We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We have stayed at Keswick Country House many times and will keep coming back. Do not hesitate to book, you will not find better value for your money. Yes its old and a little faded but the rooms are clean and tidy and the saff are excellent The food served in the restaurant is first class and there is always a good choice. The hotel stands in a good position and has easy access into Keswick and the lake. We have always enjoyed our stays in the hotel and cannot rate it highly enough.

Room Tip: Station rooms are a little more expensive but worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 65PeterR65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,618)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,028 - 1,034 of 1,618 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2013

Just had another great stay at the Keswick Country House Hotel. We love it and, as the hotel was full, so do loads of other people. It can't be beaten for food, service and price. There's plenty of parking and it's so handy for strolling into Keswick after a day out walking. All the rooms we've been in are spacious. Give the Keswick Country House a try - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Stayed here for three nights in April. Absolutely superb .Yes, it's a bit dated and faded, in parts (though we had a beautiful room in old Station), but it's a huge building and upkeep must be a nightmare. Excellent location (on cycle/walk path that goes from coast to coast); easy walk into town. Food, as others have said, is excellent - looked forward to it each day. Staff very helpful, welcoming and attentive. Would recommend without reservation if you want a comfortable base from which to explore this fantastic part of the world.

Room Tip: Try to get a suite in old Station
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Having tried to book one night at a nearby hotel slightly higher up the Tripadvisor League Table, who wanted £140 per night DB&B for 2 people, but insisted on a 50% surcharge if you did not stay for two nights, even though they had 10 empty rooms that night (Easter Monday) and no prospect of filling them, I turned to the Keswick Country House Hotel, who wanted £128 for one night's DB&B in a "Superior Room".

Initial impressions were of a very grand and imposing Victorian Hotel in a prime location, just 5 mins walk from the centre of Keswick, and with ample parking space. We expected the interior to be somewhat tired and neglected, as these hotels often are, but nothing could be further from the truth. The public rooms were extremely nice and our bedroom and en-suite could not be faulted - it was indeed superior. The decorations were absolutely immaculate, the facilities were of a high quality, the heating worked well and was controllable, and the view was excellent. The only slight negative was that if you required any privacy you had to draw the curtains because room 105 looks directly out onto the front car park (with a fantastic view also of the gardens and nearby hills).

The bar area was very pleasant and comfortable, and dinner was excellent, with a nice choice of quality dishes with no hidden surcharges. Breakfast was a hot buffet of a very high quality.

Wi-fi coverage could have been better but was apparently hindered by the thick walls. In order to get a connection in the bar you had to walk to the reception area, connect, and then walk back to the bar, and if you were lucky you stayed connected.

Service from walking in to leaving was superb - the staff could not have been more pleasant or more helpful. Overall we had a very pleasant stay for a very attractive price - couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Our "superior" room at the front of the main hotel was very nice. I overheard the barman...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B6WAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If I review this hotel one more time people will think I own it! We have just had another great stay here at the end of March. The weather was fine but chilly and it was lovely to get back to our warm,cosy and spotlessly clean room (standard twin) each day, have a chat with the friendly staff and look forward to an excellent meal each evening. The Keswick Hotel has to be the best value for money anywhere in the Lakes - the average for a run of the mill B&B in Keswick is about £35 pppn and find your own parking space, and we were paying very little more that for DB&B with free parking at the Keswick Hotel. I felt I must review again to address a couple of points from other reviewers, one of whom couldn't even get the name of the hotel right - it is not the "Keswick Country Grange" Hotel Farfrom, did you review the wrong hotel? As for the hotel being in need of a makeover, that is currently ongoing which cannot be easy to carry out in such a busy place as this hotel is pretty much full occupancy all year round. This is a lovely old building steeped in history and, as with all old buildings, it has it's sloping floors and wonky window frames, but if you want all mod cons then go to a Travelodge and leave the Keswick to those of us who love it. Another reviewer remarked on the quantity of the packed lunches which I found quite astonishing as we have had them on several occasions and have yet to eat everything at one go as there is so much included! The only thing I would change about this hotel is that I prefer sheets and blankets to duvets - but then maybe if I asked these would be provided, have to try on my next visit which will be very soon.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellingbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We have been to the Keswick Hotel many times . Our last visit just the week before Easter . Although we couldn't get an upgraded room as we usually do, because we only booked at the last minute, the room we had ,a twin was very adequate, and spacious enough. The food was superb, I mean superb ,excellent . This visit was at a discounted rate and represented,superb value for money. We will keep returning.

Room Tip: We usually upgrade then you will have a spacious room with a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandraT971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

The imposing Keswick Country Grange Hotel must have been quite grand in its day, but that would have been some time ago. Now it’s in need of a complete refurbishment. The room was spacious and warm but it couldn’t be described as comfortable. The carpet hadn’t been vacuumed (a previous guest had a thing for glitter) but the bathroom was at least clean. The bed was supposed to be king size but it didn’t look it and the mattress was sprung like a trampoline. Any movement sent a shockwave to all four corners and resulted in two restless nights. We tried the bar one evening on our return from town and sat in the lounge. For ambience think ‘retirement home’ which isn’t necessarily a criticism but it was a dreary and charmless experience and there was nothing about it that would encourage you to return. This place gets a lot of good reviews so try and it see what you think but we couldn’t recommend it I’m afraid.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Farfrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
759 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
3.0 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,165 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Keswick
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £101 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing