We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible 2 Night Policy”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Terrible 2 Night Policy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2009

Not allowed to stay both Friday & Saturday night due to policy of owner.

Therefore would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    85
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
255
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2009

Maybe a little over-priced for what it is, but the building is well-placed to commanad views of Derwentwater, the staff are unfailingly helpful and considerate, the food very good and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was just on the right side of adequacy, and are general feeling was of satisfaction and contentment.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

we stayed here for two nights . the location was excellent the staff were lovely, friendly. The food was the best anywhere we had just spent time in the cavindish in london and the food in the highfield was superior by far .We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmccarter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed for two nights at this fabulous hotel, this was our second visit to the Highfield and we could not of enjoyed it more. We stayed in room two it was very comfortable, clean and relaxing with a beautiful view from the bay window. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room. We booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and were not disappointed. As before the food was nothing short of first class as good if not better than you would get in a top restaurant. All in all a very enjoyable stay and cant wait to go back.

Mr and Mrs Anderson (Newcastle)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oban
Level Contributor
43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

£110 per night for 2 - nowhere to sit in the bedroom other than the bed. Twin room - one bed had a broken leg and sloped to the right - most uncomfortable and not fixed as promised. Small and cramped bathroom. Hotel but no bar. TV with channels 1 - 5 News 24 and no teletext. Fortunately the weather was good so we were able to take advantage of the garden. But excellent polite and attentive staff, and generally very clean throughout. Didn't try the restaurant. Got the impression the hotel charges were based on the restaurant's award winning reputation.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obanwalkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Stayed in Keswick in an Apartment for 1 week. Booked the restaurant at the Highfield Hotel for my 50th Birthday, and for a special meal it was excellent, the starter of venison was exquisite. Both my partner and i, had a great birthday night here and will definately stay here in the future. The views over Derwentwater to Catbells is a lovely backdrop whilst dining here.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank invigour8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galashiels, Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Lovely hotel with a pleasant outlook onto the Lake District. The food is fresh, and home cooked with the menu changing every day. The staff were friendly, attentive and efficient.
The hotel is located within walking distance of Keswick town centre and other ammenities making it an ideal 'no need to drive' venue. There is an excellent public transport system in the area.
We look forward to a return visit(s)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbird1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing