We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude, unprofessional, owners ruin a fairly decent site”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked online to camp for two nights over the bank holiday and was informed we needed to pay for three nights due to it being a bank holiday, fair enough not an issue due to the location. Upon arrival we entered the site and followed the bright yellow AA sign which directed us right, behind the toilet block, half way through setting up we were approached by the, dare I call her management, her opening line was curt and aggressive, she barked at us informing us that we were in the wrong place and told us to move to another field which was totally opposite to the directional signage, we moved and set up in the next field, we would have done exactly the same if we had been asked to do so politely so there was no need for the attitude as we were not waving clubs about!
Following setting up the tents we explored the local area and returned to the site at about 2130hrs, we chatted in the tent and turned in at 2230hrs settling down to the noise of a large family having fun, not an issue as that's why people go on holiday.
In the morning one of our group was approached by the female management, and again with the same rude attitude barked at him whilst he was talking to his partner on the phone, stating, there has been a disturbance and a complaint about you. We explained that we were in our beds by 2230hrs and she stated we were lying and that we were running about making noise at 0200 hrs !
Our neighbours backed up our claim stating we had not disturbed him and we were quiet by 2230hrs, this only caused the level of unprofessional aggression from the female to escalate, she demanded £10 each from each of us as a noise deposit, we refused, she then stated that due to two of the tents being large, a three man and a six man, she was increasing the price. We paid the initial agreed price for one night and reluctantly decided to find a more friendly accommodating campsite, we found one and enjoyed the rest of our stay in Borrowdale. We had intended to climb Skidaw but due to this aggressive, unprofessional female we wasted half a day and did not have the time.
The showers were hot but very dirty, the mop supplied was dirty and old and had no affect on the built up dirt in the showers. I am a regular camper and this was my second and last visit to campsite.
THERE ARE BETTER CAMPSITES DO NOT USE THIS ONE!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
15  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Owner at Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

We pride ourselves in being a quiet family campsite where people of all ages can come to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the site, and the stunning views of the surrounding area; we will not tolerate unnecessary noise or behaviour on our lovely campsite. The interest of our guests is paramount and it is our policy to ask anyone who can’t follow the site rules to leave.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Burns Farm Campsite. We had a large tent pitch with electric hook up, it had plenty of room and was very level. I am disabled and I was given a key to a disabled bathroom which has a lot more room and it was perfect for me. Overall a great stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we have been here loads of times and this time was no exception , lovely friendly greeting by linda and her family , clean and tidy facilities , lots of hot water in the showers , this camp site is perfectly placed for walkers and family trips , not to far from Keswick but far enough to offer a calm and relaxing time away , we love it here and will be returning as soon as we can , thanks to linda and family for a lovely time and we will see you all again soon xx

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

stayed here during the summer, can't fault the campsite and the helpful owner. the shower/toilet facilities are fine, I never had to queue but I did go really early before most people were up! pitch was big enough for our 6 man tent and then some. took our dogs with us, the area is great for walks eventhough the weather was rubbish!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank hibou8867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Excellent value for money, fantastic location and amazing views we have stayed in numerous times and love it more and more everytime Linda is lovely and always happy to help as is her daughter. The site is well looked after with all facilities needed for a relaxing peaceful holiday see you again very soon we hope

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is the 2nd time in 3 months we have stayed here.The 2nd time was the best as we were the only ones camping and had the pick of the hook ups. We camped in the field facing main road but had to move as it was really really windy so we stopped outside the shower block which was sheltered. The only downside was the WiFi was down . Yet again thanks Linda :) will be sure to see you in 2014

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clairet1405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at Burns Farm Campsite, and yet again a brilliant stay had by us both.
We pitched our tent up on 11th October in the morning and were charged £16 a night with electric. The ground was flat and nice to put our tent onto.
There was a mix of both caravans and tents, and the pitches are spaced out nicley so you dont get disturbed - Which was lovely. From what i can gather there are 3 different tents, a main one with electric and 2 more that are non-eletric pitches.
The toilet and shower blocks are clean, the showers are free - which is always a bonus. I did't have a day that I had a cold shower, always nice and warm. There are plugs in the shower blocks for ladies to dry your hair, straighten, charge your phone etc - this is if you dont have an eletric hook up. We did have a hook up and it was very good, we were able to have at least 2 things plugged in at once.
It is in great location, breathtaking views and plenty of walks that start right from the capsite. Keswick town is about an hours walk - or 5-10 minutes away in the car, which is ideal.
The staf here are lovely and friendly and will help you out with anything the best they can! :)
We will deffo be returning here in the near future.

Room Tip: On the main field, pitch (if you can) towards the top end, a better view from the trees and other ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mattandlaura2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
15.1 mi away
Orchard Hideaways
Orchard Hideaways
#17 of 23 in Penrith
10 reviews
1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
5.2 mi away
The White Horse Inn Bunkhouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
662 reviews
4.1 mi away
The Lodge in the Vale
The Lodge in the Vale
#1 of 2 in Thirlmere
328 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite

Address: St Johns-in-the-Vale, Keswick CA12 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burns Farm lies in the beautiful Valley St-Johns-in-the-Vale. A idyllic part of the Lake District. You just need walk off the site in any direction and it won't be long before a hill comes under foot. From some of the highest ground in England, to the loveliest walk on a disused railway line by the River Greta, this is one of the greatest places on the planet to take your boots.Stunning scenery from the edges of the site wherever you cast your amazed gaze, situated on a traditional north Cumbria working hill farm, set in the heart of the mountains, it is a great base for walking or climbing the surrounding peaks of Blencathra, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Scafell Pike, Scafell, Catbells, Helvellyn, and Helvellyn range including Clough Head, to name a few. Just 4 miles to the nearest Lake of Derwentwater or Bassenthwaite, offering fishing and sailing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing