We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great lakeland break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great lakeland break”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

A hotel with loads of character.Not far to walk into town or to the Lake. Rooms are comfortable, clean and roomy. The food excellent with plenty of choice, although the vegetables are much to be desired, personally I don't like puréed vegetables, I like to see what veg I'm eating. This is our second visit this year; and, we shall definitely be going again. All Choice Hotels are first class.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be alright
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank thindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    921
    474
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
206
959
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

My wife and I with close friends have stayed at this great hotel for short breaks approx twice per year for the past 17 years. We have just returned home and I have to say that once again the hotel staff, restaurant food and service were quite excellent. This is a lovely place to stay, very clean comfortable rooms and overall superb value for money. Thank you all of the staff at the Keswick Country House Hotel. We look forward to returning again later in the year.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 726Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Another great stay in this charming hotel. Rooms claen and comfortable. The full Cumbrian brekfast sets you up for the day. Good menu choice for evening meal with genorous portions Staff very friendly. Very competitive rates We shall retun again!

Room Tip: upgrade rooms worth the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This hotel has bags of character and a great loaction, five minute walk from Keswick town centre. Built in the 1860's as a railway hotel, it still retains many of its original features. Our room was comfortable and clean and had all the necessary amenities. The staff were helpful and friendly. The restaurant/food was excellent, both dinner and breakfast. We enjoyed a short family break and the hotel proved to be a great choice.
Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel have great views out over Keswick and the lakeland fells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
Level Contributor
69 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

A lovely old hotel set in spacious grounds. It was the original station hotel. Although some parts of the hotel could do with refurbishing the staff and general atmosphere are great. This was our fourth visit and we would go back again.

The bedrooms are spacious and comfortable and contain all you need for a good nights rest.
Free wifi is available in reception.

The dining room is beautiful and the food is part of the main reason why may return here. An additional £8 per night gets you a delicious 3 course meal. One evening we did not like the options for the entire and the chef offered to cook us a steak instead.

It ais an easy 10 minute walk into the centre of Keswick.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank margshel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Just by saying that we've been back over 25 times should say it all.
A hotel with character, spotlessly clean, friendly staff and excellent food.
Unbeatable value at DBB rate.
A lovely peaceful hotel, why am I telling you all this? it's hard enough to get in as it is.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 941MisterT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2012

This was our 3rd short stay here in 2012 at a hotel that I first stayed in over 30 years ago when it was a THF and have stayed in many times since. It has had its ups and downs but under the current owners it has proved a very satisfactory place to stop and unwind. I know what to expect and that the food and comfort in pleasant surroundings are very acceptable. The facilities are family orientated and my grandson enjoys them now as his mother did as a child with the garden and its putting lawn (and rabbits) plus the closeness of parks and play area and leisure pool extremely welcoming whilst the hotel itself is big enough to spread oneself yet small enough not to be impersonal.Keswick itself is of course a jewel with its shops, lake, theatre and cinema so that even in bad weather there is still a great deal to occupy one and enjoy. Overall a two or three night DBB break in this hotel will relax and clear the tensions of the most stressed out visitor.

Room Tip: None of the rooms in the main building are far from the lift but there are a series of small flights...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mikedbarrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
590 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
687 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
733 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing