We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Highfield Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Highfield Hotel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Shropshire England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Top Notch!!”
Reviewed 15 November 2009

This was our second time at the Highfield and it was a birthday celebration for my wife.
There was a warm welcome from all the members of the Highfield team, especially the hosts "Howard and Caroline"
The service was very attentive and nothing was to much trouble. The dinner was fantastic, with the use of some great local produce producing some powerful flavours.
Great food,Great place,Great Hosts.
We will be back again!
Freddie

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nnewitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    85
    23
    5
    3
See reviews for
35
253
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey England
Level Contributor
158 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2009

We stayed here for 1 night - not far long enough. Everything about this place was great - staff, rooms, cleanliness, food etc.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
174 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2009

Stayed for two nights at the hotel - had difficulty getting booking as they were busy but managed to get some of the rooms we wanted. There are some very pleasant rooms looking onto the water, but others don't have much of a view. So if you end up with the less well appointed rooms, you may be slightly disappointed as the hotel sits in a prominent position looking onto Derwent Water and the surrounding hills. The accommodation is on ground, first and second floors, and the better rooms are 1st and 2nd, so there are quite a lot of stairs to climb. Rooms for disabled access are on the ground at the rear, so they don't have a view, but the two lounges and verandah provide an alternative.

Both of ours were fine, the beds comfortable, decor and facilities fine - the en suites are possibly getting to the slightly tired stage but everything works fine. The reception rooms are comfortable and there is a nice garden to sit in with stunning views.

The staff are all young, enthusiastic and helpful. The owners are very pleasant and the staff all seem to work well together. Anything you need or want is quickly provided.

At breakfast there is a wide choice from a buffet table, with fresh fruit, cereals, croissants, juices, dried fruits and compotes and then a wide selection of cooked breakfast, including options such as haddock and poached egg, smoked salmon and scrambled egg, vegetarian option, continental with ham and cheeses. The breakfasts are very good and the staff cope with the service very easily. Only slight niggle is if you come down late some of the popular help yourselves were not replenished, so you have to ask.

Dinner is 4 courses, starters, sorbet, main course, pudding or cheese and then tea or coffee. There is a wide selection for all and the quality of the food and standard of cooking was high. Well presented with interesting choices, the main difficulty was deciding what to have as there were usually a number of options you wanted. The cheese board provides a good range of local quality cheeses. Not your average holiday hotel. There is also an above average wine list, with some excellent wines not priced too extravagantly, and their house wines are perfectly good as well. But there are wines if you to push the boat out a bit, including the excellent Cloudy Bay or Chapel Down English sparkler.

Only tiny niggle on the food was the overcooking of a fillet steak - asked for blue, arrived medium rare at best - as it was a supplement charge to the menu, was irritating that it was over done, but that was the only issue on any of the meals. There is enough choice to suit everyone and we all had different dishes and were happy with our choices. Starters are above average and interesting.

Most of the guests are frequent visitors, so standards are clearly maintained. We would like to visit again. It isn't cheap, but you could pay as much for less quality. In a quiet location, it is only 10 minutes stroll to the centre of Keswick, so it is very convenient, and there is a car park at the rear of the hotel, which is very useful. You are not made to feel that you are cluttering up the hotel and in the way even if you choose to sit in the lounge and read, and the staff seem to be well organised and plenty of them so it all is pretty seamless.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tabith t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2009

Not allowed to stay both Friday & Saturday night due to policy of owner.

Therefore would not recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank nuggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Maybe a little over-priced for what it is, but the building is well-placed to commanad views of Derwentwater, the staff are unfailingly helpful and considerate, the food very good and the bed comfortable. The bathroom was just on the right side of adequacy, and are general feeling was of satisfaction and contentment.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stubble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
londonderry
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

we stayed here for two nights . the location was excellent the staff were lovely, friendly. The food was the best anywhere we had just spent time in the cavindish in london and the food in the highfield was superior by far .We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolmccarter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2009

We stayed for two nights at this fabulous hotel, this was our second visit to the Highfield and we could not of enjoyed it more. We stayed in room two it was very comfortable, clean and relaxing with a beautiful view from the bay window. On arrival we were greeted by friendly staff who showed us to our room. We booked Dinner, Bed and Breakfast and were not disappointed. As before the food was nothing short of first class as good if not better than you would get in a top restaurant. All in all a very enjoyable stay and cant wait to go back.

Mr and Mrs Anderson (Newcastle)

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisaander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.5 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
717 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highfield Hotel

Property: Highfield Hotel
Address: The Heads, Keswick CA12 5ER, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Highfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Highfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highfield Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing