We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just go - it's just about perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Keswick Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just go - it's just about perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

We stayed for 2 nights on an internet deal. The concern was whether the hotel would be decent, and if it was, would the food be any good. Having read loads of positive reviews of the hotel, we were feeling a little happier. On arrival, there wasn't a car parking space within 100 yards,so we parked up on the nearby 2 hour disc parking, and went for a coffee in town. On our return, about 2.30pm, parking was no better. Hotel reception asked us to be patient as there was a large Christmas lunch until 3pm and parking would be available after then. We checked in, and true to the receptionist's advice, about 3.30pm, spaces were free. We were in room 108, a double aspect room which looks out to the front of the building. We were concerned to find our room was directly above the bar. We needn't have been - there wasn't a sound from the bar at any time during our stay. Excellent. The room was super - spacious, warm, quiet and pretty well spotless. The bed wasn't really to our taste - quite soft, but that can't really be marked against it. The restaurant, used for breakfast and dinner, as well as lunches etc. is fabulous. It's very intimate - as far as a large room can be - and all the staff are very efficient and attentive. Dinner on both nights was truly excellent, with good choices, including vegetarian, and without heavy, cloying sauces masking the food. We had a bottle of wine included on our first night, and the choices were good, averaging £15 on the wine list. Breakfast was pretty standard - a buffet affair - but fresh, hot where necessary, and accompanied by good tea and coffee. There was certainly no need for lunch! The hotel's location is perfect. It's far enough away from the town to be clear of the hubbub, but easily accessible too. It's very quiet at night, which is good, as there's just single glazing in the rooms in keeping with the character of a 150 year old railway hotel. The railway walk from the rear of the hotel to Threlkeld (8 miles return), is recommended. It's very interesting, criss crossing the, sometimes rough River Greta, and there's loads of wildlife to be seen, including red squirrels at the Threlkeld end. The hotel was everything we could have wanted, and we left feeling very happy with our break, and determined to visit again. It's a perfect venue for couples or small groups, which the staff cater for very well, but perhaps/less so for families with younger children.

Room Tip: Room 108 is excellent for keeping an eye on your car in the car park, and although it's directly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 294alanb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    896
    463
    106
    39
    12
See reviews for
203
935
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Just returned with a group of friends from an evening stay with party night and evening meal.
Reception - warm welcome quick and efficient check in! We arrived just after three oclock after a horrific journey in torrential conditions - trees in roads, blowing a gail, rain blowing sideways so decided to just chill in the hotel lounge have a coffee and order a few sandwiches .- Unfortunately we were told that the hotel was UNABLE to make a quick sandwich due to the staff cooking the evening meal which wasn't being served until 7.30pm! We were forced to go into Keswick and face the storm again - i don't mind telling you i felt that this was totally unacceptable for a hotel boasting guests such as The Queen and Winston Churchill!
Room: just average but clean enough - bathroom door didn't close - linen clean - lots of hot water.
Food - evening meal - food piping hot and of good quality and breakfast very good , staff and service excellent.. Very well done!
Party - fantastic D.J. (think it was Jodie) managed to include everyone and made an excellent night for all concerned.
We would most certainly return.! Thank you.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amanda l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cumbria
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We have been going to the party for years but this was the best. They have really upped their game and refurbished many of the rooms. Already booked for next year. Well worth the trip to this super part of the country

Room Tip: No full length mirrors. Get the room in the turret
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank washbis0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

Cannot fault the hotel or anything to do with it, perhaps the only thing that was not 100% pleasing was the "foreground music" it certainly was not background music most of the time, I know you cannot please everyone with any choice of music but it was at times so loud you could not ignore it, that`s the only thing that I could possibly complain about. Hopefully I`ll be back in the spring

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ELLDEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Formby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I stayed for two nights 4th and 5th Dec for a works Xmas function. The location, service, standard of cleanliness and food was exceptional. We regularly visit Keswick and have never stated before. We will definitely return. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gittinsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here with a group of friends for a couple of nights and attended one of the Hotels Xmas party nights. Hotel is well situated for walking into Keswick town centre , which is a real little gem with lots of interesting shops and plenty of nice places to eat and drink .
Rooms at the hotel seem to be quite varied , some of our party had large rooms ,others rather small but the hotel was very accommodating in arranging room moves if requested .
The Xmas party was well organised , service was good and food , considering how many were attending , was also very good . Staff all very pleasant with lots of smiling faces .
Overall a very enjoyable stay

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smithy121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
273 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

We stayed at this like district hotel for a party night yesterday. We were allocated the Rapheal room in the station annex. The room itself was large, probably too large for the furniture in it that looked, I'm my opinion, isolated. The main problem was the lack of any heating in the room, for the middle of December it was poor. We duly alerted the staff to be told the heating would come on at 4pm. We gave it until 5 pm still no heat. A member of staff arrived on request to suggest the radiators needed bleeding and the freezing bathroom did not have heating in any event. This was unacceptable.

In fairness to the staff when we asked to be moved to a warm room we were allocated room 303 in the main hotel building which was superb.

The party night was excellent, the food very nice including the hearty breakfast this morning.

All in all the hotel was very good, and we were informed that none of the rooms in the station annex has heat due to a malfunction in their system which was later rectified.

Would I stay there again, yes.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#4 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
3.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Mary Mount Hotel
Mary Mount Hotel
#3 of 12 in Keswick
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Skiddaw Hotel
The Skiddaw Hotel
#7 of 12 in Keswick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Daffodil Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing