We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent for walking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent for walking”
Reviewed 7 November 2011

We held a club walking weekend based on this hotel. The service was excellent and the whole group comment on the standard of the food and the varied menu. We will certainly use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Garden rooms are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fencerjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    935
    483
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
210
977
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

We stayed at the hotel on a one night DB&B. On arrival at the hotel we were rather disappointed as we found the hotel "very tired". The room we stayed in was not cleaned to a high standard as there were cobwebs and the bathroom had mould on the ceiling. The food was well presented and was the highlight of the stay. Ideal location for keswick town centre

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THE_ARAB-MANCHESTER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton
2 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2011

I have just spent a fabulous weekend at the keswick Hotel with my family.. The hotel is quite old with lots of character but has a nice warm feel to it. Really love the fact that part of the hotel is the original railway station . Staff are extremely welcoming and friendly and gave excellent service. The rooms are very comfortable, clean and spacious with plenty of hot water. (Bear in mind we had 7 rooms between us and all were of this standard). I had been told by friends before hand how good the food was but even so, it still exceeded my expectations. Absolutely first class food!

Brilliant location, just a short stroll into the town yet still feeling secluded and quiet and breath taking views of Catbells, Latrigg and Skiddaw from rooms.

Overall excellent value and will definitely will be going back again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Wonderfull hotel for a relaxing holiday. Set in great countryside with great views from most bedrooms and only a pleasant 5 minute walk into Keswick.Have stayed here before and all the bedrooms seem huge.
Restaurant service excellant despite being very busy, food great with plenty of choice on most nights. All staff very pleasant from cleaners to waiters they just carn't do enough for you.Will return again !!

Room Tip: try to book a garden room or a station room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancs
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Great hotel, good location with nice views and excellent food! Would definitely recommend

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex11184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate Uk
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

We have stayed many times over the years in the Keswick Country House Hotel which has had a succession of owners. The hotel has always offered a very good quality of service from a dedicated and highly motivated staff. In recent years it has begun to show its age both inside and outside the property. However, since our last visit there are obvious signs of internal refurbishment which, if carried on, will hopefully return it to former glories.
Our room was well equipped and very comfortable and clean. It was nice to see a TV service offering Freeview and radio services in an area of poor reception.
The meals were well presented and of good quality, though I did have one sweet that was frozen solid but it was quickly replaced with an alternative choice.
Like most hotels, the wine list was just that little bit overpriced for what was on offer and it was noticeable how few people were drinking wine. (A local guest beer in the bar was sadly missed!)
We enjoyed our annual short break here and will return again.

Room Tip: Have a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2011

If you love an atmosphere of faded grandeur and elegance, good food and excellent service from friendly staff then this is the place for you. Another good stay at a great price - this is cheaper than staying at home. Only gripe is the duvets - wish they still had blankets.

Room Tip: the more you pay the better the room but the cheapest rooms are perfectly fine and the bathrooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
718 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
625 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing