We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Scores on the Skiddaws”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #8 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scores on the Skiddaws”
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Stayed here the night before the uphill home countries mountain race.
Was very well rested and well fed before the race, the great breakfast
ensured I had plenty of energy up to the top of skiddaw and then the
long journey home to London. Being a grubby student this wasn't the
sort of place I'd usually frequent (bushes and youth hostels more
often) but I'm genuinely considering revisiting with my girlfriend in
tow. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    660
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
383
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We only stayed one night, as it was a gift from a family member. Amanda and Andy are the perfect hosts. The rooms and guest areas have been refurbished to an exceptionally high standard with a modern but homely feel. We were instantly made to feel welcome and advice was offered on local places we could visit. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel at home instantly. After a glorious nights sleep we headed down for breakfast. The breakfast was second to none with both cold and hot options available. The full english was delicious and we were offered mountains of tea and toast! Thank you for looking after us! We will definitely be returning soon - with more family in tow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hay1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 June 2013

As a regular visitor to the Lakes this B & B is a great find. Newly refurbished with new owners it is clear that they love what they do. A warm and inviting welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are a very high standard and very modern. The shower is great - welcome after a long day on the hills. The choice at breakfast was second to none, there was something for everyone, hill walking or just strolling. We love Keswick and look out Andy and Mandy as we will definitely be back. I have recommended Linnett Hill to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I write this review having literally stayed in dozens of hotels in Keswick over recent years.

The Linnett Hotel is wonderful in every aspect, perfectly located within two minutes walk of the town centre. On arrival we were welcomed by the owners Andy and Mandy who are outstanding hosts and are two of the most friendliest of people you could ever wish to meet. They made my friends and I welcome from the very first minute and nothing was a burden to them. They are great people and were a joy to meet. The only sad aspect to our stay was the fact we only stayed for one night, no one wanted to come home! I can't recommend this hotel highly enough, I will be returning very soon. Thanks again Andy and Mandy for such a warm welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peter a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Only stayed for one night due to other commitments but wish it had been longer. A very warm welcome from Mandy and Andy. A spotless bedroom and en-suite. a very comfy bed.The attention to detail at breakfast was second to none, nothing was too much trouble. From what Mandy told us about the house when they took it over they have worked miracles on it and it is a credit to all their hard work. Very comfortable lounge with plenty of information about the local area. The large car park at the rear of the premises was a wonderful addition. Minutes away from Keswick town centre. Will definitely return here when possible and would recommend this B&B. Best wishes to you both good luck for the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robert_owen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We stayed for two nights at Linnett Hill and from start to finish everything was faultless.

The owners, Andy and Mandy, have transformed the B&B from an old fashioned and poorly maintained property into a modern, clean, spacious, superbly decorated and welcoming place to stay.

The hotel is situated within short walking distance of Keswick Town Centre and has an extensive car park to the rear (we left our car there after we'd checked out to spend the day in Keswick).

The rooms, bedding and en-suite bathroom were spotless and the beds very comfortable ensuring a great night's sleep after a hard days walking.

There was plently of choice at breakfast, from cereals and croissants to a very extensive full english with the option to choose something lighter if required. Plus unlimited toast and tea or coffee.

The guest lounge, with complementary tea, coffee and snacks, allowed our party of 6 to spend time together in the evening.

Andy and Mandy were very welcoming and couldn't have been more helpful and accommodating - nothing was too much trouble.

I would really recommend Linnett Hill as a place to stay when visiting Keswick, we will certainly be visiting again - if there are any rooms available! ;-)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeO879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Workington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We did not know where we were going to stay until we arrived in Keswick and started looking. I am so pleased we knocked on the door of this gorgeous little hotel and they had a vacancy. Linnett Hill has been refurbished to a really high standard, everything is perfect and the decoration with little extra's gives it that extra special feel. We met Mandy when we arrived and she was so very friendly and helpful. We stayed in a double room which was fresh and bright, with crisp clean white and gingham bed sheets, modern en-suite with a beautiful double shower and lovely toiletries. Breakfast is lovely with lots of choice, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, croissants, cereal and a really tasty full English. Definitely the best B&B I've ever stayed in and we will definitely be returning. Thanks for a warm welcome Mandy and Andy and Congratulations on your success!!! x

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greaterchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
17.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing