We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Light break”
Review of Java Coffee Shop

Java Coffee Shop
Ranked #1 of 15 Coffee & Tea in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: An independent quirky coffee shop. Specializing in Coffee and Cakes.. It is also dog friendly. We have outside seating situated in the market square for those warm sunny days.. We also have upstairs seating with large comfy sofas perfect for those cold winter days.. We have a 4 tier chocolate fountain perfect for a little treat or even to keep the kids occupied while you sit back and relax with a perfect cup of coffee... Need we say more!!
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
143 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Light break”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

First of all I ordered the flapjack and it was very sticky and it fell apart as soon as I picked it up it fell apart. The staff were courteous.The tables had been clean but there was some kind of cards on every table containing some difficult questions. But they were extremely dirty. Overall I enjoyed this little break.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your review,sorry to hear about the flap jack incident!and also sorry to hear you had trouble answering the trivial pursuit cards...... maybe we should get the junior cards in for the kids,thank you for bringing this to my attention i will act on this immediately, as for the cards been extremely dirty i can only apologize and all cards have been replaced... saying this i'm pleased to hear this did not ruin your overall enjoyment,many thanks from all of us here at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    278
    85
    19
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Delightful coffee shop.”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Continuously lovely food and drink at Java (especially the hot chocolate if you're a chocolate lover). Delicious milkshakes too. Staff are consistently excellent, lovely friendly manner from all. Pleasure to visit.

Helpful?
Thank cpn01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Wow thank you for all your compliments,my girls especially love you for that compliment,and i also agree with you on the hot chocolate and milkshake comment too.We hope to see you soon ,many thanks for your review,and thanks from all of us here at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic coffee house the the English Lakes”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Four of us found this place by chance at the weekend. Its a quirky, small establishment but with a lovely character to it and a good atmosphere. The coffee we had (3 capuccinos and a flat white) was the best we've had for ages, far better than we have had from any of the multiple coffee chains that have colonised the town centres.

Service was prompt and very friendly. The range of drinks avaialbel was impressive and the cakes looked very tempting, but we managed to resist.

Will recommend anyone to eschew the hordes of Ambleside and Bowness and carry on for 15 miles north of Windermere - slower pace, fewer tourists yet fabulous scenery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek_Basilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Hello there from all of us at Java,thank you for the compliments on our coffee....we can give any large coffee chain a run for there money.We hope you pop back if you are ever in keswick,and thank you for making time to write a review for us.

Many thanks

Java Coffee Shop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great place to have a relaxing study”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

did a lot of work on my MA dissertation here. Chilled out music and must say some good coffee. The trivia cards are also a nice touch. Also in summer I recommend some of their smoothies.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephenson89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
thank you for your review,we did notice you liked your little spot on the sofa next to the window,good luck with your dissertation and we might see you back here for a smoothie or Frappe in the summer.Many thanks from all of us here at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Chocolate heaven”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you like chocolate then this is the place. The mochas are divine as they use the melted chocolate from the fountain. Try the strawberries dipped in the same chocolate as that does still mean you have had 1 of your 5 a day! Wheelchair access to outside seating area in good weather & ground floor. Toilets not disabled accessible but some are close by. Free wifi. Clean & cosy. Frequent user card available. Trivial pursuit cards on every table providing healthy debate. Don't miss the letter on the wall outside the toilet!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juda96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauras1991, Owner at Java Coffee Shop, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
thank you for taking the time to write such an informative review for Java, and yes the letter downstairs is hilarious,we just had to frame it.we look forward to seeing you again,and many thanks from all of us here at Java.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Java Coffee Shop also viewed

 
Keswick, Lake District
Keswick, Lake District
 

Been to Java Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing