We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very relaxing, lovely stay”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Everything as we expected, would definitely recommend the food is amazing. The staff are very hospitable and nothing to much trouble. We had a beautiful room overlooking the lake. The car park to ther ear of the hotel is really handy as parking can be a bit of a nightmare. Overall had a fabulous time and will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Costababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

237 - 243 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was our second visit and it was just as good as our first. The hotel has fantastic views of lake Derwentwater from the front and the mountains from the back. The hotel serves excellent food, provides very good wi-fi, and the staff are friendly and helpful The location is very handy for Keswick town centre, the lake and local walks.
.

Room Tip: Lake facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Icanmoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Just visited the Highfield for a few nights, what a lovely place to stay, the views are stunning especially with the autumn colours. The hotel is very comfortable and the staff very friendly. Best of all is the food, I would say it is top class. The hotel has a car park and it is easy to get around , the Theatre by the lake is just a couple of minutes away. Will be returning to this hotel again.

Room Tip: The dual aspect rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank outandabout99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Lovely warm welcome. I was shown to my room then asked if i would like to sit in the lovely front room with the fire lit while I waited for my friends.
The hotel is very nice. our room had fantastic views overlooking Derwent water and the fells.
The bedroom was well equipped, and a nice selection beautifully wrapped toiletries in the en-suite.
All the staff very helpful and approachable.
The service is excellent and the food is lovely (we dined early on the Saturday due to going to the theatre). The menu changes daily which is nice.
The full Cumbrian Breakfast was delicious and plenty. No rushing, which was nice.
I would definitely recommend :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

We booked a short break to celebrate my wife's birthday. The welcome was very friendly as we were shown to our room which had a balcony looking across to Derwent water and the fells. The superb view, when visible through the rain was matched by the dinner menu which changes daily. Our main problem was choosing what not to have. The food was delightfully presented and cooked to perfection, served by attentive but not obtrusive waiting staff. The wine list was more than adequate and allowing for British hotel price inflation was not too expensive with a decent selection on "special offer". The bedroom was well equipped, the beds very comfortable and a nice selection of toiletries in the en-suite. All in all a first class weekend in a first class hotel aided and abetted by cheerful, well trained staff.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank greenyards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

This was a nice hotel with very good food. The twin room on the ground floor was nicely furnished and well cleaned. En-suite shower room was comfortable. There were no views from this room. The rear access path was right beside the windows so for reasons of privacy you needed to keep the net curtains in place and there was some noise from people coming in late. They were not particularly rowdy, just in close proximity. The views from he public areas of the Hotel were lovely. We felt the restaurant was over-priced but the food was very good and there were numerous other places to eat within a 5 minute walk. Car parking at the rear was not a problem because there was a rear entrance. The walk to both Keswick market and to the lake was an easy distance and reasonably level. I would stay here again but not in the ground floor rooms.

Room Tip: The ground floor twin, room 10, was a little on the small side and lacked sufficient space for a cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2013

We spent two fantastic nights in this outstanding hotel at the weekend and cannot rate it highly enough.

Everything was first class and nothing was too much trouble . . . the food really was as fantastic as was recommended and the Full Cumbrian Breakfast was the best breakfast we have ever had . . . we now fully appreciate the concept and benefits of locally sourced produce.

Thank you for an outstanding stay . . . The view from Room 16 is A-M-A-Z-I-N-G and the balcony was a real bonus . . . we felt just short of being on the Italian Honeymoon we sadly had to cancel for health reasons and we will certainly be coming back.

Room Tip: Room 16 is outstanding and ideal if you like a balcony . . . will will perhaps chose Room 17 for ano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sally337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range: £104 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing