We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than 5 star hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stonegarth Guest House
Ranked #14 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle
Level Contributor
253 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Better than 5 star hotel”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We've stayed in more B&Bs (and hotels) than I care to remember and Stonegarth takes some beating. It has a car park (a great plus in this part of Keswick), it's 5 mins walk from the town centre, it's a magnificent looking house on the outside and superb on the inside.
Clean, large bedroom (no. 5), welcoming sherries, stocked fridge, tea, coffee etc etc. Ensuite shower room glistened like new, big comfy heated bed - we couldn't fault anything. Even the hair-dryer had it's own little carry case in the wardrobe!
There is a warning, however! Don't eat too much dinner the night before because the cooked breakfast is probably the biggest and best you'll ever have. Served quickly and most pleasantly it was an absolute joy. Fresh fruit and cereals too. The Lakeland breakfast was
two big locally produced sausages, two rashers of bacon, a perfect egg and all the trimmings; tomatoes, mushroom and so on all served in a large bright dining room. "More toast, tea, coffee?" Phew, no ta, we're full as a gun. Brilliant.

Without hesitation we'd recommend anyone to stay here. It was quiet, relaxing and well worth the £72 and the booking procedure was very customer-friendly. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 5 was very quiet. Large and well-equipped. Two windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wainwright007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    487
    25
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
447
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
County durham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights in room 4 over valentines night and can only give very good reviews of this luxurious b&b. The double jacuzzi bath and waterfall power shower were fabulous and the four poster bed with heated blankets was so comfortable. Breakfast was of good choice and served promptly and with a smile. Would definitely recommend this accommodation and I am likely to return myself.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed at Stonegarth for 2 nights over Valentines weekend, room 1 was exceptionally beautiful with super comfy bed (and heated mattress, amazing!). Great hosts, very friendly and did anything to make our stay perfect. Would definitely recommend and will certainly be back again! 5*s

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorginaRoseA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Great B&B, only our second experience in one but we have been very lucky. The room was large and tastefully decorated with a large 4 poster bed. Rainfall shower with endless hot water. Breakfast from local produce was very tasty and left us full for most of the day.

Great price for what we got and the position of the B&B. Only thing we would change would be the weather!

Room Tip: Stayed in Room 6 and it was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adelaidetraveller86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my partner stayed at Stonegarth for 2 nights between Christmas and New Year. It was my Christmas present to my partner and I couldn't have chosen a better place to stay! We stayed in Room 4 and it was absolutely stunning. More like a top end hotel than a B&B! The bed was gorgeous and so comfortable. We even had a heated blanket which was a nice touch during winter. The bathroom was amazing - HUGE jacuzzi bath and separate walk-in shower with 2 sinks and a mirror that doubled as a tv! The breakfast was
superb and the hosts were so attentive and helpful without being imposing.

I honestly can't praise this B&B enough. We will definitely be back!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NatalieMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Another lovely stay at Stonegarth, this time for 3 nights over the New Year, and we also took my Dad for his first stay. Everything lovely as usual, we really like room 5 (although we missed the Jacuzzi tub!). As ever we appreciated the lovely food, warm comfortable rooms, and the little touches, like milk in the fridge, drip tray for wet weather gear (so needed!) toiletries and dressing gowns.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ticobaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed just the one night and were very lucky to get a room as we only booked on the day. The owners were exceptionaly friendly, welcoming and helpful both on the phone when we booked and when arrived, and off street parking was provided free of charge. We were showed to our room which was large, warm and very comfortable. Had everything we could need, including drinks in the mini fridge, hairdryer, plentiful tea and coffee, 2 small glasses of complimentary wine, guides to the local area and more besides. Room was clean, light and spacious. Wonderful four poster bed (great night sleep) with electric blanket and down duvet and pillows. Heating in the room was really good too, expecially considering it was January. Bathroom was great too, no bath in this room but we didn't need it, walk in shower was excellent.
Breakfast was fantastic, choice of continental or cooked. We both had cooked and couldn't fault it at all. I asked for mine without a couple of items and these were replaced with extra of some other things without me even asking. Overall an outstanding stay and superb value for money, will definitely be going back.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 5, however I am certain that all of the rooms will be equally excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.4 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.3 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#7 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Clarence House
Clarence House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonegarth Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonegarth Guest House

Property: Stonegarth Guest House
Address: 2 Eskin Street, Keswick CA12 4DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Stonegarth Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Probably the best B & B in Keswick. A house full of character set in peaceful surroundings yet just a three minute walk from the town centre. Luxury, spacious rooms all with kingsize beds. The contempory and chic Premier rooms have four posters ensuite with double spa baths, drench showers and bathroom television, just perfect for that romantic stay. Excellent food. Guaranteed car parking space for each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stonegarth Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonegarth Guest House Hotel Keswick
Stonegarth Guest House Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing