We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marvellous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 22 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Just returned from another wonderful couple of days at the Keswick. Fabulous stay in this lovely old building with a lot of character, still a little bit tired but refurbishment is well under way and looking good. The service here is beyond belief with all the staff being friendly and efficient at all times and I can only say many thanks to Manager Steph and her staff who were all absolutely brilliant. Will definitely be returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: If you are in 107 and go to the loo in the dark, mind the step it's a lulu.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NeilWilstrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,054 - 1,060 of 1,653 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

This is the 5th time we have been to the Keswick Hotel, and we have been very satisfied every time. Situation of the hotel is great, being very close to the town, and one can walk out onto the hills in about 10 minutes. Staff are excellent, rooms are very good, even without paying the extra for an up-rated one. The food is excellent, with a wide range of choice at every meal. Cannot recommend the hotel enough, and we will be back again, if not sooner, next April.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Really enjoyed our stay. Hope we get chance to return. Very friendly yet professional welcome. It was nice to feel so welcome. All staff had a great attitude. Great food in the restaurant, good choice at breakfast. Room was well heated and clean. Honestly couldn't fault this hotel, it's an old building so it's going to have battle scars and character, but it carries them well.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NelsonBearsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Think 150 year old grand victorian hotel, revolving oak door entrance, wood panelling and heavy brocade curtains...albeit a tad jaded. Add to your imagination views of a croquet lawn and lakeland mountains through original sash windows from modernised bedrooms with en-suites, perfectly serviced. Throw in fantastic food and absoulutely first class service...not to mention excellent value for your money, this was our impression of the Keswick Country House Hotel. The clientelle were older, but so what, I like to think that this is because they are more discerning and appreciate old fashion values of quality and good service. I appreciate honesty and therefore would add that the matress could of been better, the floor sloped a bit and the bedroom carpet was a slippy nylon one, but both were clean and stain free. The station rooms are supposed to be the 'best' but we wanted the views from garden rooms and were not disappointed.
Did I mention the location? strategic! At the head of town only 5 minutes walk away passing a park and river. Derwent lake is five minutes further. We never used our car.
I have to give the food another mention to do this hotel justice...3 course dinner. I chose fried goats cheese (in crispy coating) with warm pepper salad with rocket and beetroot jus. Sirloin beef with mashed carrot/swede, braised cabbage, roast pots. homemade yorkshire and gravy. Baked pear tart (crusty base, was like a bakewell) with home made creamy custard. Buffet Cumbrian Breakfast was just as fresh with fab quality ingredients. If you are out walking for the day, take our advice and order the freshly made pack lunch, for £5.95 we couldn't believe what was in the paper bag, hand carved honeyed ham and pickle sandwich, freshly made pasta salad, home made chocolate tiffin, seabrook quality crisps fruit and bottled water. We sat on a bench in front of Lodore Falls and enjoyed every delicious morsel. Cultery, salt & pepper and knapkins included as standard. Compare this to 2 cups of tea and 2 cakes in the local cafe for £9.50. No comparison.
The thought of small B&B rooms for a minimum £70 per night didn't appeal to us, coming from the city we wanted space and views with good food. We got all three and much more. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want views go for garden rooms, clean and perfectly adequate. If you want better quality fur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank family7Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We stayed Saturday night and the hotel was almost full but found a parking space right outside .The twin room at the back of the hotel was large ,nicely decorated and very clean ,bathroom was immaculate and shower was powerful .Three years ago we stayed for b&b but after noticing it was only an extra £10 for dinner (for two of us !) we decided to try it, what a pleasant surprise ,3 courses ,a varied menu and everything we chose tasted absolutely delicious ,it was the first time my husband had tried Venison and he loved it.All this for a fiver each .As last time the breakfast was spot on ,toast ,preserves, pastries ,fruit,cereals as well as a cooked breakfast , fruit juices and tea &coffee.The staff are pleasant and hard working .The hotel has lovely grounds & 10 minutes stroll(just far enough to escape the noise of late night revellers ) past the park and river bring you to the town centre ,it really is the perfect place to stay in Keswick.I will mention the only con and that is I find the liquid soap in the bathroom leaves a strong smell on your hands so on our next visit I will take a tablet of soap.

Room Tip: You need to book a time for your dinner when you check in , I think its between 6 and 8 or 8:30 .If...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megatha9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Keswick Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Dear Megatha9

Thank you very much for your positive comments about the Keswick Country House Hotel. It's is always encouraging to hear that our hard work is appreciated.

I will ensure that your praise about the food at dinner and breakfast is passed onto our Head Chef, Chris Lyon and his team. And of course, ensure that Stephanie knows she is doing a great job.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Sally Carpenito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Have stayed several times. Hotel is comfortable, well run, friendly staff - although one or two struggle with the English language. Restaraunt is extremely good, although some may find the dishes rather fancy. Parking is plentiful. Keswick town centre is close by and there is walking from the door. Can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: The cheaper rooms at the back still have a fell view and represent good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Having just returned from The Keswick, we have already booked our next break there in June. The terms are very reasonable and we like to upgrade and have a room overlooking the croquet lawn. The staff are most pleasant and helpful. The dinner menu is varied and the food is excellent. We usually book our meal time ahead of our visit as, if arriving later in the day, our chosen time of eating may not be available. We like to walk (not too far, or too high) and The Keswick is an ideal base. Parking is easy and the car can be left in the carpark on checking-out day. If you have a problem when you are there, do ask to speak to the manager, Stephanie Rodgers. Guest satisfaction is her priority.

Room Tip: Last time we were in 105 we found the access fairly difficult. The door could not be fully opened w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Keswick hotels
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
797 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#8 of 22 in Keswick
709 reviews
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#4 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#14 of 22 in Keswick
811 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#6 of 22 in Keswick
579 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Leathes Head Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £98 - £186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing