We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, Classic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Wonderful, Classic Hotel”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have twice stayed here, in the Garden Room which has some of the best views I have ever had and the coach house. Both visits were excellent! Fantastic food and wonderful sense of history - a real classic hotel. We have also bought weekend breaks here as gifts to family members. Situated just a few minutes walk from Keswick centre but as it is set in its own grounds feels like you are in the middle of the countryside. Great base for exploring the Lake District or for a night away.

Room Tip: Garden Room has amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    474
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
206
959
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cheshire UK
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Just spent a couple of nights as a group of 12 walkers and although weather was inclement the hotel and staff were very welcoming and the hotel was lovely and warm all the time.. Excellent food and rooms were clean. Location excellent for Keswick and for walking.

Room Tip: Probably best to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheshirecheshire13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel was fantastic great location, few minutes walk into Keswick town centre. Food was out of this world compliments to the chefs, it was the nicest food ever had in a hotel. Only one problem bar area not that great no atmosphere but when you have had a busy day then a lovely meal it's not the end of the world. Would recommend this hotel to couples. Can't wait to go back.Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dkj0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Tried to get in one of the all-inclusive weekends at the Viking in Blackpool,but all booked up and noticed that this hotel was part of the same chain.No all-inclusive but got bed,breakfast and evening meal instead.The standard,double rooms were comfortable and the food was superb,plenty of choice at an excellent standard.Glad Blackpool was full.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GJAP14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Stayed for a weekend with 7 year old daughter. Some of the hotel looked old but personally this all added to the great character of the hotel. The service, staff and food were amazing, though only 2 choices for children but chef offered to cook alternative to please our daughter. We stayed in one of the station rooms which was quite big with comfy chairs though the window rattled the first night with the wind but nothing a beer mat could" t fix. Location was excellent parked up on Friday and din" t have to use the car again. The railway walk is a great walk for kids.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for three nights in February. The room was spacious, the food excellent and the service very good. We would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth190728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stockport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We booked a four poster room for our night at the Keswick County House Hotel and it was truely worth paying the extra supplement. The room was absolutely lovely with huge windows and beautiful views over the fells beyond. The extra touches such as the little boxes of chocolates were lovely. We ate in the restaurant in the evening and found the staff friendly and the atmosphere good. We ordered a bottle of bubbly with our meal and were asked if we were celebrating. When we explained that we had initially been booked to stay for my husbands birthday but had been forced to cancel due to our baby being born 9 weeks prematurely and that we had rebooked to celebrate the fact that our baby was going to be coming home from hospital the next week the warm and friendly staff member insisted we have the bottle on the house. What a thoughtful gesture which really did make our night. With the arrival of our food the night just got better and i would recommend that anyone staying here eat at the hotel restaurant as not to miss out. The next morning service was again great at breakfast and the buffet style food was high quality and self service so you can eat as much as you like. There is absolutely no doubt we will return to this hotel and it will be a break that will never be forgotten thanks to the wonderful surroundings and the lovely team of staff. Thankyou Keswick Country House!

Room Tip: Book a four poster room- ours was lovely and well worth the extra supplement!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Keswick Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Dear emma c

Thank you for the compliments. I will certainly pass all your comments about our friendly staff and the excellent food to those concerned.

Congratulations on the birth of you baby!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Regards


Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing