We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Danish...”
Review of Rooms36

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rooms36
Ranked #99 of 175 Keswick B&B and Inns
Olstykke, Denmark
1 review
“A little bit of Danish...”
Reviewed 7 August 2012

My family (1 Brit and 3 Danes) were looking for a family friendly B&B in the Lake District and chanced our luck on Google from our home in Denmark. Luckily we found Rooms36 and were not disappointed. A fantastic little B&B run by Andy and Charlotte (also a Dane). The rooms are probably some of the best I have encountered (including those of larger more expensive hotels). Spotlessly clean, good facilities and an amazing bathroom. The room was more than large enough to accommodate my family of four. The location is ideal a couple of minutes from the town centre and a few minutes to the lake. Andy also cooks a mean Full English Breakfast to order! Charlotte also gave us great personal recommendations on places to eat and activities for our children (aged 18mths and 3 and a half).
Would highly recommend and if we ever get chance to come back to the Lakes this will be our B&B of choice.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kranty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P, Owner at Rooms36, responded to this review, 12 August 2012
Fantastic, hope to see you again soon.

Andy & Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    12
    1
    0
    4
See reviews for
54
37
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lanarkshire scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Stayed at Rooms36 for 2 nights, 14th July and had a most enjoyable time. The inside of the property is very modern and minimalistic, compared to the traditional stone exterior. We were met by Andy at the front door, who showed us into room 2. The room itself was a good size with a solid wood kingsize bed, cabinets, wardrobe, chest of drawers and 1 leather tub chair. There was also a single divan bed with no headboard in the corner. The shower room was decorated in black and white tiles, with locally produced toiletries, fluffy white towels and heated towel rail. Also in the room was a Tassimo tea, coffee and hot chocolate maker, I pod station/ radio and hairdryer. The entire property was spotlessly clean. After freshening up, we went for a walk around the town. Keswick is a pretty market town, with plenty of shops, restaurants and pubs. Rooms36 is perfectly located, 2 minutes walk from centre of town, and 5 minutes from Derwentwater Lake. Breakfast was cooked to order, with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals and juice. We ate out at The George Hotel and also the Royal Bengal indian restaurant, both of which we enjoyed. Also, the weather was dry and pleasant during our visit, which made all the difference. I have only given 4 stars, because the family who were in room 3 made a lot of noise, children running up and downstairs, and banging room door. I have 3 children myself, and I know how it is, but some people unfortunately don't consider other people. That said, Andy and Charlotte made us welcome and for that, a BIG thank you to them. If you like modern clean lines, then this property is a must for you. I would definitely recommend this ' something different ' B&B.

Room Tip: 2nd floor or above, if you're okay with stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank midgetgem2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P, Manager at Rooms36, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review us.

Andy & Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at this fabulous B&B. Located minutes walk from the lakeside, it is also minutes away from the town centre via the very pretty, but very expensive new underpass!!
The big bedroom (Room 2) and breakfast area are modern, clean and stylishly finished. Super comfy bed and double shower and great extra touches like the local produced toiletries provided, ipod speakers, hand made truffles and very good tea and coffee maker.
Breakfast was fabulous with load of fresh fruit available and then a non greasy fry.
The owners have the right balance of chatting when you wanted to, but not invading your space. If you want to know some good places to eat and drink then just ask Andy or Charlotte. Parking restrictions apply from 10am-4pm but Andy very helpfully gave us his space on check out day.
Due to a rainy weekend we probably did not see the lake and area at its best and so will be returning in Autumn, and definitely will be back to this accommodation - very high standard has been set.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lil_lady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Cook Bottle washer at Rooms36, responded to this review, 2 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again in the future when you can enjoy better weather!
Kind regards

Andy & Charlotte Peters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xx
Level Contributor
95 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

This is now the only place I stay when in Keswick. Peaceful and quiet, with modern, clean, bright and airy rooms this is a gem which is exceptionally good value.

I can fully recommend this B&B for the very comfortable beds, lashings of hot water in the large shower, lovely breakfast and welcoming hosts, Andy and Charlotte.

For an evening meal the newly opened Magnolia restaurant is a 2 minute stroll and is very good indeed!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MichaelDonkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Bottle washer sweep bill payer! at Rooms36, responded to this review, 23 June 2012
Thank you for your review, Charlotte & Andy are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to see you again very soon Sir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, Lancs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just had a 3 night break over the Jubilee weekend. We visit at least once annually and have never been disappointed. Behind the traditional facade is a modern, contemporary interior which always looks newly decorated. The quality of bedroom fittings and decor is excellent. Andy and Charlotte are perfect hosts. A great attribute of Rooms 36 is a perfect location, quietly situated between the town centre and the lake, just a couple of hundred yards walk to access the town centre.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buryplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P, Cook Bottle wash payer of bills! at Rooms36, responded to this review, 16 June 2012
Thank you so much for your review Peter, I think the first time you guys stayed here with me was in 1994-95 when we were a very run down old style flowery b&b and at that time if I remember correctly we were £11.00 per night B&B! How things have changed! Charlotte & I look forward to your visit every year and hope to join you on a walk again in 2013.
Andy & Charlotte
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Just returned from short break in Keswick and stayed at the perfect b&b,great host in Andy Charlotte and Kate,rooms were spotless very well designed(already got my partner thinking)cheers!!Location perfect mins walk from town without the noise and minutes from the beautiful derwent water,host couldn't be more helpful on places to see,will certainly be going again in the near future.Thanks Gary Vicki Freddie

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryJames1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P, General Manager at Rooms36, responded to this review, 11 June 2012
Thanks Gary, hope to see you again very soon. Andy Charlotte & Kate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We are a group of 11 walkers and we stay regularly at Rooms 36. It is a great place to stay and the quality of the accommodation and food is top class. Andy and Charlotte Peters are very hospitable proprietors and they will make your stay one to remember. The hotel is very good value and it is a greta base for walking in the beautiful Lake District. We would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterggtod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andy P, Director of Sales at Rooms36, responded to this review, 11 September 2012
Charlotte and I have worked hard to make Rooms36 a nice place to stay, it’s very rewarding for us to know that our guests enjoy our home, we hope to improve further in comfort and design in the coming years, also to improve our abilities in areas so we may provide better service. Thank you so very much for your custom and your comments without you our guests none of this would be possible. Andy & Charlotte (+Kate now 6)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
0.1 mi away
The Royal Oak at Keswick
The Royal Oak at Keswick
#63 of 175 in Keswick
594 reviews
0.3 mi away
Stonegarth Guest House
Stonegarth Guest House
#13 of 175 in Keswick
531 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brundholme Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
West View Guest House
West View Guest House
#64 of 175 in Keswick
128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howe Keld
Howe Keld
#20 of 175 in Keswick
91 reviews
0.0 mi away
LakeSide House
LakeSide House
#11 of 175 in Keswick
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooms36? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooms36

Property: Rooms36
Address: 36 Lake Road, Keswick CA12 5DQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 175 B&Bs / Inns in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Rooms36 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our bedrooms are equipped with en-suite facilities; all our beds are king size, except single beds. Robertson iPod docking radio alarms, Tassimo Tea & Coffee making facilities, 22" flat screen TVs with Freeview, at this time we have two private parking spaces and plenty of parking from 4pm to 10am (Easter to November) unrestricted the rest of the year, we have two very large public car parks less than 5 minutes walk away (£5 for 4 hours and £7 for 11 hours parking) Theatre by the lake less than 3 minutes walk away and Keswick town centre less than 5 minutes flat walk away. Andy & Charlotte will give 110% to make your stay with us the very best it can be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rooms36 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooms36 Keswick, Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing