We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a find!”
Review of Linnett Hill

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Keswick
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Linnett Hill
Ranked #8 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

An absolutely lovely B&B from the moment we arrived. Mandy and Andy are friendly and attentive, the little extras like fresh milk and unlimited tea and coffee, crisps, biscuits etc in the residents' lounge make all the difference. The rooms are spotless and comfortable and beautifully decorated. Breakfast was delicious. We will definitely be back to Linnett Hill, this is our Keswick base from now on.

Room Tip: Room 6 was lovely, no problems and plenty of storage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wendy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
84
384
41
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Our daughter bought us a 3 night stay here for our 30th Wedding Anniversary based on the fact that it was ranked number 1 on trip advisor and we can honestly say that it definitely earns that position.
From the minute we arrived until the minute we left we felt totally at home, Andy and Mandy were the perfect hosts and the breakfast they delivered was second to none and the choice was amazing.
Rooms were spotless, bed comfy and the décor fresh and modern. The tea tray in the room was replenished everyday with the essentials and a nice touch, bottled spring water.(fresh milk was available too in a fridge downstairs and could also be used to put your own wine and beer in). In the lounge was a tea tray for anyone to use and a basket of crisps to help yourself to after a nice day out and before eating out in the evening.
The location is ideal as literally a stones throw from the edge of Keswick town and great private parking round the back.
We had such a lovely time that we have re booked for next year, so if you want to stay in Keswick then this is the place to go. You wont be disappointed ! .

Room Tip: Room number 2 is very quiet, round the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank staimee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I found Mandy and Andy and their beautiful B&B, Linnett Hill, to be utterly charming! Many welcomed us with warmth and even remembered all our names - makes such a difference :) My family and I loved Keswick and Linnett Hill was the perfect base to explore it. The rooms are clean, fresh and modern (but not too modern) and the bathrooms to an exceptionally high spec! I was rather hot being in the upper floor room but they had even thought of that and put a large fan in the wardrobe for us to use (clearly not the first to say that hey guys ;)) and my Mum found the little room at the front of the property a little noisy as she has to sleep with the window open - but of course you can't control the people walking around at night or the traffic. The breakfast was superb, extremely high quality and LOTS OF IT! We were stuffed full and ready for a full day's exploring :) I just wish we could have stayed longer... but rest assured I will be back!!! On a whole, if you're looking for a luxurious place to stay whilst in Keswick, then look no further. Linnett Hill is the place to stay.

Thanks guys!
Justine x

Room Tip: The small single room at the front was a little noisy with the window open and the beautiful wooden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hollyjust8967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We had a fab weekend in Keswick with daughter and partner in July 20014.
It was pleasure to meet Andy and Mandy and stay at there beautiful B&B.
They have renovated the property to a EXELLENT!!!! standard all rooms are beautiful!! clean with white fluffy towels rest assured your stay will be home from home
My daughter stayed in the enormous attic bedroom recently finished you would have to see it to believe the finish of the room (no extra charge for this room) .
Nice tea and coffee tray with biscuits (bottled water also provided) ask yourself where have you stayed where tea and coffee facilities are provided in the sitting room with a free snacks
Breakfast was delicious we felt relaxed and chilled during our stay.
Although not walkers ourselves we were impressed with the knowledge this couple obviously have of the area and they took time to give information to guests (and provided BUTTIES )
Nothing is too much trouble for this couple.
Plenty of good car parking provided in the yard

THIS GUEST HOUSE IS AS GOOD AS IT CAN GET!!!! what are you waiting for where can you book with total confidence enyoy LINNETT HILL and all it has to offer.!!!!
A big thank you from Angela,Michael,Justine,and IAN XXX

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent but if you like a lot of extra space choose the attic bedroomwhich runs from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hull england
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

After staying in Keswick several times over the past few years this was our first time at Linnet Hill which we chose after reviewing on tripadvisor.
Andy and Mandy are a lovely couple who really make you feel welcome and are great hosts. The facilities and rooms are tastefully done with lots of great little touches, including a fridge to chill your own beers or wine!!
The breakfast menu and range is excellent with everything you could possibly want and is served in a lovely bright, well laid out dining room.
Andy and Mandy have obviously put a lot of time, hard work and effort into this and it really shows.
All in all, a great stay in a superb, relaxed environment.

Room Tip: Book ANY room while you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank milalsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basildon
Level Contributor
188 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We've visited Keswick yearly for the last 10 years and found many pleasant B&B places to stay but having read the reviews for Linnet Hill we decided to give it a go!

First impressions - great spacious car park; superb warm reception and a gentle enquiry to ascertain if we knew anything about the area and if we needed advice.

Our room (No 6) was clean with a good bed and an excellent shower so we were happy.

At breakfast you are spoiled for choice with high quality local produce well cooked and nothing is too much trouble.

We had a great three days here and will be booking our stay for next summer soon. This place really does live up to the ratings, excellent!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Just had our second stay at this excellent B&B and I have to say it just gets better. We have been coming to Keswick for many years andy have stayed here on a least eight occasions over the years with previous owners, but Andy and Mandy have certainly seen the potential and have used the flair to make such a lovely environment it is a joy to be there. This year they have added some patio tables a d lovely planted flower pots. it was lovely to relax with a cold beer after a day mooching about the Lakes. A great bonus with the Linnett Hill is the secure car park. All the reviews are true to their word, breakfasts and spot on, rooms are very simply decorated and spotless, hosts are friendly and go out of their way to make you welcome. Menus for local restaurants are on hand for you to look through and decide if it is for you, they will book you a table if you wish, excellent.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
17.8 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.2 mi away
The Keswick Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Thornleigh Guest House
Thornleigh Guest House
#3 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
0.2 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#2 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Linnett Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Linnett Hill

Property: Linnett Hill
Address: 4 Penrith Road, Keswick CA12 4HF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Linnett Hill is a beautifully appointed Bed and Breakfast offering contemporary accommodation in the stunning North Lakeland town of Keswick. It is an excellent base for exploring the Lake District National Park. The property dates from the Regency period, having been built in 1812, and has been comprehensively refurbished following the purchase by the current owners, Andy and Mandy. Linnett Hill boasts modern facilities with a contemporary finish whilst retaining much of its original charm and character. Linnett Hill offers eight fully en-suite guest rooms with clean contemporary decor, flat screen TV's and WIFI throughout. Linnett Hill provides secure, gated, private parking for all guests along with internal cycle storage and drying facilities. There is a relaxing guest lounge, wood burning stoves and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities, guide books, maps of the local area and journals. We look forward to welcoming you to Linnett Hill, Keswick. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Linnett Hill Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing