We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well looked after-again!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Well looked after-again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

A very friendly,helpful & efficient staff plus great food & comfortable surroundings makes this hotel the one to visit.you can not do better in Keswick Trip advisor are stupid for making folk do a review of at least 200 characters.Full marks to the hotel-no marks to a poor trip advisor!!

Room Tip: all rooms ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rev Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    463
    106
    39
    12
See reviews for
202
935
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

This was the latest of our many stays at the Keswick and we were not disappointed. The food, service,cleanliness and location of this purpose built hotel is absolutely brilliant. We never tire of coming here.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horden, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Just a short visit, but standards remain high, good food, friendly staff. Good location short walk to town centre, parking spaces limited, as the weather was good the gardens was a very useful facility well used by all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oldprop911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

I thought twice about reviewing this hotel again until I read a review comparing it unfavourably to a Premier Inn! I have stayed at this hotel many times, and hope to stay many more, and I (and most other reviewers) could not agree less with BowlsCaptain's review. When we booked for our most recent stay we thought it couldn't get any better, but it did! We always book through central reservations and the staff could not be more helpful - we often request a particular room and they always try their best to ensure we get it. The reception staff are consistently pleasant and welcoming and we are always asked if we want help with our luggage. If BowlsCaptain struggled to get past the sofa in the (spacious) hallway then he must have had a hell of a lot of luggage! The upgraded rooms are very nice, but please do not install air conditioning, it would be a sacrilege in a lovely old building - if we are hot we open the window and close the curtains - just the same as we do at home! The food, both dinner and breakfast, cannot be faulted and surpasses many other venues in Keswick and the rest of the Lakes, and nor can the restaurant staff be faulted, they are cheerful and efficient which isn't always easy when the restaurant is busy - full marks to them.

The management team are very 'hands on' and welcoming and our recent stay was perfect thanks to their generosity. We have stayed at luxury hotels both in this country and abroad but on a value for money basis this if by far the best and will always be our first choice in the Lakes.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travellingbynight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Why do people (ti_boo34) wait a year to write a review on a stay in a hotel and expect it to be relevant today! We stayed in this lovely hotel 'last weekend' and can honestly say the hotel was a delight to stay in. It was our first stay here and were delighted to have paid an extra £20 per night for a refurbished deluxe room which was situated on the 1st floor and had a corner of the hotel where the huge bay window floor to ceiling looked out over the delightful gardens and hills in the background. There was also a side window which looked over the front car park area which was handy. The food was 4* quality and we were impressed by the service and presentation of our meals. I love old nostalgic hotels and was not disappointed, a 5 minute stroll and you hit the town centre, lovely market stalls on a Saturday. So don't be disappointed if you are expecting a free room upgrade, just pay a little extra and get what you pay for.

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room when booking and if you want a garden view pay a little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hokiejoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We booked a last minute break at the Keswick .
This turned out to be one of the best weekends away we have had.
The food and accomadation was five star and the staff great.
We have stopped at all of the choice hotels, but this has to be
the best.

Room Tip: At the hotel they have converted the old railway station into part of the Keswicks bedrooms. We pai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We have stayed at the Keswick on numerous occasions and this was the best trip yet. The hotel was probably a bit tired in the past (decor_wise), although the food and service was always good. Our standard room on the second floor had been redecorated and the hallways also nicely refurbished.
The food was excellent with a varied choice on the menu. Waiting staff very efficient but possibly rushing in a bit too quickly to clear the table. Reception staff very helpful.

Room Tip: We find the standard rooms perfectly adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suebKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing