We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aircon Badly Needed!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Recently spent two days and nights at this wonderfully located Hotel, opted for a King Delux Room and accommodated in Room 105, a lovely good sized room which has part views of the car park and part of the gardens. Arrived on a very hot sunny day (Yes the Lakes do get sun also!) the problem with this however was that the room faced directly into the sun and when we entered it, we thought we had gone into a sauna, the room was roasting hot and the only way you could cool it down was to close ALL the curtains as their is NO Air-conditioning installed, had to request an electric fan. Unfortunately when the fan was brought up, it was only a small office desk one and didn't really do the job.
This aside the evening meal in the restaurant was top quality and is highly recommended to anyone who stays or visits, the service is excellent and staff can not do enough to help. Breakfast is also very good and you can request additional food items, if required at a small cost. The Hotel has wonderful gardens and is only a 10 minute walk from Keswick town centre. I personally would have given this Hotel a higher rating had it not been for the temperature and discomfort of the room!

Room Tip: Avoid room 105 if it is a sunny hot day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobPalm99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,624)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,010 - 1,016 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is part of the 'Choice Hotels' chain - really excellent! The Patterdale Hotel is also part of the same chain and is very good but the Country House Hotel was unbeatable and excellent value for money. The staff were lovely both at Reception and the waiting staff, the food was FIVE STARS! I wanted to take the Chef home with me. Quite a creaky old hotel with lovely gardens. The only slight downside was the tap water was very chlorinated.

Room Tip: Varying types of rooms at varying prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WanderersNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel. We had a very large king size bedroom over looking the garden it was very clean and nicely decorated. The food was excellent. We will be back again later in the year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

I organize walking holidays for our club and we have stayed in places from Weardale to the Isle of Wight and Llandudno. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed in. There were 36 of us and everybody had a spacious room whether single, twin or double with lovely crisp bedding. The bathrooms are a good size with both bath and shower, complimentary toiletries and clean towels each day.
The meals were exceptional. Breakfast was a full hot and cold buffet and dinner was good haut cuisine with a choice of 8 starters, 7 main courses and 5 desserts. Even though we were a large party we were served quickly by pleasant courteous staff.
It is placed in lovely grounds with a terrace to sit in the afternoon sun and a putting/croquet lawn.
The bar, although small, leads on to a spacious lounge which was ideal for us to relax after dinner. It is close enough to stroll into Keswick town-center and ideally placed for many lovely walks.
We enjoyed it so much we are booking again for next year.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunlover50Wakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This hotel is a glorified Premier Inn, but in many ways not even that 'good.'
BOOKING
When we telephoned to book, we were transferred from the hotel reception to 'central booking' who appeared to be detached from the process of booking rooms. Not a pleasant experience, and we only continued because we had made a last minute decicion to organise a break. In retrospect we should have given up then.
RECEPTION
We arrived at the hotel in the rain. Luckily there was a parking space close to the entrance. A curved staircase provides the apparently only access, and immediately at the top there is the smallest revolving door. This would be OK if one didn't have a suitcase, but just a minute this is an hotel, and guests carry suitcases! The space for people is extremely small, but people with suitcases means that one has to hobble through the door, tripping over both ones feet and suitcase. Should there be someone going out at the same time, is an experience when one has to proceed at teh speed of the slowest.
The entrance hall is narrow, so to create another obstruction, the Hotel management have sited a settee in the entrance lobby, so that if one person sits down, they block the entrance. If people also stand and talk to the people sitting on the settee, then the entrance is almost totally blocked.
Then one arrives at the reception desk and one tries to have a conversation with the receptionist, who wants to talk, asks questions, but does not want to listen to the answers. This was a common failure of most of the staff we met. [ See under Dinner.] On leaving my wife was asked '...if she had enjoyed her stay...?' Upon asking that question the receptionist walked away. My wife stopped answering when the receptionist did this, and only statrted talking again when the receptionist turned to look at her again. There was no apology, and little recognition of the problem.
ACCOMMODATION
I was suffering from a bad back, and when I was asked if I needed help with my cases I asked where the room was. It was on the second floor, but you can use the lift, I was told. What I wasn't told was that there was a flight of 9 stepd up to the room!
The room was pleasant and acceptable.
RESTAURANT
The hotel web-site, and the literature in the hotel, told me that '....suitable dress attire....' should be worn in the dining room. I was unsure what this meant so wandered down to look at what the other dininers were wearing. I noticed that 'smart casual' appeared to be acceptable.
When I eventaully entered the dining room, I discovered that '....suitable dress attire....' means, tee shirts, donkey jackets, jeans, even camouflage shorts, were all acceptable. It was a low class Premier Inn!
Why say that dress standards are required and not then enforce the statement?
What are the reasons for pretending to be a 'cut-above' hotel, and not maintaining standards?
DINNER
The meals were ordered and delivered, with a little bit of care, but not with a smile, and very little 'Service'! Questions were asked when plates were removed, such as; was that OK? is everything OK? and other such platitudes, but there was no interest in the answers. Indeed, the staff were often retreating from the table before one had time to say anything.
The food was acceptable, with the best being Scallops in an incredible sauce, but that was the exception, the remainder was simply ordinary.
BREAKFAST
We stayed two nights, and the breakfast was help yourself from the 'Premier Inn' style buffet, with the only thing being delivered being coffee. However, on both occasions the breakfast did not even achieve the 'Premier Inn' standard. The full breakfast was luke warm at best, the scrambled egg was full of liquid, but it was a dining 'experience' that I do not wish to repeat.
OVERALL
We will NOT be returning, unless we fall on extremely hard times. There is no reason for us to praise what was one of the poorest hotels we have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: This is an old hotel, but the room was quite acceptable, apart from the bathroom, which had seen bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BowlsCaptain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChoiceHotelsltd, Guest Relations Manager at The Keswick Country House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear BowlsCaptain

So sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your recent stay with us. I have read your review with interest and find it difficult to accept most of the content.

The Keswick Country House Hotel is steeped in history and as such the fabric of the building dates back to the middle of the 19th century. Choice Hotels are honoured to own and be able to be involved in the preservation of such features as the sweeping staircases and original entrance with revolving door, graced in the past by dignitaries including Lord Churchill and Queen Elizabeth II.

The company is also very proud of our current Trip Advisor rating of 4.5. The daily complementary reviews and the level of repeat business is proof to us that we are meeting the expectations of many, many people.

We are sorry that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Sally Carpenito

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed at the Keswick Country Hotel in April, it was helped by good weather but I have to commend the hotel on their excellent service and value for money.
I chose to book a superior room which was worth the extra as the room was very pleasant being well appointed with 2 large windows, also it was clean and nicely decorated.
It was a dinner bed an breakfast package and we were certainly not disapointed with any of the meals both proving to be excellent quality with excellent choices.
For anyone looking to stay in the North Lakes I can certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

This was our 2nd visit to The Keswick country House Hotel, the last one was about a year previous. Last time we had Garden rooms but booked standard rooms this time, we were a party of 7, 3 couples and a single (lakeland walking is our hobby) our (me & Mrs D. ) room was 120, its a family room and so spacious we could have a choice of single or double beds, the bath/shower room had plenty of space to stow/store all your toiletries,the towels were lovely and crisp & fresh. We did not see our chambermaid she/he was like a phantom,never obvious but you knew they had been,the room always looked great whenever we came back to it after a day in the hills. The food here is great , breakfast is buffet style with loads of choice, you could not go hungry if you tried, Dinners were superb, always a good choice, beautifully arranged and presented and served by staff who had time to care,they were always friendly, helpful and made every mealtime an absolute pleasure. The bar and lounge area was big enough to let you talk without bothering others but intimate enough to join in with your fellow guests if you wanted to. There is a constant renovating program here and the managers and staff at the Keswick always seem to be working hard to please. On behalf of my friends and ourselves, thanks to them all. I am sure we will return.

Room Tip: we have had garden and standard rooms, the views are better in the garden rooms. but our standard th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael_dornan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
770 reviews
3 mi away
Lodore Falls Hotel
Lodore Falls Hotel
#5 of 5 in Borrowdale
2,183 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#7 of 17 in Keswick
678 reviews
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#12 of 17 in Keswick
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Keswick
Price Range: £93 - £170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelsClick so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing