We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 22 September 2012

My wife and I stayed for 2 nights at this hotel and found it to be very good in all aspects
The food in particular was excellent our evening meals were varied in choice,freshly cooked and superb in taste and presentation
Equally breakfasts were of a high quality, buffet style and plenty of choice
The room we had was very spacious, clean and nice touches like chocolates, bottled water and biscuits that were complimentary
Staff were first class and very helpful and free wi fi on ground floor
In summery a great hotel we will defiantly return to the next time we visit Keswick again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steve991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    485
    111
    39
    10
See reviews for
211
980
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon tyne
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We have stayed at the Keswick Country House Hotel four times now. I really like this hotel as it is very well situated in Keswick. It is easy to find and park, with lovely grounds to sit in too. The free wi-fi in the lobby and bar is a bonus.

The evening meal is what really sets this place apart from the rest. There is a great choice, it is well presented and delicious. The staff are friendly and the hotel is always very clean and tidy. It is an old Victorian building, and it would cost a fortune to renovate, so i think allowances have to be made for this. If your expecting an upto date, fashionable, swanky place, then this isn't for you. But if you want fabulous food, comfortable rooms, plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and a clean room then this is the place. We love the fact you get plenty of tea, coffee,hot chocolate and biscuits in your room each day, and very nice hand and bodywash gel.

I'm looking forward to our next visit there.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GILL_NEWC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton England
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

A classic Victorian railway hotel, recently restored although the lift looks to be 'out of service' for a while.
It has pleasant grounds and is a few minutes walk from the town centre - good market on Thursdays.
We had a spacious and tastfully furnished room.
The high ceilinged dining room is well staffed and has an enticing menu; portion sizes enough to satisfy the hungriest walker!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BozeatTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times over many years. The hotel is the old station hotel, so don`t expect straight rooms! The staff are always polite & helpful and the food is amazing.
At the moment the lift is out of order but the staff tlephoned us & asked if this was a problem and moved us to a lower floor.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 113 this time which is fine but you will get early morning noises from delivery lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magsym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

For a quiet weekend, this hotel provides you with picturesque serenity. Located at the foot of Latrigg, it has a panoramic view of the surrounding mountains and only a short walk into the town centre. The rooms are spacious and clean and the staff are ever courteous and friendly. Plenty of choice to eat at breakfast and for the food connoisseurs, the evening meal has a selection of the highest quality. It has something for everyone and would be hard to beat anywhere else

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roversblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

This hotel should have much going for it. The room was spacious, clean and in good decorative order. The breakfast was good and there was plenty of it to prepare us for a day on the fells.

The first evening the dinner seemed light-weight; hardly sufficient to revitalise us after walking over Stake Pass from Great Langdale. The combination of tastes in the meals was extraordinary, e.g. thin strips of bacon in the bed of mashed potatoes on which rested the grilled smoked mackerel, the dusting of chilli flakes on the cooked root vegetables that accompanied the roast duck. It was interesting to try but it has convinced me that it is not an experience I wish to repeat.

The packed lunch was beautifully designed to consume at a picnic table rather than as “to go” food on the fells. There was no flexibility, so that we could have more appropriate food for the fells.

Life in the hotel appeared to be a collection of procedures that were followed. This swamped flexibility, spontaneity, warmth and a human touch. I only observed spontaneity once; when I asked a foreign waitress the meaning of a word on the menu. Though she could explain it in her first language she was unable to do so in English without first consulting with a colleague and this made her more relaxed and friendly. She appeared to be herself rather than merely following a procedure.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MerlinsonofOdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Having stayed a few times at the hotel,we jumped at the Deal Monster offer which was advertised in our local paper. I failed to request a twin room when booking and was disappointed to be told none was available when I contacted Reservations a couple of days later. We were telephoned and informed that the lift was out of order a few days before our weekend break. On arrival we were allocated a room on the third floor, which was a bit of a trek with our bags but, to be fair, we were offered help, which we declined. Our room was very tired, very small, and almost in the attic with a small window overlooking the car park. Very disappointing. The Deal Monster package said we would be offered an upgraded room but this was not available. However, the food and the staff almost made up for this. The evening meal is superb, not a huge choice but perfectly cooked and beautifully presented. Breakfast is a buffet and has everything you could possibly want. We spent some time in the lounge next to the bar, which is very comfortable. The drinks are, predictably, very expensive but on checking out, my bar bill was twice as much as I expected. When I asked the Receptionist to check this, I had been charged for drinks I had not signed for and they were removed from my bill. I have to say I could find no fault with any of the hotel staff who are friendly and totally professional - they are a credit to the hotel. When we return to the hotel, and we most certainly will return, I will book a twin room direct and hopefully end up with the perfect break.

Room Tip: First or second floor - avoid the third like the plague !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eeny44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing