We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better and Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just returned from two four day visits to the Keswick Hotel. On both occasions our rooms had just been refurbished (whole hotel being done before xmas 2012). We were very comfortable. The evening meals just get better and better. The menu choice is very good and the standard of the meals exceptionally high. Breakfasts are superb buffet style and the staff constantly restock.
One of the best aspects ofthis hotel is its cheerful and most helpful TEAM of staff. They all doing everything they can to ensure your stay is a great success and enjoyable.
On our second visit we took our 18month and 7yr old grandsons and the staff were wonderful with them too.
We visit this hotel at least 2 /3 times a year for both walking based and recreational holidays.
It is an old building but the recent decor improvements have helped bring new life to this grand building.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank davenottinghamGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,593)
There are newer reviews for The Keswick Country House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,113 - 1,119 of 1,593 reviews

Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have just returned from a very enjoyable 4 day break at the Keswick Hotel ,we stayed in the Station in a superb tall ceiling'd room with the biggest en-suite ever.Newly refurbished room was clean and very comfortable and very convenient for the car park with direct access via key card.
The snooker table was also on our doorstep which pleased my young son.

We have stayed here on two or three occasions previously with up to three of our sons ,and always enjoyed the atmosphere of the place ,the good food ,the friendly staff.On this occasion we were joined by my sister in law and husband for a couple of nights ,and they travelled down from Glasgow.I was anxious that they would like the Hotel as much as we do ,and that they got a nice room.

Fortunately they stayed in a room with a separate lounge area with panoramic views towards Fitz Park and the mountains beyond ,it was stunning.We were all more than satisfied with the hotel and hope to stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gaz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We enjoyed our four night stay in this well run hotel. The decor is a little dated in places but the staff are all friendly and helpful and the room was comfortable, warm and spacious. Dinner in the restaurant was surprisingly good, and breakfast was plentiful, with the buffet being regularly checked and re-stocked. One of the best things about the Keswick is the location - nice and quiet with lovely gardens, but only a 5 minute walk from bustling Keswick town centre and ten minutes walk to the lovely shores of Derwentwater. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gilliantomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We found the Hotel a little shabby and in need of a major refurb to be honest, however the Staff and the Food are superb. We stayed in a Deluxe Room, which was lovely but the bathroom was in need of a refit with hot water a bit hit and miss. It's a great location with lovely views, the staff are all very attentive with the breakfast leaving you with no desire for lunch, before a suptuious dinner is served every night with loads of choice. Smartent the Hotel up a bit and you have a real winner.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2012

In the middle of refurbishment. The lift was out of order during our stay. Reception phoned us prior to our visit to ask if this would cause a problem.
The staff were very helpful. Lovely stay in a fabulous old building. Highly recommended.
Very good value.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alwaysanotherholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I never write a review or tend to really read them as peoples expectations are very different. I do however feel the need to comment on my recent stay with 6 friends at this establishment. We paid a bargain price of £42.00 per person which included dinner, bed and breakfast. To say the food was some of the best I have ever had is an understatement and I would happily pay the Dinner, bed and breakfast price rate just to dine here. The hotel granted is jaded in some areas but they are currently refurbishing bedrooms and corridors. Our rooms were spotlessly clean, had every facility you could wish for and had the most beautiful views you could imagine. Every employee in this hotel is without exception friendly and obviously happy in their work. We spoke to the lady manager who was absolutely delightful, its obvious her happy team are because of her, infact we did not realise she was the manager until day 2 of our stay as she was so hands on. She served us in the bar, sat us in the restaurant, and then brought us more towels to our room. She then took the time out to show us an assortment of different bedroom types. We ordered a packed lunch again at a bargain price and absolutely delicious and this was waiting for us outside our bedroom door on the day it was required as we came down for breakfast, how about that for service! The gardens are
beautiful, the colours this time of year absolutely amazing, they must have a brilliant gardener.
Car parking is more than adequate and the hotel is only minutes away from the town so you can park up and just walk everywhere you want. We had an amazing time and will certainly be back. As mentioned I dont read or write reviews normally but I do hope fellow travellers read this, This hotel is certainly value for money. I shopped around before booking here and the competition was much more expensive, and I guarantee the competition will not deliver what the Keswick Hotel did. We will back and thanks for a fabulous stay. I almost forgot, walk down the railway line, it is delightful.

Room Tip: The rooms over the gardens are amazing although we did not stay in one just looked at one
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Just had a really wonderful 3 day break at the Keswick, included was a packed lunch and a bottle of wine. Our room was on the top floor but it had been redorated and it was lovely. Wonderful value for money and to top it all we had 4 days without a drop of rain.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
734 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 17 in Keswick
645 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
760 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £119 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing