We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Brilliant!”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #7 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply Brilliant!”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

The best B & B I've stayed in by a country mile. By two country miles in fact. Andy and Mandy are welcoming and show a real interest in making your stay in Keswick as pleasant as possible. The Breakfast was superb. The rooms are clean and very comfortable. The car park is large and the location is perfect.
I really can't recommend it enough... Simply brilliant and we will be back again and again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    666
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
388
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Europe
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in mid-July at this fantastic, newly refurbished B&B - and it was outstanding, to say the least. We felt so welcomed when we arrived, the accommodation was beautiful, clean and of a good size. Not to mention the breakfast... ...fantastic! As if the above wasn't enough, the location of this B&B is outstanding - quite, but still in the middle of Keswick town next to restaurants, pubs and all the great outdoor stores. Needless to say, we can hardly wait to return!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DeltaDawn2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We stayed at Linnett for 3 nights over a glorious weekend. This B&B has been renovated to a very high standard with fresh looking bedrooms, relaxing, comfortable lounge and beautiful breakfast room. Speaking of breakfasts, nothing is too much trouble for Andy and Mandy who are constantly cheery and as others have said in their reviews, extremely welcoming.

Andy and Mandy go that extra mile to ensure that your stay is as comfortable as possible and are very knowledgeable as regards Keswick and surrounding areas. The extra touches are great - availability of maps and books, tea, coffee, water and biccies in your room, snacks in the lounge and fresh fruit when you want it.

The B&B is less than a minutes walk from the centre of Keswick and it's many cafes, bars, restaurants and shops. Again, Andy and Mandy can offer advice on good eateries and indeed some great walks.

We cannot rate Linnett Hill highly enough and it is truly deserving of it's top TripAdvisor ranking. We are delighted that we got to spend our wedding anniversary in such a lovely B&B in the beautiful town of Keswick. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RealFoodieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Owners very warm and most accommodating. Linens and towels, shower, first rate. Breakfast very comprehensive offerings. Full British, fresh fruit, croissants, and custom service. Great location close to centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 200ceo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We were on the LEJOG cycling tour and reached Linnet Hill after a downpour to be warmly welcomed by Mandy and even allowed to park our bikes inside the accommodation which is a real first for us and so convenient. The rooms were great as was the shower and the breakfast was to die for with all sorts of nice touches from the extensive menu board in the dining room., all cooked to order by Andy. Wi-Fi connection was impressive throughout the property and the central location makes it easy to access all the restaurants/banks/bars etc. Mandy advised us where to eat that evening, just across the road, which proved to be another success. Overall I cannot recommend this highly enough as they cannot do enough for you and it's like staying in one of your best friend's houses! This was by far the best accommodation that we stayed in during our two week tour of Britain. Will definitely visit if in the area again.

Room Tip: From our experience all the rooms are fantastic but some have the better view if that's what you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 3PeterG3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

Andy and Mandy make you feel welcome from the moment you walk through the door to the moment you leave. Fantastic rooms, great showers and an even better breakfast, these guys know how to make visitors feel like they are at a home from home. The B&B is also in an ideal position in the town, easy parking with shops next door to stock up for any walks. Have stayed here for two years running and I will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattStiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

4 of us were walking the Cumbria Way. We turned up a bit damp and muddy at about 6:00 pm. Mandy and Andy greeted us. They don't mind muddy boots and wet gear as there is a room just off the entrance hall where we were able to get out of our wet things and hang them up.

As we had two cars to park the large car park was very welcome.

The rooms were excellent, as the whole place has recently been gutted and refurbished. Free wi fi with a strong signal was available all over the hotel.

The hotel is situated within five minutes walk of the town center and local restaurants.

Over night our wet togs were removed to an airing room and then replaced dry before we arrived for breakfast.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and was freshly cooked to order.

During our stay both Mandy and Andy were very welcoming and great hosts.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
592 reviews
17.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
601 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
353 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#10 of 175 in Keswick
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing