We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It does not get any better than this!”
Review of Edwardene Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Edwardene Hotel
Ranked #25 of 189 Keswick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A warm welcome from the owners, soft linens, spotlessly clean room and a delicious cooked breakfast (for vegetarians as well). Quiet street only a short walk to the centre of Keswick.

Room Tip: Phone and discuss your needs with the owners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeP039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed one night as solo cyclist .Was a friendly reception and clean tidy comfy room. Breakfast was the best on my trip and overall highly recommended.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
Thank MacWilliam46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

I have stayed in a number of Keswick B&Bs, but without question this is the one i try to book first. I have stayed here on a number of occasions, with my wife and also on men only walking trips and the service is truly outstanding. Marie and Russell are friendly, pleasant and welcoming hosts. Nothing seems to be too much trouble, and the breakfast is very special. Try the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon, and none of your packeted bread toast here!
The whole facility is spotlessly clean, and tastefully decorated. You won't be disappointed - this really is a cut above the norm.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharpedgehatter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have stayed here many times in the past but not recently, until a 'spur of the moment' desire to be in the lakes for the weekend. What a surprise we got when we arrived at the Edwardene.
Marie and Russel the owners greeted us on arrival, offering us maps of the town and area, showed us to our room carrying luggage and recommending several restaurants for an evening meal.
All the rooms have been refurbished to a very high standard. Very clean with every convenience imaginable. There's a residents lounge where alcohol can br purchased if required. Our room (Heather)was beautiful with full size bath. Everything was lovely and clean, new carpets and decor.
But the 'piece de resistance' was the breakfast! Everything was piping hot and just excellent, cannot be faulted. bottomless tea and coffee, toast, cereal and cumberland sausage breakfast. Brilliant. They even filled our flask for us ready for our days travelling.
we have already recommended this to some friends and they have booked too. Can't wait to go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank judith4141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I can't recommed this hotel highly enough. A warm and friendly welcome; lovely rooms and a comfortable lounge to relax in. You won't get a better breakfast anywhere! It kept us going all day walking. A good location for exploring the lakes and only 10 mins walk to Keswick centre. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Book superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StandlakeRobbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

Myself & 6 to 9 friends have been coming to Edwardene for the last 15 years & always enjoyed uor stay but since Marie & Russel took over our stay is even more of something to look forward to.The hotel is spotlesly clean.The bedrooms are superb.Breakfasts are plentyful with top quality ingrediants & plenty of varied choices.All requests , no matter how small, are met with cheerful efficiency,The position of hotel is great for popping out for a evening meal. We look forward to many more years of being spoilt at Edwardene.

Room Tip: A room at the rear gives superb views of lakeland
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank micklesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Have stopped at the Edwardene twice a year for the last four years, Nothing is to much trouble for Russel and Marie, Superb choice for Breakfast , clean and quiet room excellent hot powerful shower. Handy for Keswick, whitch has good bus links and everything else you could need. Derwent water is only a short walk away. Very handy for lots of the fells.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKI82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.7 mi away
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
Woodside Bed & Breakfast
#24 of 189 in Keswick
144 reviews
1.1 mi away
Skiddaw Croft Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Parkfield Guest House
Parkfield Guest House
#28 of 189 in Keswick
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#12 of 189 in Keswick
564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Honister House
Honister House
#17 of 189 in Keswick
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avondale Guest House
Avondale Guest House
#2 of 189 in Keswick
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edwardene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edwardene Hotel

Address: 26 Southey Street, Keswick CA12 4EF, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range: £102 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Edwardene Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Edwardene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edwardene Hotel Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing