We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A stay to remember” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #10 of 177 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A stay to remember”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the end of September, along with my wife's sister and husband, who were over from the States. From the moment we walked through the door Mandy & Andy made us feel welcome. How they remember everyone's name is a mystery. The rooms are spotless, well finished and have everything you need for your stay. breakfast as good as I have had anywhere for both choice, quality and service. Together with their help on where to eat (together with restaurant menu's) and visit, it made our stay all the more enjoyable. Will definitely stay there again. If all B & B's were this good I wouldn't want to go abroad on holiday, even the weather was great. DB.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
81
380
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Linnett since Andy & Mandy took over and really enjoyed our stay. Same great welcome and attention to detail. New beds have been installed and were very comfortable, good facilities, the lounge area is a great improvement. The breakfast is still a great experience with a wide choice. Would recommend the Linnett as one of the best in Keswick, with the added bonus of a private car park.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mickg54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northants
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Arrived on bikes soaking wet. Mandy made us instantly welcome.
Bikes left in large reception area. Best breakfast ever, lovely rooms, Andy and especially Mandy are perfect hosts.Nothing to add, it is perfect.

Room Tip: All seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hugeblueuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I have been staying at the Linnett Hill, on and off, for about 20 years and I have seen numerous owners come and go. Andy and Mandy have taken on the Linnett Hill as a long-term project and they have spent a few quid making improvements. There is now a comfortable downstairs communal lounge and the dining room has been extended giving more space at breakfast time. The rooms have had an upgrade and they are much more comfortable, modern and airy than before. The upgrade of the en suite bathrooms appears to be the best "bang for your buck" improvement overall. You can always get a feel for a B&B by the quality of the management. Some B&B owners I've met are so chaotic and disorganised that occasionally I've felt like helping them with the breakfast! This is not the case with Andy and Mandy who enter the business from running tourist chalets overseas. They are well "squared away" and the establishment appears to run like a well-oiled machine. They are both smart, clean, tidy and actually make you feel like a guest. I have lost count of the B&B owners I have seen at breakfast who look like they have just dragged themselves out of their pit and smell of the first cigarette of the day. The Linnett Hill is spotlessly clean and the breakfast menu is good quality and cooked to order at breakfast time. The traditional "mingebag" Lake District custom of ordering your egg, or even your entire breakfast the night before, is over. I visited this time with my brother who is a good solid eater and my elderly, grumpy and difficult to please father who has mobility issues. All needs and expectations were met and often exceeded, although the kitchen staff (Andy) was put under fearsome pressure in fuelling my brother each day. However, some things never change. At around three in the morning, rooms at the front of Linnet Hill are treated to the shrieking of intoxicated Geordie females as they stagger past, balancing on unfeasible heels after a late evening's entertainment. Mind you, that's Keswick. Adds to the colour of the place, I reckon. Almost like Ibiza. We'll be back at the Linnett Hill soon. Make no mistake, it's never been as good as this. A Ince

Room Tip: Rooms at the front get noise from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhobi8ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for 2 nights in Mid September, Andy and Mandy were excellent hosts, greeting all their guests at breakfast by their names.
Our room was light, airy and spotless, the small details of a bottle of water in your room and the guests fridge in the hall way was very thoughtful.
The guest lounge was very comfortable to relax in with a glass of wine after a long day walking.
We would highly recommend Linnett Hill and will definitely be booking again.

Georgina and Anthony
Sunderland

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

I recently returned from a trip through the UK with my daughter and stayed in Keswick while in Cumbria. Linnett Hill is one of the loveliest b&bs I have ever stayed at. Our ensuite room was tastefully decorated, cheery, clean, and comfortable. The breakfast menu was expansive and the portions generous. What sets Linnett Hill apart from other b&bs are the genuinely warm and gracious hosts. Andy and Mandy were quite personable and greeted us by name each morning. Their attention to detail was impressive resulting in the comfort and enjoyment of their guests. The location suited us well as it was convenient to the town's center yet far enough removed to afford a peaceful stay. An added bonus was the lovely courtyard in the back of the inn and the off-street parking. A minor detractor for both of us was the firmness of the pillow. Should I be fortunate enough to visit Keswick in the future, I would definitely stay at Linnett Hill. Thank you Andy and Mandy for a lovely visit. Well done!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

We've just returned home from a fantastic two night stay at Linnett Hill. Andy and Mandy are wonderful hosts and nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are light and airy and have been fitted out to a very high standard. Our bed was absolutely huge and so very comfortable and at last a place that automatically gives you two pillows, so a big thumbs up from us. The ensuite facilities are modern, clean and just what you'd expect given the high standard of the house overall. There is an extensive breakfast menu, including croissants, cereal, fruit, full cooked brekkie and lighter options too. We both went for a bacon butty and I have to say it's the best I've had in a long time. Wonderful, also, that Andy and Mandy remember everyones names so you get that personal greeting every morning. The house is situated just on the edge of town so it only takes minutes to get in among the shops, pubs and restaurants and only 5 mins down to the lake edge. All in all a great experience and we'll definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffybundle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#8 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#12 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 177 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 177 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing