We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #8 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Southport
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer.”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Only stayed for one night due to other commitments but wish it had been longer. A very warm welcome from Mandy and Andy. A spotless bedroom and en-suite. a very comfy bed.The attention to detail at breakfast was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. From what Mandy told us about the house when they took it over they have worked miracles on it and it is a credit to all their hard work. Very comfortable lounge with plenty of information about the local area. The large car park at the rear of the premises was a wonderful addition. Minutes away from Keswick town centre. Will definitely return here when possible and would recommend this B&B. Best wishes to you both good luck for the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_owen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
384
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed for two nights at Linnett Hill and from start to finish everything was faultless.

The owners, Andy and Mandy, have transformed the B&B from an old fashioned and poorly maintained property into a modern, clean, spacious, superbly decorated and welcoming place to stay.

The hotel is situated within short walking distance of Keswick Town Centre and has an extensive car park to the rear (we left our car there after we'd checked out to spend the day in Keswick).

The rooms, bedding and en-suite bathroom were spotless and the beds very comfortable ensuring a great night's sleep after a hard days walking.

There was plently of choice at breakfast, from cereals and croissants to a very extensive full english with the option to choose something lighter if required. Plus unlimited toast and tea or coffee.

The guest lounge, with complementary tea, coffee and snacks, allowed our party of 6 to spend time together in the evening.

Andy and Mandy were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble.

I would really recommend Linnett Hill as a place to stay when visiting Keswick, we will certainly be visiting again - if there are any rooms available! ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeO879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We did not know where we were going to stay until we arrived in Keswick and started looking. I am so pleased we knocked on the door of this gorgeous little hotel and they had a vacancy. Linnett Hill has been refurbished to a really high standard, everything is perfect and the decoration with little extra's gives it that extra special feel. We met Mandy when we arrived and she was so very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double room which was fresh and bright, with crisp clean white and gingham bed sheets, modern en-suite with a beautiful double shower and lovely toiletries. Breakfast is lovely with lots of choice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, croissants, cereal and a really tasty full English. Definitely the best B&B I've ever stayed in and we will definitely be returning. Thanks for a warm welcome Mandy and Andy and Congratulations on your success!!! x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greaterchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

First stop on Coast to Coast cycle holiday. Warmly greeted by Andy & Mandy on arrival, for whom nothing was too much trouble. Our room was lovely, with a shower to die for after a long day in the saddle! Although we only stopped one night over a Bank Holiday weekend Andy & Mandy were more than happy to accommodate us.(Others had refused - which turned out extremely well for us as we found this gem) Our bikes were locked up securely overnight. So much choice at breakfast, something for everyone and delicious. Whilst we didn't need it this time, the large private car park at the rear is a welcome bonus with parking spaces at a premium in the area. We couldn't recommend Linnett Hill more highly and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueJ_DavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 May 2013

Linnett Hill is in a great location, has been refurbished to a very high standard, has on site parking unlike most around so passes all convenience and comfort tests. The real difference comes from Mandy and Andy who go the extra mile such as providing a safe spare room in the house to keep expensive road bikes. Breakfast was better than I have had in 5star hotels. We'll be back ......

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Linnett Hill has been refurbished to the highest standard, with modern features through out, as well as its more tradtional features, As a group we were staying to compete in a mountain running race and the group all had different needs, but Andy and Mandy had everything covered, our whole group enjoyed the stay and would be very pleased if we were to stay again for the next race in Keswick.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2013

If your planning a stay in Keswick, and you haven't already booked then look no further. This was my first stay in Keswick and it was a very enjoyable one. Linnett Hill is a lovely house, and Andy, and Mandy are a great couple and very welcoming, ensuring your stay is a good one. The location is great, and there is ample car parking at the rear. As stated in previous comments the pictures really don't give it justice, I shared a twin room with my son, which had a en-suit with walk in shower (all brand new), I really was impressed with this lovely house. On a different note, I did try and book elsewhere first, and was turned down numerous times, as I only wanted two days over the bank holiday, then I stumbled across this B&B and without seeing any reviews phoned up and booked, Mandy welcomed the two days without hesitation and I'm so glad she did. I will be recommending this B&B to all friends and family,

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
17.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing