We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb repeat Visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
1 review
“Superb repeat Visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We have been many times and are never disappointed. Food was absolutely superb, rooms comfortable and clean, staff extremely helpful, polite and friendly.Location is within walking distance of Keswick centre and ideally situated for walks from the hotel so no need to pay excessive National Park car park charges. We took advantage of one of their mid week breaks so value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank geoffbrown1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    895
    463
    106
    39
    12
See reviews for
202
935
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (526)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our third visit, its a lovely friendly place with a bit of old world charm. The food is superb, could not fault anything. We like to go walking and the beauty of this place is, you do not need to use the car while you are there. Just a few minutes walk to town and the lovely pubs. Can't wait for next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DEZ190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saltaire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

A short break in the Lake District led us to the Keswick Country House Hotel. Superb station room was spacious and comfortable in the old station annex. We'll worth asking about these rooms as although they don't have the views, they are beautifully decorated and renovated. The real treat was the restaurant - the quality of the food was stunning and far exceeded our expectations. You would struggle to find food of this quality in some more luxurious hotels. Definitely will be returning to this hotel. Walking distance to Keswick and great walking around lakes. Staff are very friendly and attentive.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SaltaireSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport Merseyside
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

The Keswick Country Hotel is very welcoming, the staff are all very friendly and hard working.
The food is excellent, my only concern is as an vegetarian with an allergy to cream and cheese, is that there is nothing on the menu for me to eat. Both vegetarian options always have cream or cheese in them. Also the wonderful soups the chiefs produce nearly always have cream in them too.It would be great if one of the veggie options could be tomato based and if the cream for the soups, if required, was added when serving. Despite this, I would highly recommend this hotel for all of the above reasons, plus great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mariegold67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We have recently returned, having spent 4 days at the Keswick.
Improvements continue and the food, service and staff stay at their high standard.
Everyone you speak to at the Hotel seems to be a returning guest, so that speaks for itself.
Special mention for Gail, Peter, Maya and Vanessa, who exceed in their positions.
Will be returning in 2014

Room Tip: Room overlooking the front or the garden are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnandpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poulton le fylde
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

Just back from a week end at The Keswick - Our third visit - the Hotel - the room - the restaurant - the staff absolutely fantastic . Great location for walking - nothing better than after a day in the great outdoors than coming back to a little luxury and fine dining - what a menu - what a restaurant .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jonnyPoultonLeFylde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterlee, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

As always our visit started with a warm friendly greeting, followed by a fresh warm comfortable room with views over the autumn garden to the inspirational hills beyond. Every member of staff goes out of the way to accomplish every task with a smile. Great valve for money with incredible food.

Room Tip: We always love a room over the gardens for the views of the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whatamess180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing