We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous return to Keswick!”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #7 of 173 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“What a fabulous return to Keswick!”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

After far too many years away from Keswick, we finally got the chance recently for a 3-nights return. Based on other TA reviews, Linnett Hill stood out a country mile. No way can I swim against the tide of opinion here: the place is as close to perfect as I am ever likely to find. Other reviewers have already covered all of the points, that I can only echo: location, car parking available, accommodation and breakfasts, the warmth and friendliness of Andy and Mandy. Genuinely I can't think of anything that could be improved. Seasoned travellers will recognise that there are rare places that are special, that have "it". That's Linnett Hill.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tescotogs_hubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    681
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
86
397
42
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skipton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Eight of us stayed at Linnett Hill on a golfing holiday. This guest house is first class in every way, nothing was too much trouble for Mandy and Andy who looked after us with a great deal of care and attention. All the rooms are well decorated, spotlessly clean with quality fittings throughout.
Having its own private car park is a real bonus and appreciated by all visitors. The cooked breakfast was excellent with many choices available to meet a variety of needs whilst at the same time offering a wide selection of starters. The guest house is close to the centre of Keswick so walking to the town centre was a mere stroll. Our Group were all impressed by Linnett Hill and we will go back either as a group or individually. A little gem.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GolferSkipton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basildon
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Linnett Hill is deservedly the No:1 place to stay in Keswick. Mandy and Andy have spend a lot of time and effort in getting the place up to the current standard in such a short time and they have been rightly rewarded with their No:1 position and so many great reviews. Mandy greeted us on arrival and was bright, cheerful and very informative about the house, our room, the town and all other enquiries we made. the decor is superb, the bedroom was very homely and the bed extremely comfortable. The breakfast choices were excellent and nothing seemed to much trouble. We especially liked the facilities available in the lounge of the house and spend quite a bit of time in there when we returned from our days out, much more relaxing than having to go back up to our room. Plenty of reading material, tea, coffee, biscuits and crisps. Everything seems to have been thought of and we think the price too is very reasonable for the location. We would gladly and happily return to Linnett Hill again and use it as a base for exploring more of the Lake District.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dadsladds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Just got back from our first visit to the lake district and we can honestly say we have fallen in love with the place.Staying at Linnett Hill certainly had a massive impact on this.Everything from the warm welcome,the fantastic décor throughout and the attention to detail,to the central location which gave instant access to the town,lake,parks and a number of walks.This place offers everything you could wish for and more.Absolutley fantastic place to stay and we have already planned our return.Thanx to Mandy and Andy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akkirky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottish Borders
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This guest house has excellent parking and is situated in an ideal location within 5 minutes walking distance of the town. Unfortunately, our visit was slightly spoiled by someone in an adjacent room leaving the shower extractor fan on all night which was surprisingly loud when heard in our room. The remaining nights, however, were restful and the hospitality was excellent.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happyholidays8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Excellent decor and all rooms were spotless and its own private car park was a bonus as Keswick can be difficult to find a car parking spot at times. No expense spared on furnishings and fittings. Mandy and Andy were great hosts and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was lovely both mornings with a good choice and everything was fresh and good quality. Didn't have to book in our breakfast order the day before, we just wandered down and chose there and then.

Thanks for a great stay, for others thinking of booking, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Road traffic can be heard from the front rooms but by mid evening traffic is very light. We didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave_and_Kathryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

The hosts, Mandy and Andy gave us a very friendly and warm reception upon arrival. The accommodation was inviting and comfortable. The breakfasts were made to order! This is a great base to tour the area.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marlene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
624 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel
The Kings Arms Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
463 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 173 in Keswick
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing