We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic start to our holiday”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #7 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic start to our holiday”
Reviewed 20 August 2013

This must be one of the best B&B's we have ever stayed in! Mandy and Andy were wonderful hosts, so friendly and helpful. I just thought Mandy was like a breath of fresh air-so bright and bubbly and always with a warm, sincere smile. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel special and welcome. It was pouring with rain but Mandy waited for us at her door to welcome us and show us to our room. Our room was a good size, very clean and very comfortable. Breakfast was amazing and very well presented in every way.
This was the start of a 10 day trip through to the North West of Scotland and Linnett Hill was a hard act to follow. Thank you so much and we really do hope we can visit again in the future.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole5610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    674
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
85
393
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Loved the charming atmosphere created by friendly hosts Andy and Mandy. After a long day cycling from Garstang to Keswick [68 miles] this B&B was so welcoming. I cycled from lands End to JO"G and rated this the best o/n accommodation. having a room to store our bikes was wonderful, a great choice for breakfast, and excellent location all helped but it was the charming room and hosts that sealed it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Excellent is just not enough for this B&B, there has to be a new category of super, top class and one-off! Because all of those descriptions fit Andy and Mandy's establishment. There was absolutely nothing to fault during our stay and the accommodation. If only we could force all the other B&B owners in the country to go and stay for a night and learn from their stay. Although that's perhaps not such a good idea as there'd be no room for us anymore! A great place and well deserving of its spot as number 1 in Keswick and has to be in the UK's top 10.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nottmmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Linnett Hill deserves to be Number 1 in Keswick, it would be extremely hard to beat.

From the warm welcome on arrival from the lovely hosts Mandy & Andy, to the great breakfast (I especially loved Andy's scrambled eggs!), everything was perfect.

Linnett Hill is modern, clean & bright & with a friendly atmosphere. The rooms are well equipped with thoughtful touches & the location & on site parking couldn't be better.

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rollonfriday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GLASGOW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We have stayed here quite a few times but the present owners Andy & Mandy have surpassed themselves in every way. Spotless and tastefully decorated, with a wonderfully varied choice at breakfast.
The car park is a real bonus in Keswick

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank maggiemburns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Linnett Hill and loved everything about it. Our room was clean,modern and cosy and had everything you could need, plenty of furniture for clothes, a good quality hair dryer and modern TV with DVD player. We loved the decor throughout. The choice for breakfast was plentiful and we highly recommend the home cooked full English! Andy and Mandy made us feel very welcome and at home. The location was spot on and everything was on the doorstep - we were spoilt for choice of restaurants, bistros, cafes and shops and the beautiful lake is only 15 mins walk. There is also a beautiful park over the road.
We couldn't recommend Linnett Hill highly enough and are already planning our next stay!
Oliver & Anna

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

First the bad points to put people off so there will be space when we book to go back!
1. The B&B is on a main road - that should put people off who don't like traffic. We had a road facing room and it was actually surprisingly quiet as Keswick roads have very little traffic at night. The view over the park was lovely with the fells behind.
2. Parking in Keswick can be a nightmare. Linnett Hill has a good sized proper car park at the rear - so actually a very good point!
I have to give up - I really can't think of any negatives!!
Linnett Hill is a lovely newly refurbished B&B close to the centre of Keswick. My husband and I had a room that was spotlessly clean with a very comfortable bed and modern en suite shower room.
Andy and Mandy are the best B&B hosts we've met. They are so friendly and welcoming in a completely natural way. They really seem to enjoy making people feel at home and nothing is too much trouble for them.
The sign of a good B&B is the quality of its breakfasts. Linnett Hill doesn't disappoint here either. There are plenty of options and unlimited hot drinks and toast. Andy cooks a great full English and Mandy always has a smile while serving it. You couldn't wish for a better start to the day.
In terms of quality and value for money Linnett Hill deserves its high rating on Tripadvisor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ADHDkidsaregreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
608 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#1 of 173 in Keswick
363 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 173 in Keswick
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing