We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More toast? More tea? Bacon in your omelette?”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #7 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just back from our second stay at Linnett Hill and since our previous stay in May (soon after opening), Andy and Mandy have worked tirelessly to build their B&B into the best B&B in the Lake District.

All the other reviews speak for themselves. The modem, clean and all equipped rooms, the excellent food, the superb lounge (with complimentary snacks) and the spacious car park all go to make Linnett Hill the perfect place to stay. But it's the little touches that make this B&B extra special, nothing is too much trouble for the hosts and you are genuinely treated like an old friend not just another guest.

Thank you Andy and Mandy - looking forward to visiting for a third time.....keep up your excellent work!

More toast? :-)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MikeO879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (704)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 704 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Fantastic B&B. Just returned from weekend in Keswick and stayed at the Linnett Hill. Beautifully decorated B&B, modern, clean and in great location in the village. Andy and Mandy are perfect hosts and work very hard to ensure your stay is comfortable and welcoming. The facilities in Linnett Hill are great, with cereal, fruit, and cooked breakfasts. If you are staying in Keswick you have to stay here defo the number one B&B.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Redlottiedottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

Andy & Mandy provided a wonderfully warm reception when I arrived, and made me feel very welcome the whole stay. They were clearly born to run a guest house, they couldn't do enough to help and are genuinely great people. The house and rooms were spotlessly clean and well decorated, it's cosy and bright and was always warm. The room was fantastic, the one place I've been to that provides hot chocolate in the room (I don't drink tea or coffee) as well as the usual, and there was bottled water at no extra charge. The en-suit was modern with a great shower and heated towel rail. I went out very early one morning to take pictures, and as I wouldn't be back for breakfast food was left for me in a fridge downstairs to collect and take with me. As it was a cold morning in Autumn this was a very welcome treat! There was also ample safe private parking and the town centre is less than a minutes walk. Linnett Hill is a must if you need a place to stay in Keswick!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summer241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

All the previous reviews have said it all, its such a refreshing change to find somewhere clean and modern in a beautiful house with a great location, a big car park and most of all great hosts - Andy and Mandy. We were a party of 8 and Mandy remembered all our names. the lounge was great to have being 8 of us it was nice to meet in there and enjoy a few drinks before venturing out in Keswick. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susysed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Totally agree with previous reviews! A lovely place to stay, immaculate with every home comfort. Great breakfasts and very welcoming hosts in Mandy and Andy. Extra bonus of a large car park to rear of property which is a rarity in Keswick. Would totally recommend. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank babsy13022013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile


We ended up staying at Linnett Hill last minute due to a mix up with a booking elsewhere.

I searched Trip Advisor for somewhere else to stay and found Linnett Hill, the reviews spoke for themselves. We were so lucky to manage to get the last room for the weekend.

The house is gorgeous and finished to a high standard. It was great to have the use of the very nice lounge too and the fridge in the hallway was very useful.

The location is fantastic just round the corner from the town centre. Keswick has something for everyone, amazing scenery and the options for walking are outstanding.

If you like Thai food, you must try the Taste of Thailand. Amazing food!

The rooms were lovely and the breakfasts yummy with plenty of choice.

Mandy and Andy were great hosts, so friendly and welcoming. Keep up the good work guys, we can't wait to come back!

Thanks for a great stay.

Claire and John

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Boxergirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed four nights and wished it had been longer, cannot praise Andy and Mandy enough. The food was very good with plenty of choice, rooms tastefully decorated, clean and comfy. There were many little extras and we are certain that their high standards will remain consistent and they will not start cutting corners as a lot of places tend to do. They work very hard and have done a lot of research into Keswick and the surrounding areas - i e places to eat and walk. Look forward to staying with you again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aud_DTyneandWear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
661 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#4 of 189 in Keswick
398 reviews
0.1 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
373 reviews
0.7 mi away
Burnside B&B
Burnside B&B
#3 of 189 in Keswick
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £40 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing