We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic wedding - a weekend we will always remember !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic wedding - a weekend we will always remember !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Took family for weekend as we had booked the wedding ceremony at hotel. Staff were wonderful- food amazing-room decor very up to date colour schemes and fantastic home comforts. Would definitely recommend as nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: Most rooms have wonderful views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcy00725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    468
    106
    39
    11
See reviews for
203
946
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We found this hotel very friendly and helpful.
It has an old but characterful atmosphere tucked away from the mainstream but minutes away from the town centre. The old railway station which once brought hotel guests right to the hotel has even been converted into extra accomodation.The old railway line now a linear path made a pleasant walk with a chance to link up with a valley walk alongside the river Greta
The meals were good and well presented.
Our room was quite adequate

Room Tip: Some rooms while at the back give better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carozza219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2011

Pros
Set in fine grounds
Clean and tidy
Staff very friendly and helpful

Minor cons
No lounge TV
No rail to hang items when checking in

Room Tip: Station rooms best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel. This time we returned with 2 friends. Our rooms were on the third floor 312 & 313. Both were large and comfortable with views over the fells. We booked DBB as the 3 course evening meals are lovely and good value. The grounds are beautiful and the hotel is only a short walk into the centre of Keswick. It does look a bit old fashioned inside but this is in keeping with the age and style of the hotel. All of the staff were pleasant and helpful. We have booked to return in July.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cleckheaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2011

My second visit and very enjoyable. The staff are without exception quite brilliant. The food is of a high standard, very varied and so proves difficult to make a choice when one could easily choose 4 of the main courses! The hotel does need a cosmetic refreshment and some of the carpets are reaching their sell-by date but this does not detract from the overall experience. The hotel has real character unlike the more modern places which are very sterile. I am looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamesbroughton1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2011

In such a lovely location. We often stay for a couple of days and always enjoy our visits. You couldn't ask for anything more of the self-service breakfast and the a la carte evening meal is good; we have always enjoyed whatever we have ordered.

Good service, given with a smile, and a wonderful ambience.

Will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BetsyBoothroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2011

Enjoyed our third visit to this excellent hotel set in extensive grounds close to Fitz Park and 5 minutes walk from Keswick town centre. Hotel staff are friendly, polite & efficient and rooms are clean & comfortable. Breakfasts are buffet style with plenty of choice in both the hot and cold buffets. The 3 course evening meals offer a varied menu and are well presented though I'd personally appreciate a few more green vegetables with the main course. The hotel is well placed for climbing Skiddaw and undertaking many other wonderful walks without having to move the car from the large car park. Only disappointment is that dogs are not allowed in the hotel so our own small dog slept in the car after long days out walking.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BabsLaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing