We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Break at Keswick”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Class Break at Keswick”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

My wife and have just spent 4 days at this great hotel in Keswick. In fact we have stayed there approx 40 times during the last 18 years. If you are looking for a very nice hotel with a calm atmosphere, then this is the place. It is very clean, warm and comfortable and all of the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The food is first class with an excellent choice each evening. My wife has a food allergy and the staff went out of their way to assist. Thank you to all of the staff for making our stay thoroughly enjoyable once again. We shall be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 726Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    925
    474
    108
    39
    10
See reviews for
207
962
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (542)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Once again, my wife and I enjoyed another mini break at this lovely hotel, we have never disappointed with the way we have been treated. All the staff, from top to bottom are always very
helpful and obliging. The rooms are always clean, atmosphere very friendly and the food is always superb! We always look forward to returning, its is like home from home, with out having to do do the cooking, cleaning and washing up. Full marks to all the staff.

Room Tip: We have always been happy with the rooms we stayed in
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north yorkshire england
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Just returned from a lovely weekend at the Keswick Hotel. We booked dinner bed and breakfast and asked for a superior room. The room allocated was overlooking the front of the building and had lovely views of the mountains. The room was very clean tidy and spacious.
We thought we may only use the restaurant for 2 out of our 3 night stay but the food was brilliant so had no need to go out to find anything different or better. The bar prices are a little expensive but show me a hotel that is any different.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitbyuk57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROTHERHAM
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

This is a well positioned hotel close to all local attractions, we had a speedy check in and our room was a small double but very clean.
At breakfast there was plenty of choice of cereals, fruit, or pastries followed by a hot buffet. I tried to order smoked haddock and poached eggs at a supplement but after consulting the kitchen the waiter returned saying it wasn't available?
We didn't choose the restaurant dining in the evening and opted for one of the local pubs serving lovely food.
All in all a nice hotel and the only bad points I could find was the bath in the room was only 3/4 size, the toilet took several flushes to work properly and the instructions on how to use the shower were wrong, but to end on s positive the cleaning standards were very high.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank phonicsfella17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford west midlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Once again we have been to the Keswick Country House Hotel for a few days. The hotel has been decorated up for Christmas and looked lovely. Again I have to report that we have had a most enjoyable stay. The staff down from the Manager can't help you enough. The breakfasts are very good being a buffet where you just help yourself and the evening meal with several choices on the menu along with the Chefs recommended meal both on starter and main course are absolutley delicious. When we booked up a few weeks before we were able to reserve room 102. You pay a little extra for this room but if you can afford it, it is a lovely room overlooking the gardens. If you have an occasion to celebrate then give this hotel a try. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but if you want to spoil the wife then pay a little extra and have a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Reading the recent reviews we had probably travelled the furthest,but well worth the drive. Having previously stopped at another of Choice Hotel Groups - The Claremont in Blackpool earlier this year, thankfully we are on the data base so the offer for three nights came and are we glad we took it YES. All of my fellow contributors have got it right , good hotel position, excellent dinner choices ,breakfast buffet style well prepared and plenty of options which made the stay unbelievable value for money.
Honest critique reception must offer and advise guests porter service to some rooms is very much the sensible option, we were in 222 and after leaving lift had two sets of stairs to negotiate before accessing room very difficult when you are of an age and with luggage, but don't let that stop you visiting porter was there promptly for us on leaving.

Room Tip: If you are not to fit just check room location with reception regard to stairs and accessibility aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PortsmouthSupporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

After reading the reviews we decided to take a short break November 20 for two nights. I was absolutely bowled over. The food especially the evening meals were fabulous. The room was quiet and very large. It was lovely to take coffee in the room sitting comfortably in chairs and at a table. The staff were always smiling and would do anything to oblige, always helpful. They were in the middle of putting up their Christmas decorations when we were there and up to us leaving there were 16 very pretty trees that we counted so far. I would also Highly recommend this hotel. We had a stay to remember for all the good things!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the old station, not much of a view from our room but the size made up for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adasview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
593 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
689 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
737 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing