We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wenclif Love this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wenclif Love this hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was the 3rd time here, I am wheat & gluton intolerant and they cater for my needs in food they are very understanding. The staff are wonderful so pleasant and helpful, the lift was out of order but was on 1st floor so not to bad. The decor looked a bit sad this time and the room this time was not the best I have had it had a very bad sloping floor and could have done with a brighter paint job on it, so come on its a prestigious hotel so dont let it go down. The food was wounderful as usual but may be some times just some plain brocoli, greenbeans or cabbage to come with the food would be nice. I will visit again, I like choice hotels we have stayed at the Patterdale twice and at all three blackpool hotels.

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger and are of brighter decor and having two windows are lighter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    907
    468
    106
    39
    11
See reviews for
203
946
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (533)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Driffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2012

This was our first time at the Keswick hotel and we will most definitely be going again , we were unable to get in at the companys other hotel the Patterdale which we have been going to for over ten years and which is suberb ,so we were very disappointed but that did not last long once we had entered the beautiul entance hall , although some of the decor is a little dated and the views over the fells were not as good that is where the negatives end . The staff were friendly ,the dining room beautiful and the food was just perfect . The close proximatey to Keswick for an evening stroll although so full after the meal is brilliant. we will be going again but after a visit to Patterdale .

Room Tip: Our room on the first floor was in the corner with some views of the fells
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sheila w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

We have no hesitation about recommending this Hotel to everybody it is absolutely BRILLIANT. The food is fresh, the menu changed often, locally sourced, beautifully presented and served by friendly, efficient staff always with a smile and a chat. The location is superb.set in its own nicely kept garden and grounds and easy walking distance to the heart of Keswick, with a very good bus service.nearby. The Hotel has plenty of parking with additional parking on a private road, leading up to the Hotel..Upgrading of room facilities is ongoing but those complete offer clean, comfortable accommodation with option of upgrading to superior rooms which provide lovely views over the grounds and nearby mountain ranges.
We have stayed at the Keswick Hotel so many times over the past sixteen years and never tire of it, always enjoying our stay as it is such good value for money. Already booked our next break.

Room Tip: Our personal favourites overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MPPL_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
weybridge
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

First impressions of the Keswick Country House Hotel were not too promising. The decor is positively funereal and in serious need of modernisation. My room (318) was on the 3rd. floor which, as the lift was out of action and wi-fi is only available on the ground floor, proved to be a total pain. In fairness, the absence of a lift was pointed out at the time of booking. Room 318 also has a floor with a pronounced slope which was very weird!...
However, the hotel does have a certain charm. The food is excellent and the half-board option well worth the extra and all the staff were very courteous. It is set in attractive gardens (with rabbits- see attached photo!...) slightly outside the centre of Keswick - and none the worse for that. Many of the residents appeared to be regulars, coming back year after year and I sort of understand why. The Hotel Inspector (Alex Polizzi) would not be impressed with the VERY tired decor, but if this is not a problem for you I'd certainly recommend the Keswick Country House Hotel. I'd stay again and if this site allowed a rating of 3.5 blobs this would be how I would rate the KCHH.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 318 if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank geoffpuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smith's Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2012

We stayed at the Keswick Country Hotel during our Activities Abroad tour. We were there a total of 7 nights and my husband, daughter and I stayed in Junior Suite 304. The room had a lovely view over the gardens, plenty of closet, drawer space, two sofas on a small raised sitting area and a large bathroom (although the tub was quite high and I can imagine it being difficult for a senior to get in and out of). If you are a light sleeper though you may be bothered by creaking floorboards and rattling windows (whenever there was a breeze). We found the queen bed leaned slighly and not nearly firm enough. The camp bed provided for our daughter barely supported her, the springs being worn and stretched badly.Fortunately she is a sound sleeper and was able to sleep through. Also we couldn't stop the shower from causing trickles that formed pools on the bathroom floor no matter how tight we closed the shower curtain (but must say the shower was the best pressure that we have had on our U.K. trip).
The service was stellar, as was the food most nights except when we had the sirloin steak. We weren't given steak knifes and we certainly needed them as we had to saw the meat several times to actually cut a piece off. My husband was also diappointed that when they served the prime rib he could not get it medium rare, it was only cooked one way and that was well done.
Other than that the food was very good, presented beautifully and tasty. Although we would have liked, having eaten there seven nights ina row, a little more choice such as ethnic foods, Indian, Mexican or Chinese. There was a Kids Menu but is was limited to two choices each night (on one night we asked to get a Kids Menu item from a different night but were told we had to pick from that nights menu) so if your little one is fussy you may have a hard time.
Generally the service was very good from dining room, to front desk to chambermaids.
The hotel is in walking distance to the town and even closer to a great playground, field and Keswick Laisure Centre and pool and parking was convenient.
I woulkd recommend the hotel for its location, food and service but would hope that the issues we had in our room may not be the same in all rooms.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank buccij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

Arrived to a hotel in a stunning setting, short walk from keswick. No lift to room on the second floor, room was spacious with a good view but the positives end there, tired decor, no robes, bath too short, no dvd player and minimal tv channels. We stayed two nights and on the second day although the bed was made chocolates and water were not replenished. This hotel is three star and the facilities reflect this its a shame that the price does not. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cbobble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Keswick Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 27 August 2012
Dear cbobble

I am sorry to read that your recent stay at the Keswick did not meet with your expectations.

There is currently a problem with the lift at the Keswick which will not unfortunately be rectified until a new lift arrives in 5-6 weeks time. Our reservations team have endeavoured to contact every guest due to arrive at the hotel to forewarn of the situation and give chance for cancellation or amendment. We have been unable to contact all guests and left messages where possible. We are sorry that we did not manage tocontact yourselves.

The 'welcome tray' in your bedroom on arrival is not meant to be replenished but rather a welcome gift.

The hotel is undergoing a refurbishment programme and many bedrooms and public areas are of an excellent standard. We receive many complimentary reviews and letters and a large percentage of our customers return again and again.

We hope that you will give us another chance and that we may be of service to you once again in the future.

With kind regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2012

My wife and two friends have just returned from a midweek break at this hotel We paid £49 per person per night for dinner, bed and breakfast. Try and get that price anywhere else at a 3 star hotel in the lakes, or even in a pub in the Lakes. I am a retired hotelier so my expectations are high and this hotel ticked all of the boxes and met all of my expectations.
The staff in this hotel are the best I have encountered in any hotel I have stayed in, and I stay in many. Everyone we came across from the Manageress to the chambermaid were friendly, helpful and looked happy to be at work. The food is to die for, some of the best I have eaten and all served to you with a smile and absolute efficiency. Breakfast is buffet style and as much as you can eat, a great way to start the day. I notice previous moans on here regarding the lift being out of order and these comments are correct. We as other mention on here were informed prior to our stay that this was the case so I wonder why people feel it necessary to complain about it after being informed.
A huge thankyou for a truly memorable stay, we will certainly be back

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 578 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 717 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing