We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to have a relaxing study”
Review of Java Coffee Shop

Java Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 12 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An independent quirky coffee shop. Specializing in Coffee and Cakes.. It is also dog friendly. We have outside seating situated in the market square for those warm sunny days.. We also have upstairs seating with large comfy sofas perfect for those cold winter days.. We have a 4 tier chocolate fountain perfect for a little treat or even to keep the kids occupied while you sit back and relax with a perfect cup of coffee... Need we say more!!
Reviewed 20 June 2014

did a lot of work on my MA dissertation here. Chilled out music and must say some good coffee. The trivia cards are also a nice touch. Also in summer I recommend some of their smoothies.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank Stephenson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

thank you for your review,we did notice you liked your little spot on the sofa next to the window,good luck with your dissertation and we might see you back here for a smoothie or Frappe in the summer.Many thanks from all of us here at Java.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (432)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 328 of 432 reviews

Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you like chocolate then this is the place. The mochas are divine as they use the melted chocolate from the fountain. Try the strawberries dipped in the same chocolate as that does still mean you have had 1 of your 5 a day! Wheelchair access to outside seating area in good weather & ground floor. Toilets not disabled accessible but some are close by. Free wifi. Clean & cosy. Frequent user card available. Trivial pursuit cards on every table providing healthy debate. Don't miss the letter on the wall outside the toilet!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Juda96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review for Java, and yes the letter downstairs is hilarious,we just had to frame it.we look forward to seeing you again,and many thanks from all of us here at Java.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Went to this place for a espresso it tasted good and it had a laid back vibe and good value for money and the staff were nice a friendly

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank scott s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

thanks for your review,very pleased to hear you enjoyed our coffee and we also appreciate your friendly staff comment the girls will certainly get a gold star for this. Many thanks from all of us at Java.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Back in Keswick and back in Java. Looking good, more rusticness (if that's even a word ). Still , looks awesome . Coffee as good as ever and even some old faces to catch up with. Fantastic. Keep up the good work guys, you should be number one for sure. Don't miss this one of independent coffee shop if you visit keswick.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snowyman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

hello there,many thanks once again for all these great comments...... and yes you are right the rusticness!!!!!! looks great,we look forward to seeing you soon.

all the best from Java

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I often come here with my two black labs. They are fussed over and made most welcome,. It's great to come in and have a chat to the staff and to be served with lovely coffee and great cakes. I recommend this to all my friends and holiday letting guests. The customer service is excellent and I can see why it's always busy at lunch time......Great place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

thanks again for the great review,it's nice to be known as a friendly old bunch here at Java,we look forward to seeing you again.

Many thanks from all at Java

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java Coffee Shop also viewed

 

Been to Java Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing