We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Keswick Country House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spot On”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We have just returned from a weekend at the hotel on dinner and breakfast. It was our first stay. On arrival free upgrade to a Junior Suite - room 200...massive room with a small lounge with panoramic views of the fells. Restaurant was excellent, dinner was superb, we had to ask the staff to slow down as they were so quick with their service. I thought it was very good value, lovely staff and great location for fell walking. Loved it will return.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,583 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    938
    485
    111
    39
    10
See reviews for
211
980
9
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was our third weekend in this hotel and again another fab weekend. We stayed in a station room which with a 8 year old gives us a bit more room to play with. The staff were great especially Pete who helped us sort out an eArlier dinner slot and the chef who sorted out an alternative dinner for our fussy daughter it was really appreciated.
The room was clean and warm and the food was fab as always.
The location means you can park the car and leave it for the weekend as town centre is a 5 minute wal away

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearly_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We stayed for the three night Christmas break, the hotel staff were excellent helpful and smiling. The food was very good as well, and they have made the hotel look very attractive with many Christmas trees. We booked fairly late and were worried that a standard room might not be good, but it was quite adequate and everything in it worked. We felt rather foolish to telephone reception and say we couldn't remove the plug from the wash basin, but help was on hand in only a few minutes, yes, it was stiff but soon removed for us.
I think we were disappointed in the entertainment, they had a duo who played music, but it was advertised that there would be dancing, but nobody danced and the only possible place was rather cool, dark and
uninviting. On a previous stay we booked in time for a superior room and that would have been better, we did enjoy the Christmas break though and would commend the staff for their helpfullness. We needed help with the cases and that was provided with a smile.

Room Tip: Superior room over looking the putting green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BurtonSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Thank you again Stephanie, Gail, Rob, Maya and all the staff at the Keswick. We had a fantastic stay, food, comfort, quiz and good company too! We love coming. All the effort which went into updating and decorating everywhere was appreciated. Yes we would love an open fire but won't stop us coming back.....

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

An absolutely amazing 3 day break.The food was fabulous,Stephanie and all her staff worked tirelessly to make the occasion most memorable.they all made us most welcome from start to finish.The evening entertainment on the 3 nights was first class.
Thank you for a memorable experience.We shall certainly be back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leigh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

First visit to this Hotel which was over the Christmas break. The accommodation, service and food were excellent and better than expected. Some parts of the interior look a bit tired but it is an old buiding and the important factor was that it was comfortable.
The position of the Hotel is ideal for walking into Keswick and surrounding facilities.
Will certainly be returning

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwynhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel has everything we look for in a hotel. Lovely rooms wth comfortable beds, a super lounge to enjoy a coffe and relax in after a day out ( never ubderestimate a comfortable lounge ), and good food. Another big plus is that this hotel is just a short walk from the lovely town of Keswick so just leave the car at the Hotel and get down to the shops or sit by the Lake and chill !,

Room Tip: We have been to this hotel a number of times in different rooms and floors and have been happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agnes H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Keswick
1.1 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
719 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn on the Square
Inn on the Square
#5 of 12 in Keswick
626 reviews
17.9 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.3 mi away
North Lakes Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
Lyzzick Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Under Skiddaw
623 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lairbeck Hotel
Lairbeck Hotel
#9 of 12 in Keswick
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Keswick Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Keswick Country House Hotel

Property: The Keswick Country House Hotel
Address: Station Road, Keswick CA12 4NQ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Keswick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Keswick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Keswick Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits at this beautiful Lake District country house hotel. This elegant Victorian building stands proudly in four acres of tended gardens and walkways and enjoys views of the surrounding Lake District fells. Close by is the bustling market town of Keswick, with its eclectic mix of shops, pubs and restaurants. For the adventurous, Lake Derwentwater offers a variety of water sports with numerous walks and mountain bike trails beginning at its shores. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Keswick Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Keswick Country Hotel
Keswick Country House Hotel
The Keswick Country House Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing