We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manmob”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Manmob”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Just returned from another of our many visits to this hotel. Every one a winner! This time spent a couple of days in our favourite room, No. 108, which has loads of room and superb views on two sides. Food excellent as usual with lots of choice and good presentation. Nice to see the continuing refurbishment of rooms and general decoration. Staff very friendly and helpful with management always available for advice and attention. Nothing is too much trouble. We look forward to our next visit in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ourusual6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,541 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    915
    470
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
205
950
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Had a lovely 2 night stay in this hotel. Very convenient for going into the town or starting some of the walks. Room and bathroom very clean and the breakfast was really good with a good selection to chose from. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank UsYinsfromBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Just returned from another fab stay at the Keswick! Food and staff excellent as always . Only comment is that smoking guests stood in entrance as it was raining and it was difficult to enter/exit. How about a smoking gazebo or some other facility so that they can smoke, stay dry and keep the entrance clear? Have not come across this before here, but as there was a wedding there were probably more people around in the day than usual!

Room Tip: We stayed in old station. Loved it, and kids loved the pool table!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stivesaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Had a lovely 2 night stay in November 2011, returned in July for our 2nd visit and am looking forward to next time! Our room was really comfortable and spacious, the restaurant again offered a great choice of high quality food and the service was very good. Very welcoming hotel to return to after a day fell walking.

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley-Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The hotel is ideally placed in Keswick and is the perfect location for a leisurely stay or for as a base for walking.

We have just returned from our 5th visit to The Keswick and as ever the welcome was warm and friendly and the room very clean and extremely comfortable - although we do always upgrade to a room overlooking the garden.

The food in the restaurant is superb - breakfast is buffet style but with sufficient choice to suits all needs and dinner in the evening is delicious and with plenty of variety and a different menu each evening. The quality of food is fantastic and better than many first class restaurants .

The Keswick is a real treasure and we are already looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PGNic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

2nd visit to this hotel and as good at the 1st time. We stayed in a junior suite and the room was very spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful. Best of all was the food - delicious and a varied menu. Thoroughly worth a stay if visiting Keswick. Will we be back again!

Room Tip: Junior suite very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pnender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Had great weekend here for a friends 50th birthday. The rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were friendly. The food in the evening was very good. My husband asked for his steak to be rare, it wasn't. But they came back with a fresh one 5 minutes later and it was perfect. The breakfast in the mornings were self service and everything appeared to be freshly cooked. We were told before hand there was a wedding on Saturday and that the hotel would be very busy, you could hardly tell, the music finished at midnight and there was no noise to speak of. The gardens were lovely and well kept. This hotel would suit all age groups. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara2104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing