We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptional hotel”
Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
West Lancashire
Level Contributor
86 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Exceptional hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Great staff, well appointed rooms - both public and private, and a view of Derwentwater to die for. Also a decent car park.

I would just say that for the infirm there are a lot of steps at the front from the road, and at the rear about five or six steps into the property. Also, there is no lift. So if you're not good with stairs request a ground floor room. However, you will then miss out on that view.

The walk into Keswick centre is about five minutes, to the Theatre by the Lake and Derwentwater itself about ten minutes through the park. There are plenty of seats both in the park and by the Water, where there is also a National Trust shop and Cruises. Directly opposite the hotel is a Pitch and Putt, accessed via the park. For supplies, there is a Booth's about six or seven minutes walk, go left along the main road - the bus station is next to it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Unhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    86
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
256
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had heard good things about this hotel, so were hoping for something good. And boy did we get it! What a wonderful place.

Let's start with the food...out of this world! Sooo good! A delicious 4 course meal in an intimate setting. Excellent service. Excellent tasting, well presented food. Just perfect. I can't rave about it enough.

The room was lovely, really cosy and a fantastic view (Room 7). Bed was nice and comfy, plenty of cupboard and drawer space. Spacious bathroom with a shower.

The lounge was a lovely area to relax in before and after dinner. We even played some of the board games kept on the shelf in there.

There is a car park at the back of the hotel so you have no need to worry about where to put the car.

It really was a lovely place and we will definitly be back and will recommend. The staff there go out of their way to make your stay perfect. Thank you Highfield, we really enjoyed our break!

Room Tip: Room 7 had a lovely view, try and get rooms at the front as that is where the lake is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janey_Shaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is our second visit to Highfield Hotel, the first one 7 years ago.We always promised to return but just haven't been able to....I'm so glad we did though. An excellent experience all round.
We stayed in the Woodford room, massive room, large roll topped bath, seating area and ginormous bed.
Can't fault anything, food was amazing, service excellent, location brilliant.... never moved the car again.

Room Tip: The Woodford room hadn't got views of the water but that didn't matter to us as we spent lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 162Cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
70 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Beautiful rooms, all slightly different, very cosy & recently refurbished with lovely little extras in the rooms - turret lounge, seated alcove etc. Would have had amazing views, but sadly a bit wet. Nothing you can do about that!! Great breakfast too, all lovely local Lakeland produce. Great location about 2 minutes walk to all the cafes & amenities of Keswick.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank catherinemrutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We spent three nights in this Hotel on a Special Offer, Dinner Bed and Breakfast. The room we were in was called the East Turret. It was a little cramped not quite the size I am used to. The Turret was accessed from the room via a very narrow stair case. The view was that of the rain across Derwent Water. Very nice view if you could see it. The weather was terrible.
The staff in this hotel were some of the best I have seen in my many travels. Nothing was any problem.
Dinner was first class as good as any 5 star restaurant and the choice was very good. 4 courses every night for three nights. The Wine was a very reasonable price and again a wide choice. Canapes before dinner too.
The sweets were very artist and very tasty.
Breakfast had the widest choice I have seen for a long time. Smoked Haddock as well as Kippers never seen by me before. Of Course the full monty was available including black pudding.

Room Tip: Parking is around the back. Follow your Tom Tom to the letter and it will take you there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ourkidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
knaresborough in yorkshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

This has been our eighth visit and it always exceeds our expectations. The staff are so helpfull and the manager and his wife are also very welcoming and friendly. The food is superb and never disappoints, the atmosphere is relaxing and special at the same time.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 86badger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, Lancs
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This is the third time my husband and I have stayed at the Highfield Hotel. Cannot praise the food enough, whatever you have is first class, the beef fillet is to die for and the sweets aren't bad either. Wine list is extensive and the house wine is good too. Our room No 2 was lovely, perfect view of the lake and a large bathroom. Nick and his staff work hard and nothing is too much trouble, everything is done with a smile. The hotel manages to maintain a charm of its own and being near the town centre is very handy. A perfect place in fact have already booked for Autumn 2014. A lovely place well worth visiting for a stay in the Lakes, just pray for good weather, while we were there it was awful.

Room Tip: Check the Highfield's website, a good description of the rooms available No 2 was perfect, alway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldenwords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing