We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford-upon-Avon
Level Contributor
40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

Having stayed many times at its sister hotel in Patterdale, we decided to try the Keswick hotel for a two night, half board break. It is a large, grand building, in a previous life the station hotel dating from the 1860s. It is a difficult place to keep looking in tip top condition but, though there are a few rough edges here and there, it is genuinely well-maintained. Its public rooms are particularly impressive, with a delightful lounge and separate bar and a magnificent high ceilinged dining room. Our bedroom, over looking the town and surrounding fells, was modern and comfortable though the compact bathroom is in definite need of refurbishment. The food is outstanding - dinner offered a large and interesting choice for all three courses and everything was well-prepared, tasty and beautifully presented. Breakfast, despite being busy, was well-organised and provided a good selection of hot and cold food. Staff in the restaurant and in the hotel generally are friendly and efficient and the hotel seems to run like clockwork. The large grounds are very pleasant and well tended and the situation of the hotel, on the edge of the built up area but within ten minutes' easy walking distance of the town centre makes it a very good choice for a break in the northern Lake District.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank midlandmusician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    893
    462
    106
    39
    12
See reviews for
201
933
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012

I have stayed here about 10 times now
myself and family tend to drive down to keswick for the odd weekend when we get the chance to,
it is good value for money situated in its own grounds and good distance to walk into town centre
i would say decor could be updated a bit but that's it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lucyandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2012

This was our 6th visit to this marvellous hotel. Our group of 10 stayed for 3 nights in the "Station Rooms". These are all very spacious, light & airy. The mid-week DB&B is such good value and it's because of the excellent value offered that this hotel is usually fully booked. As nearly all reports repeat, the staff are great, they are attentive and polite especially India in the restaurant and Claire on reception.
We have always found the same consistently excellent standard of food and service in the restaurant, and the hotel generally.
I'm just concerned that if we shout about this place too much it will become so popular we'll never get booked in again !!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wilkoimp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Have visited the hotel eleven times over the past few years and never had a single complaint about anything. Staff always attentive service excellent, food exceptional.Looking forward to our next visit in september.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worsley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Excellent Hotel in a beautiful part of Britain, very comfortable rooms, very friendly and helpful staff, excellent food a ten minute walk into Keswick town centre and a further ten minutes to lake Derwentwater could not ask for more loved it.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianWorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

We arrived to find we had been upgraded to a 4 poster bedroom,what a lovely room and the views were just superb weren't we lucky. Each time we have stayed at The Keswick we have had the same polite cheerful staff and the food too is very good.

Room Tip: South facing rooms have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janets s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

We loved the old world charm of this Hotel, but not only that the old-fashioned service we received. The Staff were always around and so very pleasant and helpful. The Hotel was full, so feel, many others support our view. We stayed on a DBB basis and found the food to be superb. That buffet breakfast, too, was brilliant. The staff had everything under control and managed the evening meals extremely well indeed despite having so many people to cater for. We never had to wait for the next course or service and never felt hurried. I believe this was because our meals times were staggered, so that people were served competently. The Hotel was only a short distance from the shopping centre, so most convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 121wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 661 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing