We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Just spent a fabulous few days away again in the Lakes. Stayed at the Keswick Country House Hotel. From arrival to departure we couldn't have been treated any more courtiously. Check in was a breeze, and we arrived considerably earlier than required. Stayed in a Junior Suite which ok could do with a slight upgrade, but it was clean, well appointed and comfortable. We did the web rate DBB package, and glad we did, because the restaraunt is unbelievable. 3 course evening meal superb, new menu each night with Chefs Specials. Breakfast again superb with wide variety to suit all tastes. Service is second to none from all the staff, who ensure your table is waited on with promptness and effeciency. You certainly won't leave that restaraunt anything other than heartily satisfied.Room service was excellent and the complimentory choclates and daily newspaper rounded off what was a perfect few days. Thank you everyone at the Keswick Country House Hotel. (Well worth tipping the staff !! )

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,640)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,327 - 1,333 of 1,640 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2012

Jusy got home from our first ever visit to the lake district, we were fortuate enough to win this weekend in a Maire Curie prize draw.
Have to say what a great time we had, the room was wonderful, everything we could ever need and the view from the bedroom window ... truly breathtaking.
A special mention to Miss Temple on reception her helpfulness was second to none as was her smile whenever we passed, i can only commend all the staff for there thoughtfulness and manners absolutly nothing was to much bother at all ... well done to the staff :)
and joy of joys there was even a teapot in the room :)

as for the food .. i have to say from my point of view it was ok slightly dissapointing but plenty of it and you couldnt possibly leave your table hungry, and if you were lucky enough to have the lovely India looking after you then your drinks and needs would have been well taken care of.

Would we stay again .... hell yes

Room Tip: if you can get room 204 the view is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zen-1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

excellent accommadation lovely helpful staff gorgeous food

Room Tip: my hubby and i were ok with our standard room but would like to try in the future upgrade room it is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank susan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

very good food & excerlent staff ,& great value for money.We would recermend to any one.

Room Tip: we have stayed severel times and always been happy with rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stay at this hotel quite often. It is our hotel of choice (no pun intended) in the lake district. Good food, good location. Some refurbishment required in places but I believe this is in progress.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Just back from yet another excellent stay at the Keswick Hotel. This time we stayed in a twin room which was spacious, light and comfortable - tiny bathroom but perfectly adequate. We have now stayed in all grades of room at this hotel including a suite and, while you get what you pay for, I have never had cause for complaint. I appreciate that extra pillows are now left in the rooms should you require them. The food and service in the restaurant was, once again, which given that the hotel was full to bursting is a huge compliment to the kitchen and restauarant staff.
I was shocked to read the review re security and the fact that the reviewer put the blame onto the hotel for the carelessness of the individuals who lost their purses. Hotels are always a target for sneak thieves, although we have never had any problems whatsoever at this hotel, and common sense must prevail which it obviously didn't in this case by leaving handbags unattended in an empty meeting room.
I don't think, however, that Keswick Hotel regulars will be deterred from coming back, we all love it too much!

Room Tip: Given the location of this hotel all of the rooms have good views and all are good value. If you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travellingbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Close enough to Keswick to walk in. Would recommend BB&D as food excellent and good value package. Suites large with seating area, lovely soft comfy bed and pillows. Plenty of room to meet if larger group with bar, seating areas, quiet room etc. Staff very pleasant. Some areas of hotel need refurbishment, some areas 'tired' but this adds to the quirkiness and character.

Room Tip: Rooms up on 3rd floor overlooking putting green have great views and are large suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol-and-Pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,204 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
783 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#11 of 17 in Keswick
801 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £90 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing