We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a real gem...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still a real gem...”
Reviewed 30 August 2011

This was our 4th visit and I am pleased to say we had a lovely break. The food and the staff cannot be faulted and it was great to see that the hotel is finally receiving some TLC in the form of redecoration. The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere and staff are very welcoming; the service is great. There was lots of choice at the breakfast buffet and the cooked option definitely sets you up for a day on the fells! In the evening, the lounge is very relaxing (we were the youngest ones there by a good many years, which may account for the relaxed ambience! Great for a quiet drink and for reading a good book!).

The hotel is in a super location providing easy access to the town - the second-hand bookshop is a real treasure trove and the little museum on the hill into town (free entry!) is well worth a visit, the curator is very kean and welcoming! Do pop by!

My only complaint would be with our room...we stayed in the old station and whilst the room was large and very quiet, the bathroom had no ventilation as the extractor fan was broken, this meant that the room was a bit whiffy and damp on arrival. Also there was a huge crack in the wall where somebody had pulled the handrail rather too hard!!! We were told that the room was awaiting decoration so hopefully it won't stay like that for long.

I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    930
    480
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
209
970
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ENGLAND
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

The staff were exceedingly helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Our friends that live locally joined us for an evening meal. They were most impressed with the service, choice of food, friendliness of staff. This all led to us having a really special relaxed evening. Our room was very large, comfortable and had a garden view. We came last year for 3 nights, 4 nights this year and hopefully we shall return next year. The Choice card was very helpful as we had gained a £10 voucher plus a free packed lunch.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHRISANDCAROLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heathfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We stayed here for five nights and were very happy. Breakfast was excellent and dinners were nicely presented and portions were good - important after a full day of walking.

We had a junior suite over looking the garden. There was plenty of room but the bathroom was fairly small but clean and functional. The staff were really friendly and professional and made is feel very welcome.

The hotel is in a great location - easy to walk into the town and there are some walkig routes you can reach without driving anywhere. We hope to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SuziPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

Good rooms and food - I visit regularly
There are very few single rooms, so need to book well in advance at peak periods
This hotel does not accept newspaper vouchers

Room Tip: Book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We've stayed here lots of times and always found the service, food and rooms to be excellent. The hotel is in an excellent location if you don't want to be right in the centre of Keswick but want a quiet corner with lovely views and an enormous, beautifully kept garden where you can sit out and enjoy the fresh air. The hotel was the original railway hotel on the line (closed down many years ago!) between Penrith and Cockermouth. Today it is a fantastic walking and cycling facility where you can wander along a well engineered (suitable for pushchairs, wheelchairs and bicycles!), verdant path, crossing the river at several points with stunning views of the fells above. The hotel staff are more than helpful, whatever the situation. The rooms are well appointed and, certainly the ones we have been in the last few times, both budget price or superior rooms, all appear to have been recently refurbished to a high standard. All very clean and co-ordinated, there is a welcome tray with tea/coffee making facilities in the room and the bathrooms are just what you need for a wash 'n brush up after a day on the hills!
Food always has been and still definitely is a HUGE reason for staying here. It's not Michelin star, of course (thank goodness!) but it is SUPERB! The menus are well thought out, cooked to perfection and beautifully presented. Wines are reasonably priced for a hotel eg £18 for a very pleasant Australian . Buffet breakfast with a big choice of cereals, fruits, breads and cooked items will really set you up for another Wainwright! I recommend this hotel to lots of our friends. It's great value, whether you choose a standard room or you up grade to a junior suite (wow! great views from here and very spacious rooms!). We'll certainly be back before the end of the year!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Former station hotel in beautiful grounds near the centre of town. Good value for money especially if you opt for inclusive meals. Room large and comfortable. Staff helpful and friendly. Food excellent. House wine Ok and cheap, other wines a bit expensive. Bonuses included putting, croquet and a 10 by 5 billiard table. No traffic noise. Altogether well worth staying at.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank harryboyWestKirby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The food is exceptional in quality and quality is consistant over all those tears. so also service by almost everyone, professional, friendly and with smile. The atsmosphere is most Convivial.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAMESH G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
610 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
613 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing