We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time just as good”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Burns Farm Campsite, and yet again a brilliant stay had by us both.
We pitched our tent up on 11th October in the morning and were charged £16 a night with electric. The ground was flat and nice to put our tent onto.
There was a mix of both caravans and tents, and the pitches are spaced out nicley so you dont get disturbed - Which was lovely. From what i can gather there are 3 different tents, a main one with electric and 2 more that are non-eletric pitches.
The toilet and shower blocks are clean, the showers are free - which is always a bonus. I did't have a day that I had a cold shower, always nice and warm. There are plugs in the shower blocks for ladies to dry your hair, straighten, charge your phone etc - this is if you dont have an eletric hook up. We did have a hook up and it was very good, we were able to have at least 2 things plugged in at once.
It is in great location, breathtaking views and plenty of walks that start right from the capsite. Keswick town is about an hours walk - or 5-10 minutes away in the car, which is ideal.
The staf here are lovely and friendly and will help you out with anything the best they can! :)
We will deffo be returning here in the near future.

Room Tip: On the main field, pitch (if you can) towards the top end, a better view from the trees and other ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattandlaura2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently enjoyed an 8 night "Glamping" holiday at this great camp site, and will certainly be returning for more. It was refreshing to have all of the electric washing and shower facilities included in the very reasonable price without having to carry pockets of change for electricity meters. The views of the local hills were stunning, especially Blencathra. Keswick is no more than a few minutes away, and there are ample local pubs and restaurants nearby to provide multiple options for eating and drinking out. We took the opportunity of using an electrical hook up, which provided enough power for most of our needs. The tent pitch was absolutely level, and our fellow campers were mostly well behaved (which is a rarity nowadays). My only gripe would be that the on-site wifi was a little low on power and /or speed, and was subject to occasional buffering.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

I have stayed at Burns Farm C&C 3 times, each time as a member of a group of walkers, twice with a caravan and once with a tent. We have really enjoyed it each time. The site is ideal as a base for walking on the local fells. It is a pleasant hour's walk along minor roads into Keswick town. Threlkeld village with a couple of good pubs is about 30 mins walk away in the opposite direction. The pitches are flat and well drained. The site's facilities are kept in good order and the staff are very helpful. As you can expect on a popular campsite with a mixture of tents and caravans (that don't have the best sound insulation) there are comings and goings and a little bit of noise, but it is quiet at night. We were tired enough not to bother anyway! We will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: Groups can ask to be put out of the way so as to not disturb others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AGL_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed over the bank holiday and had a fantastic time a total credit to the owners everything just spot on will defiantly be going back and also passing it to many friends 10/10 the showers and toilets spotless and clean plenty of hot water lovely and peacefully on a nite

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Johnfin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the site for 3 nights over the bank holiday. The site was busy because of this.
Each night the camping area was quiet by 10pm and still quiet after 8am.
The shower block an WC was clean and had ample hot water.
You can walk to Keswick via the Stone Circle or along the old rail way line, both very nice! Mountains are close enough th walk in to or just a short car drive or cycle ride.
All in all a great weekend on a great camp site in a great location!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave_and_Denise999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed this bank holiday weekend and found the staff very friendly the toilet and shower facilities clean and well maintained.

The only downside we felt was that the campsite was over booked and the excessive noise within the site rules was not enforced which was disappointing.

If you do stay here at a less popular time i am sure you will enjoy your stay, however our trip was unfortunately ruined by another tent who seemed to have no regards to others playing lord of the rings at 2 in the morning then shouting at the dog loudly to lay down and again at 6.30am.

If you are looking for a nice meal head into the village of Threlkeld to the Horse and Farrier, although booking is a must.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashire26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed at burns farm for 6 nights and were very happy. The site was very quiet (most the time) some screaming young children in the night was very disturbing but nothing the site could of done about it. The A66 in the back ground was nothing too loss sleep over. The female staff member we communicated with throughout our stay was very helpful and friendly. The showers were a little old and could do with a overhaul but at the end of the day it's still a campsite!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AliceMutimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
15.1 mi away
Orchard Hideaways
Orchard Hideaways
#17 of 23 in Penrith
10 reviews
1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
794 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
660 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite

Address: St Johns-in-the-Vale, Keswick CA12 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burns Farm lies in the beautiful Valley St-Johns-in-the-Vale. A idyllic part of the Lake District. You just need walk off the site in any direction and it won't be long before a hill comes under foot. From some of the highest ground in England, to the loveliest walk on a disused railway line by the River Greta, this is one of the greatest places on the planet to take your boots.Stunning scenery from the edges of the site wherever you cast your amazed gaze, situated on a traditional north Cumbria working hill farm, set in the heart of the mountains, it is a great base for walking or climbing the surrounding peaks of Blencathra, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Scafell Pike, Scafell, Catbells, Helvellyn, and Helvellyn range including Clough Head, to name a few. Just 4 miles to the nearest Lake of Derwentwater or Bassenthwaite, offering fishing and sailing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing