We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice family run campsite”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A nice family run campsite”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Just back from an 8 night stay on this family run working farm campsite, this site is clean and the water is really hot - I would go as far to say the hottest I've ever had on a site!. As this is a working farm you need to be ready for the noise of the sheep which woke me up at 5 each morning.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    47
    9
    8
    8
See reviews for
46
60
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Recently got back from a 2 night stay at Burns Farm. We visited with a non electric hook up tent and pitched in the large field to the left of the gates. Plenty of space although a bit exposed to the elements!

The shower block was clean and neither me nor my partner had to queue for showers at any point during the morning or evening. Showers were hot and having plug sockets to dry my hair was a god send! Only
Downside was on both evenings some of the toilets had run out of toilet roll with none to be found!

The location is great, a nice 3 mile stroll into Keswick and a lovely walk back along the old rail way, or if you prefer a 5 minute drive.

My only slight moan is that the camp is supposed to be quiet after 10 and we had a group of people pitched next to us who were talking and screeching until about midnight and a group of school kids who could be heard right across the site until late... Not the fault of the owners but they didn't exactly enforce the quiet camp rules!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank NomadJL86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

On arrival we went to reception to book in and had a very friendly helpful welcome. We were given a few options where to pitch and all went well. The toilet block was very clean and the showers were fantastic, lovely hot water and clean facilities.
We will definitely stay here again, a beautiful site and amazing views

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berni A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We weren't sure if we were staying for 1 night or 2. We pitched beside the wall on the "not so big field" with a non EHU pitch!The views from every angle were outstanding. We investigated the toilet/shower block & found it to be very clean, well decorated, plenty of toilet paper and hand wash soap dispensers. We both had showers that night (1 male & 1 female)! The showers were free & hot. There was a hook on the door & one just outside the shower curtain. I am not complaining whatsoever but i think the shower curtain could have been a bit longer so that it went inside the shower tray, my shoes were soaking when i stepped out of the shower. The water had been dripping on the floor instead of inside the tray. I slept well but you could hear the traffic from the A66 ( i live beside a main road so i'm used to it). All in all, a very well kept & clean site. We will return, hopefully for more than 1 night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettyjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We booked online to camp for two nights over the bank holiday and was informed we needed to pay for three nights due to it being a bank holiday, fair enough not an issue due to the location. Upon arrival we entered the site and followed the bright yellow AA sign which directed us right, behind the toilet block, half way through setting up we were approached by the, dare I call her management, her opening line was curt and aggressive, she barked at us informing us that we were in the wrong place and told us to move to another field which was totally opposite to the directional signage, we moved and set up in the next field, we would have done exactly the same if we had been asked to do so politely so there was no need for the attitude as we were not waving clubs about!
Following setting up the tents we explored the local area and returned to the site at about 2130hrs, we chatted in the tent and turned in at 2230hrs settling down to the noise of a large family having fun, not an issue as that's why people go on holiday.
In the morning one of our group was approached by the female management, and again with the same rude attitude barked at him whilst he was talking to his partner on the phone, stating, there has been a disturbance and a complaint about you. We explained that we were in our beds by 2230hrs and she stated we were lying and that we were running about making noise at 0200 hrs !
Our neighbours backed up our claim stating we had not disturbed him and we were quiet by 2230hrs, this only caused the level of unprofessional aggression from the female to escalate, she demanded £10 each from each of us as a noise deposit, we refused, she then stated that due to two of the tents being large, a three man and a six man, she was increasing the price. We paid the initial agreed price for one night and reluctantly decided to find a more friendly accommodating campsite, we found one and enjoyed the rest of our stay in Borrowdale. We had intended to climb Skidaw but due to this aggressive, unprofessional female we wasted half a day and did not have the time.
The showers were hot but very dirty, the mop supplied was dirty and old and had no affect on the built up dirt in the showers. I am a regular camper and this was my second and last visit to campsite.
THERE ARE BETTER CAMPSITES DO NOT USE THIS ONE!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
15 Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda L, Owner at Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
We pride ourselves in being a quiet family campsite where people of all ages can come to enjoy the peace and tranquillity of the site, and the stunning views of the surrounding area; we will not tolerate unnecessary noise or behaviour on our lovely campsite. The interest of our guests is paramount and it is our policy to ask anyone who can’t follow the site rules to leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at Burns Farm Campsite. We had a large tent pitch with electric hook up, it had plenty of room and was very level. I am disabled and I was given a key to a disabled bathroom which has a lot more room and it was perfect for me. Overall a great stay and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skelton
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

we have been here loads of times and this time was no exception , lovely friendly greeting by linda and her family , clean and tidy facilities , lots of hot water in the showers , this camp site is perfectly placed for walkers and family trips , not to far from Keswick but far enough to offer a calm and relaxing time away , we love it here and will be returning as soon as we can , thanks to linda and family for a lovely time and we will see you all again soon xx

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bev C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
11.7 mi away
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
Sharrow Bay Country House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Pooley Bridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
3.6 mi away
Horse & Farrier Inn
Horse & Farrier Inn
#1 of 4 in Threlkeld
4.0 of 5 bubbles 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite

Property: Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite
Address: St Johns-in-the-Vale, Keswick CA12 4RR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 33 Speciality Lodging in Keswick
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burns Farm lies in the beautiful Valley St-Johns-in-the-Vale. A idyllic part of the Lake District. You just need walk off the site in any direction and it won't be long before a hill comes under foot. From some of the highest ground in England, to the loveliest walk on a disused railway line by the River Greta, this is one of the greatest places on the planet to take your boots.Stunning scenery from the edges of the site wherever you cast your amazed gaze, situated on a traditional north Cumbria working hill farm, set in the heart of the mountains, it is a great base for walking or climbing the surrounding peaks of Blencathra, Skiddaw, Latrigg, Scafell Pike, Scafell, Catbells, Helvellyn, and Helvellyn range including Clough Head, to name a few. Just 4 miles to the nearest Lake of Derwentwater or Bassenthwaite, offering fishing and sailing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Burns Farm Caravan & Campsite Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing