We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again”
Review of Java Coffee Shop

Java Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: An independent quirky coffee shop. Specializing in Coffee and Cakes.. It is also dog friendly. We have outside seating situated in the market square for those warm sunny days.. We also have upstairs seating with large comfy sofas perfect for those cold winter days.. We have a 4 tier chocolate fountain perfect for a little treat or even to keep the kids occupied while you sit back and relax with a perfect cup of coffee... Need we say more!!
Keswick, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Back again”
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Back again and met again with more funky rustic upgrades. Looking good guys and flat white as good as ever

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snowyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Hi there thank you so much for yet another great review,it really is appreciated that you take time out to do this....... and a big thank you for noticing our funky rustic upgrades,we like it and are pleased you do too. We look forward to your next visit.

Many Thanks

From all at Java
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    275
    84
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crieff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great drinks & eats plus dog-friendly!”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Nice little cafe with some comfy seating upstairs! Called in after a wet walk + 2 wet dogs and were made to feel welcome! Highly recommend the Nutella hot chocolate...

Helpful?
Thank Nigel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for the nice review, glad that we were able to make you and your four legged friends welcome! Have to agree with you about the Nutella Hot Chocolate it is a very nice treat.

Many Thanks

All at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“amazing hot chocolate”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We visited Keswick last week and were delighted to find this little coffee shop. The staff were friendly and very welcoming. The place was clean and most important for us ........dog friendly! I ordered hot chocolate with cream and marshmellows, it arrived in a huge mug and was absolutely delicious ( the calories had of course all been removed!)) My husband ordered latte coffee which arrived piping hot and was equally good.Most of the seating is upstairs, but we managed to get a downstairs table, which was a bonus. We didnt eat, but the menu was varied and tempting. Would definately visit again if we were in the area

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogmadLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review. We are glad that you enjoyed the hot chocolate we try our best to impress.. We have to admit that our coffee is very good. Hopefully on your next visit you will get to sample one of our many options of delicious cakes.

Many Thanks

All at Java Coffee Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
174 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“If you love hot chocolate, look no further”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

There is not a lot to say other than if you love hot chocolate then come here. They also do great coffee and pastries however why would you have coffee when the smell of all that chocolate would tempt anyone to try it. They are dog friendly and have free wi-fi. Staff are helpful and pleasant. After a long walk a great way to warm up and relax.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keystonePreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
thanks for the great review,it really pleases me to find that people will go out of their way to praise a business if they have received great service and also enjoyed the food and drink,it seems to make all the hard work worth while,so many thanks and hope to see you both again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Great little find. We had arrived in Keswick fresh from the Honister Pass, parked in the central car park, came up the tunnel into the Square and there was Java - dog friendly! Staff could not have been more pleasant or helpful. Order at till, coffee served when it has been made - within a very few minutes. Wife had a cheese scone which she said was the best she had ever tasted. Warm, comfortable, friendly - what more could you ask?

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank volvos80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
many thanks for taking time out to write such a great review for Java..... all i can say is ..... i sure hope it was me who made that scone :) we hope to see you again and many thanks from all of us here at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Java Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing