We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keswick Country House Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Keswick Country House Hotel”
Reviewed 23 November 2012

Just had a 3 day break in the Lake District. It rained a lot but the Hotel was excellent. We had a Superior Room which was worth the little extra. The food and staff were up to their usual high standard

Room Tip: Pay a little extra and upgrade your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,568 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    929
    480
    110
    39
    10
See reviews for
209
969
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (546)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2012

this hotel is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed at. it's convenient for some of the finest independent shopping, great views, lovely grounds and a great base for touring the lake district.the food and serviceis outstanding and we're already planning our 3rd trip back.

Room Tip: we stay in the "the old station" wing as the rooms are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

This was our third visit to the hotel and it just gets better every time! We paid extra to have a mini suite - it was huge, with 2 x 2-seater settees, a coffee table and a huge television in the lounge area. Everything about our stay was fantastic (except the weather!) - the staff were all most helpful and the meals in the evening were fantastic. We would never stay anywhere else in Keswick.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a lot more luxury and view over the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank broadward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel in autumn and really enjoyed it. The rooms are large so there is plenty of space for hiking gear and muddy shoes. The food is great and there are plenty of superb locations within easy reach.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Berbera H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NE England
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

My friend and I stayed 2 nights Nov 14th/15th and had a thoroughly great time.
Our room was warm and comfortable - extremely comfortable beds. Breakfast and dinner were
excellent - staff were really friendly and helpful. The hotel is so convenient for exploring Keswick and the surrounding area. Well done and thankyou to all staff.

Room Tip: Both times we have stayed at the hotel we have had a room at the back on the first floor. We heard t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArthurNEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I have stayed many times at the Keswick. It is a grand old Victorian Hotel with large rooms, lovely dining room and a beautiful garden.

It is a great base for exploring the fells in the northern and central Lakes. Skiddaw is only a few miles away and Latrigg overlooks the hotel.

The food and service are excellent.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

Just returned from a long weekend anniversary break to the lovely town of Keswick in
the Lake districtwhere we stayed at the Keswick country house hotel.

Our first visit there so we were very surprised and happy with both the accommodation and the town. The room in the hotel was large, about 9m x 5m., which is spacious in any terms

A former station building converted into these en-suite rooms with access via what would have been a platform originally, giving an air of privacy away from the reception and dining areas.
The room had two king sized beds and t.v. and tea making facilities plus the usual extras
to be found in most three star hotels these days.
The food often makes a short break and this hotel is exceptioally good value for money
with the buffet breakfasts wanting for nothing be it cooked or otherwise, first class!
The dinner menu is varied and beautifully cooked and presented no matter what you choose
with a nice wine list although a little pricey in bits, but we often find this in hotels now.
The rooms are all clean and tidy but there are areas where some tlc is required with
chipped furniture and wallpaper etc, but this may be getting rectified as we believe that there is a rolling programme of refurbishment currently ongoing by the present management.

However this is being a bit picky as the overall ambience of the hotel is very wellcoming,
charming and worth going back to. Staff could not have been more helpful so we hope to return
again in the near future perhaps with the friends who recommended the place to us.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank normanandevelyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
609 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
744 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#8 of 12 in Keswick
199 reviews
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing