We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful break - we will be back!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
NE England
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A wonderful break - we will be back!”
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My friend and I stayed 2 nights Nov 14th/15th and had a thoroughly great time.
Our room was warm and comfortable - extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast and dinner were
excellent - staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is so convenient for exploring Keswick and the surrounding area. Well done and thankyou to all staff.

Room Tip: Both times we have stayed at the hotel we have had a room at the back on the first floor. We heard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    916
    470
    107
    39
    10
See reviews for
205
951
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have stayed many times at the Keswick. It is a grand old Victorian Hotel with large rooms, lovely dining room and a beautiful garden.

It is a great base for exploring the fells in the northern and central Lakes. Skiddaw is only a few miles away and Latrigg overlooks the hotel.

The food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Just returned from a long weekend anniversary break to the lovely town of Keswick in
the Lake districtwhere we stayed at the Keswick country house hotel.

Our first visit there so we were very surprised and happy with both the accommodation and the town. The room in the hotel was large, about 9m x 5m., which is spacious in any terms

A former station building converted into these en-suite rooms with access via what would have been a platform originally, giving an air of privacy away from the reception and dining areas.
The room had two king sized beds and t.v. and tea making facilities plus the usual extras
to be found in most three star hotels these days.
The food often makes a short break and this hotel is exceptioally good value for money
with the buffet breakfasts wanting for nothing be it cooked or otherwise, first class!
The dinner menu is varied and beautifully cooked and presented no matter what you choose
with a nice wine list although a little pricey in bits, but we often find this in hotels now.
The rooms are all clean and tidy but there are areas where some tlc is required with
chipped furniture and wallpaper etc, but this may be getting rectified as we believe that there is a rolling programme of refurbishment currently ongoing by the present management.

However this is being a bit picky as the overall ambience of the hotel is very wellcoming,
charming and worth going back to. Staff could not have been more helpful so we hope to return
again in the near future perhaps with the friends who recommended the place to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normanandevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Ayton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2012

We have stayed many times at the Keswick Country House Hotel ,the staff are friendly & helpful ,the service is good, & the consistent quality & presentation of delicious food will not disappoint. We look forward to returning .....yet again !

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Having already been very impressed at the value for money and experience at the Patterdale Hotel in the same group, I was interested to see how a different hotel performed. I was not disappointed. We stayed 3 nights Sunday- Wednesday in early November on the usual half board package in a superior room for £235 for 2.
The room was very large and comfortable, warm and quiet with a double and a single bed, TV tea, coffee, chocolate and biscuits.The bathroom was roomy and well provisioned.
As part of the deal we had a free bottle of house wine- there was a selection of 5 on the menu and all were good quality. We also had a free packed lunch for 2 on one day which was excellent.
The setting of the hotel was good with extensive gardens and extensive views from the bedroom of the fells. It was only a short walk to the town centre. Plenty of parking on site.
Breakfast was as good as I have received anywhere. The evening meal was 3 courese with plenty of choice and again was excellent. It wasn't cordon bleu but good wholesome tasty food with interesting touches.
Where Choice Hotels have got it right, and I don't know how they do it, is the staff. Reception staff were pleasant and efficient as were the bar staff. The bedroom was always clean and tidy. The restaurant staff were all extremely efficient and pleasant.I think the young waiter from the Czech Republic desreves a special mention.THe service was much better than virtually all , much more expensive hotels I have visited n the Lake District and elsewhere.
Yes, the hotel is a little tired in places but this is a typical old Victorian hotel and it has no pretensions to be the Dorchester.What it is is 5* service for 2* prices and superb value for money.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steveh188
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford west midlands
Level Contributor
139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We stayed at the Keswick Hotel for the first time in October and I have to say that this must be one of the best hotels in the lakes. The rooms are excellent, the staff are that friendly and you can tell that they all get on with one another, the meals are excellent, almost silver service. The dining room layout is excellent and the staff take you to your table and pull out the chairs for you, they treat you like VIP's. they brush the table after the main course. My Wife and I were very impressed so much so that we booked up again and had another lovely stay in early November. The Hotel is in a lovely setting next to the old Keswick railway station and is now incorporated as part of the hotel. I cannot praise this hotel enough.

Mr & Mrs Whitehouse, retired couple from the West Midlands

Room Tip: We stayed in room 102. This is a lovely room plenty of space. It has 2 double leather suites with fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Keswick Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2012
Dear Mr and Mrs Whitehouse

Thank you so much taking the time to review the Keswick Hotel and for your many compliments.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your bedroom and the meals provided and have passed on your kind words about our friendly, efficient staff.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Sally Carpenito
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2012

We have just spent a weekend break at the Keswick house hotel. This is our second visit, we stayed there earlier this year as a break on our way to catch the ferry to Ireland in Stanraer and we were not disappointed. The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable . The food is excellent and the staff in dining room pleasant and helpful.We would definitely stay again and would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fiddler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
5.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 584 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing