettes and I now need to get back on my bike to lose a few pounds!
Thank you for a truly lovely stay and hope to be back very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peep57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Nice room if a tad small. Very clean with lovely views. The garden was tidy and colourful with seats and tables to enjoy the view. Easy, short walk into Keswick. We had an evening meal in the restaurant one night and the standard was excellent, wish we had done it most nights as Keswick did not have much more than basic pub food in the town. Must mention the hotel staff as they were very polite, helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Look at pics of all the rooms online and read descriptions before booking
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shirl565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2013

The Highfield has the best location in Keswick. Very handy for town & the lake. The hotel overlooks Hope park & has great views over the fells including Catbells. The reception we got was very friendly & helpful & our room was quite spacious, well decorated & very clean. The Highfield serves one of the best breakfasts we have ever had in a hotel anywhere in Britain. Excellent quality & plenty of choice. On our second night there we had a meal in the restaurant. This was extremely well presented & prepared. It was all, of course, delicious. The views from the restaurant of marvellous too.
It is worth staying here just for the food.
We couldn't recommend this hotel more highly.
If we come to Keswick again we will make sure that we stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We had a most enjoyable two night stay at Highfield Hotel recently. Of course it has the best views in Keswick, at least in the front rooms, and our room was also comfortable and spacious. The cooked breakfasts were delicious, as was the one evening meal which we had. As we weren't that hungry on the second evening we ordered soup on room service, and this was delivered promptly and efficiently - again delicious.

What was particularly notable in a small hotel was the friendly and professional service which we received, particularly from Nick, the young manager. He kindly carried our heavy suitcases from and to our car; this was much appreciated as I am recovering from a recent back operation.

So well done Highfield Hotel, we will be back.

Room Tip: Choose a front room with a view to make the most of the fantastic location
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertMargaretRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews